We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mountain Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel was recently remodeled in a lodge theme. The original character is still there with modern touches and amenities. There are vintage posters and pictures on the walls. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful - marble and slate shower, vessel sinks on a rustic wood countertop. In-room coffee was provided as well as 24 hour coffee/tea/ hot chocolate in the lobby. There is an abundance of nice restaurants within short walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    193
    82
    28
    30
See reviews for
232
277
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

So my son and daughter'n law came up to Mammoth with their 7 month and 2 year olds and my wife and I decided to give them a night to themselves. We made reservations for them in a Fire Place suite. I went by there one day and asked to take a look at the rooms and when I saw the suite i was very impressed. it was really well appointed, cool furniture, great king bed, a bathroom with both a bath and and a large walk in shower. BTW I found out from the kids after their return that the toilet seat was heated.. always a good thing !! anyway so they checked in and really enjoyed themselves they said that it was the best hotel experience the've had in Mammoth. it was quite and peaceful in the room and the room the was so large and comfortable that they wanted to stay another night ( Maybe on the next trip ). They went to Rafters for breakfast the next morning and had breakfast and then came home to find the little ones well taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with two teenagers. This owns great comfortable hotel with nice furnishings. The check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. The area is ok with apartments nearby ans a strip mall next door but they don't detract from the stay. The hot tub was hudge but no air jets. No breakfast but we went to the breakfast club down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californiyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I rally enjoyed my stay the room was just remodeled and very cozy. There were three restaurants on the premises. My Favorite was Jimmys Taverna. I will go there every time I go to Mammoth Just for the Octopus appetizer. The fire place in lobby is great and the have complimentary coffee, cider and hot chocolate available in the lobby. The bus runs right in front of the place giving easy access to the slopes. The staff was very friendly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocowininty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful mountain feel...with massive pieces of natural wood in furnishings and decor. The hotel great room and reservation center has plenty of space for gathering around a huge fireplace, quaint bar, pool table and more. The staff were most helpful and courteous.

The location is center town with three great restaurants next door and spectacular views of the mountains. Ski slopes only a few miles up the hill.Resort within walking distance of major grocery store, RIte Aid and Sierra Sundance health food store.

Our suite was in perfect condition.. newly furnished...with carved-columned comfortable bed....footed by two ottomans and 2 club chairs facing the fireplace. The bath featured 2 glass bowl sinks, large soaking tub and large shower with double showerheads....PLUS heated tile floor and heated toilet seat!! The kitchenette offered dining for two, small cooktop and refrigerator....wine glasses, too.

This hotel is definitely a top choice for accommodations in Mammoth Lakes, CA.

Room Tip: Suite with view of mountains, king-sized bed, kitchenette and luxurious bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in the chalet. Great location. Walking to restaurants and grocery. Bed was good not great. Needs a duvet cover double sheets were a little hard to keep straight. Overall very happy. I'm a doorman at a major metro Marriott and was happy with my stay. Kat and Kristin at the front office were friendly, approachable and made my stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The lobby, the room, I felt like I was back in the Adirondacks in upstate NY where the Rockefellers and DeBruns had their summer retreats. The lobby had a huge four sided wood burning fire place with sofa seating around all sides.

Our suite had a fire place with two leather reading chairs. Huge foot diameter four poster king bed provided great viewing point for the flat screen above the fireplace. The suite also had a convenient cooking flat top, mini fridge, high chairs and table for eating and a desk. The view from our window was the Sherwin Mountains. The bath had a soaking tub, separate spacious shower, two glass bowl sinks, heated floor for winter time comfort and even a heated toilet seat.

What else could one ask for? Oh, yes, Duke’s Bar where John Wayne, and others would partake of libations; three restaurants, pool and hot tub. This is a great choice for accommodations in Mammoth Lakes, CA.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or chalet with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing