We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$187
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mammoth Lakes)
$120
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$154
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$184
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$119
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Creek Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
$244
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge and Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$179
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
509
221
100
42
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
221
100
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfireplace suitepool tablemini golfheated toilet seatfront deskheated floorshuge fireplacesoaking tubsauna and steam roombathroom floorreception areadefinitely stay here againstayed longerhot chocolatefree shuttleski seasonking bed
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 911 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I loved this place!! My wife and daughters were luke-warm about it but I found it to be classically retro and hospitable. The front desk personnel were warm and bubbly: Kat in the evening and Jenny in the morning. I spent much of the early morning in the wonderfully rustic lobby and was amazed at the breadth and diversity of the guests from France and Israel. The outdoor pool and spa were perfect for a late afternoon of wine and cheese while the kids frolicked. The lobby was the centerpiece: large firepit, gorgeous furniture, beautiful pool table, a bar dedicated to John Wayne and a small piano that was previously owned by both Clark Gable and Hoagy Carmichael.

However, the rooms are small unless you get one of the suites (we peeked in on one while it was being cleaned). But these rooms were made for skiers whose purpose is found on the slopes and apres-ski in the lobby. One very strange anomaly was that the curtain was so long that it covered and trapped the air-conditioning which made for an uncomfortable night of sleeping. So if you come to Mammoth to hang out in your room, this is not the place. But if you want charm, warmth and class, you found the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As many tourists we slept here for only one night during our tour of Yosemite National Park and the Death Valley, but I think that the hotel was really great. The hotel is very confortable and it's a pity we had to leave the day after. Both the lobby and the rooms present the typical mountain decor, with some old advertisements (to underline that Mammoth was very popular from the Thirties onwards). Rooms were incredibly spacious, with a wonderful bathroom, free wifi access and a breakfast defintely excellent (ultra fresh fruit smoothie for me and yummi bagels for my husband). I regret we arrived there late so we couldn't try one of their restaurants, which seem interesting. I took the opportunity of a good offer, so I think the price was challenging. Also the members of the staff deserve our thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TongBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This resort is one the most beautiful resorts I have had the privilege to be a guest at. It has a rustic feel with the charm and elegance of high end resort. My room is perfect thanks to Wes at the front desk. Wes was able to take care of everything I needed and did it with a smile. You can tell the staff here really care about this resort and it's guest. Just goes to show that you don't have to spend a fortune to get the best. I highly recommend The Sierra Nevada Resort for your next stay in Mammoth Lakes.

Room Tip: When you book your stay, Get the deluxe king suite. It is perfect for 2 with a mini kitchen, fireplace, shower ( bathtub separate) and dining room table and chairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Must commend the photographer who did a good job of making this hotel look charming on the internet. However, reality fell short of expectations. We found our 2 bed room to be cramped, dark, drab looking, somewhat musty smelling, and inefficiently arranged. The closet, frig and microwave were all located in the bathroom making their accessibility difficult when another person was in the bathroom. Closet's utility was limited due to a safe sitting on a shelf directly beneath the bar to hang clothes. Counterspace was also poor due to a large sinkbowl in the center and a coffee maker to the side. One constant annoyance was the lack of a soapdish so soap had to be placed on the countertop which proved messy. As did the lack of tray space to put toiletries and toothbrushes. Oddly, hot water from the sink faucet came in a trickle while cold water came out in a torrent. To be totally fair, however, the walk-in shower with glass door was very nice (as was displayed on the pictures); it was spacious and you could get the water temperature to your liking quickly and fairly precisely.
There was really no sitting chair in our particular room configuration, so TV had to be watched from bed. I could not find pay for view movie channels. Nor did the room have any reading material. After a day of hiking (or skiing), there wasn't much reason to stay in the room to relax and unwind. Nor were there patios or balconies attached to most rooms to sit out and enjoy. There was an outside public area with some chairs. Unfortunately that area had soccer nets and a semi-child playground, so sitting out and drinking a glass of wine wasn't real easy.
Finally, there was nothing to do in the lobby with the exception of one pool table. The bar area was closed, there were no TV's to watch, and seating space was limited.
On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Ice machines in the hallways weren't functional, and at least the staff was always willing to help you get ice from the machine behind the bar. Still, it was inconvenient to have to go to the lobby for ice everytime. They also have a hotel shuttle, which would be very convenient during ski season. And yes, the beds were comfortable, although we couldn't get into our room at 4:30 one afternoon because they were still making up the beds that late.
Location-wise, the hotel was within easy walking distance to a fair number of restaurants, but you really had to drive to get to the newer village area which had the more interesting shops and nicer restaurants.
My real disappointment was that the hotel looked from the internet advertising to be a charming place that you could spend some time in, but it fell short of that. It had little more amenities to offer than a standard budget motel but yet the price was certainly not budget. So I will definitely look for another place to stay on a return trip to Mammoth.








hair harder. TV itself was OK, but there was a limit to channels, and it was difficult to



in greater use during ski season but the bar was closed, there were no TV

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMillerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family & I had a great stay. All the front desk staff I encountered were very accommodating, specifically Jenny, Wes and the director of rooms, Michael Edelshtain. Upon checking in, we were provided w/ a large map of Mammoth and suggestions of local activities. We were able to rent bikes directly from the hotel for the entire family which was so convenient and very reasonably priced. The double queen room was a bit small but clean and comfortable and very quiet. There is also a fun little mini golf course right next door which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews