We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great deal to offer but a bed and shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not a great deal to offer but a bed and shower”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Must commend the photographer who did a good job of making this hotel look charming on the internet. However, reality fell short of expectations. We found our 2 bed room to be cramped, dark, drab looking, somewhat musty smelling, and inefficiently arranged. The closet, frig and microwave were all located in the bathroom making their accessibility difficult when another person was in the bathroom. Closet's utility was limited due to a safe sitting on a shelf directly beneath the bar to hang clothes. Counterspace was also poor due to a large sinkbowl in the center and a coffee maker to the side. One constant annoyance was the lack of a soapdish so soap had to be placed on the countertop which proved messy. As did the lack of tray space to put toiletries and toothbrushes. Oddly, hot water from the sink faucet came in a trickle while cold water came out in a torrent. To be totally fair, however, the walk-in shower with glass door was very nice (as was displayed on the pictures); it was spacious and you could get the water temperature to your liking quickly and fairly precisely.
There was really no sitting chair in our particular room configuration, so TV had to be watched from bed. I could not find pay for view movie channels. Nor did the room have any reading material. After a day of hiking (or skiing), there wasn't much reason to stay in the room to relax and unwind. Nor were there patios or balconies attached to most rooms to sit out and enjoy. There was an outside public area with some chairs. Unfortunately that area had soccer nets and a semi-child playground, so sitting out and drinking a glass of wine wasn't real easy.
Finally, there was nothing to do in the lobby with the exception of one pool table. The bar area was closed, there were no TV's to watch, and seating space was limited.
On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Ice machines in the hallways weren't functional, and at least the staff was always willing to help you get ice from the machine behind the bar. Still, it was inconvenient to have to go to the lobby for ice everytime. They also have a hotel shuttle, which would be very convenient during ski season. And yes, the beds were comfortable, although we couldn't get into our room at 4:30 one afternoon because they were still making up the beds that late.
Location-wise, the hotel was within easy walking distance to a fair number of restaurants, but you really had to drive to get to the newer village area which had the more interesting shops and nicer restaurants.
My real disappointment was that the hotel looked from the internet advertising to be a charming place that you could spend some time in, but it fell short of that. It had little more amenities to offer than a standard budget motel but yet the price was certainly not budget. So I will definitely look for another place to stay on a return trip to Mammoth.








hair harder. TV itself was OK, but there was a limit to channels, and it was difficult to



in greater use during ski season but the bar was closed, there were no TV

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMillerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    210
    94
    35
    36
See reviews for
254
314
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family & I had a great stay. All the front desk staff I encountered were very accommodating, specifically Jenny, Wes and the director of rooms, Michael Edelshtain. Upon checking in, we were provided w/ a large map of Mammoth and suggestions of local activities. We were able to rent bikes directly from the hotel for the entire family which was so convenient and very reasonably priced. The double queen room was a bit small but clean and comfortable and very quiet. There is also a fun little mini golf course right next door which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wow! I was highly impressed with this little lodge in Mammoth Lakes! We had the pleasure of visiting Mammoth Lakes during June 2013 for a wedding. I know Mammoth is a popular Winter destination, but I highly recommend visiting this stunning mountain town during the Summer! It's so BEAUTIFUL! The first weekend of Summer was a popular weekend in Mammoth (lots of weddings, and the Mammoth Marathon wasgoing on) so we were only able to stay 1 night at the Sierra Nevada Resort since they were booked up through the rest of the weekend. Room 204 was decorated in a woodsy-cabin motif, and the bathroom was superb! The resort offers plenty of free parking for guests, and the great thing about this place is the location! It's right smack-dab in the middle of town so you can walk everywhere! We'll definitely be staying here the next time we come to Mammoth! Also, if you're here during the Summer I highly recommend doing the hike up to Crystal Lake....get some sandwiches to-go from Stellar Brew (they package them up beautifully!) and have a picnic lunch once you reach Crystal Lake. After your hike stop by the Mammoth Brewing Company and get a flight of six 4 oz. beer tastings for $6! Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wow, what a great place to stay right in the center of Mammoth Lakes, walking distance from great restaurants and sporting. This hotel was recommended to us by one of the locals, and now I know why, it is definitely known as one of the best places in town. There is plenty of parking with easy access to rooms through multiple access points which make this a perfect place for those with kids, pets and/or tons of gear but it is also very romantic for couples vacationing. The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp and clean linens. Overall the room just felt so clean and welcoming, which is very important to our family. This is our new getaway and we cant wait to come back this winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I couldn't find a good hotel with decent price in Yosemite so I book one here, and I was very satisfied. The hotel lobby looks super nice with complimentary internet, lemon water(my favorite), pool table and such. The only downside is it's very hard to find a parking, one time I ended up parking nearby a bar, and I don't feel safe parking over there....but my car is ok overall. Room is very clean, I don't have issue with refrige and safe being inside the bathroom, I LOVE the shower, it comes with nice Moen shower head and nice stone decoration, feels like a 5 star shower to me, love it. Most importantly, it's pretty quiet, a little smelly in the hallway, but I'm ok with that. Will probably stay there again if they have good price. Also, they don't offer complimentary breakfast, but as a result, they don't care how many people stay in the room and won't charge extra, I like that.

Room Tip: There's a nice breakfast place called Toomey's, and a nice coffee shop called "Black Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our third trip to Mammoth Lakes. On previous trips we have stayed a few nights at the (then) Sierra Nevada Lodge and really liked it. This time we stayed only one night and we were disappointed. When we booked this time, the website and the name has changed. The prices were slightly higher than we had paid before, but the site at the time we booked explained that there had been a full reburbishment and air conditioning had been installed, so we paid the extra. We noticed that no rooms at SNR were available through any of the booking agencies (Venere, Hotels.com etc) which required us to book through the hotel directly and pay full price.
As or our visit in late July, the hallways and public areas have new carpet/paint and light fittings, but the room we stayed in was exactly the same except for new carpet, so the bathroom - which was a little shabby in 2011 - is moreso now - and while we didn't mind that when the price was good (initially we paid around $110 to stay at the SNL) we did mind at the higher price. The jacuzzi had been retiled, which was nice, and the pool seemed to be heated now (?) as it was not as cool as we remembered it, so that was nice.
Our room was absolutely boiling when we arrived, and we had to ask reception for a fan, which they provided. But the room did not really cool down all night. There was no sign of the advertised air conditioning.
Worst of all, from the point of view of our expectations, the hotel no longer provides included continental breakfast at Rafters next door, which they did previously. This significantly affects the price and convenience. We did not want to pay for an a la carte breakfast at Rafters, so it was a couple of blocks walk to the Looney Bean cafe for a coffee and croissant breakfast.
The front desk service has lost its personal touch. The hotel is so large, that the staff did not seem to recognize us each time we came and went, although they were friendly and helpful and I have no complaints about the staff; all the faces were new from our previous visits.
The night we arrived, I asked for a package which I had arranged to be sent to the hotel, after checking with the hotel that this would be OK. The night person had a cursory look about the office and said no package was there. I asked whether there was a special closet or storeroom for such items - he said "Oh no they are usually around here somewhere". It was a special rented item that we needed for our hiking trip. Unconcerned, he advised us to ask the manager in the morning. In the morning, the manager did the same thing, and said there was no package. Worried, I contacted the company who had sent the package, who assured me it had been sent several days ago, and delivery had been confirmed. I went back to the desk and this time a third staff member overheard and said "Oh wait, there was a package" ... and she produced it from a shelf somewhere in the office. I know a hotel is not a post office, but we had prearranged this delivery as we were coming from overseas and there just seemed to be a lack of organization and care which did not inspire confidence.
So - maybe this hotel is in transition to something grander, but we will be staying at the Mammoth Creek Inn from now on - just down the road, and much better value.

Room Tip: If you are booking on the basis of the advertised airconditioning - which would be nice in summer as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice rooms, good beds, free parking and free internet. No breakfast.
There was a safe and a refridgerator in the rooms also, but they were in the bathroom???

Some other rooms had a big fireplace.

Good value for money, Mammoth Lakes is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing