We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Mountain Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Great Mountain Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this place by accident. The exterior looks like a clean roadside motel, but once you step inside, it is gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and really took care of any problems we had. The rooms are amazing with beds high off the floor anf beautifully decorated. I think we had about 10 pillows on our bed. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank challandusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    196
    84
    30
    32
See reviews for
238
289
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property has it all-history, charm, beautiful rooms and an incredible hotel staff. It was such a pleasant surprise upon entering my room and have this beautiful gas fire place waiting to be turned on at a flip of a switch. The bathroom was like a spa, separate shower for in the morning and a soaking tub for the end of the day. Walking distance to everything with a very helpful front desk. Rafters next to hotel was open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Loved it! Can't wait to come back. Mountain Lodge atmosphere with upscale amenities.

Room Tip: Book for a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spacious and luxurious new rooms, customer friendly staff and the best location in Mammoth. We loved the new room decor and enjoyed all three restaurants on the property. Rafters is just plain cool and you can have a drink in the new lobby bar to die for on your arrival. They even have a piano in the lobby you can play. The Wine Captain Chip knows more about wine than the best Los Angeles, New York or San Francisco Restaurants. The cellar is well stocked and the Bar area of rafters very warm and inviting.

The Red Lantern serves flat out some of the best chinese food you will eat- not just in Mammoth- but anywhere. It offers a degree of romance and style one would not expect to find in Mammoth. Anyone coming from the big city will really like this restaurant.

Jimmy's Taverna has the freshest and best tasting seafood on the mountain with a genuine atmosphere of being inside a high end Greek Tavern-but the menu is well priced. The floor and walls are a mosaic of stone and the gigantic candles spread about the room add a soft light that makes everyone in the room glow. The music is authentic and the acoustics excellent for late night conversation.

in the Hotel Room, the beds were new and the mattresses very comfortable. The bathrooms were remodeled with superb taste and style. The linens have a high thread count and the Flat Panels TV's very new with lots of channels for sports.

With a new shuttle to the slopes and Airport maybe 15 minutes away,- this is the place to stay and really enjoy all that Mammoth offers. You can even buy your lift tickets on site!

We especially loved the outdoor dining on the rafters patio for breakfast and coffee and the smell of autumn pine air while while enjoying a splendid view of the mountain.

We are going back this summer- so wanted to share my experience about the Resort.

Room Tip: They have some Suites that are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daxsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada L, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am delighted that enjoyed your stay at the NEW Sierra Nevada Resort! It sound like you were able to take advantage of our many fine restaurants and amenities during your visit to Mammoth. For your next visit I have a great tip for you. I just tried the Blackberry Multigrain pancakes at the Rafters last Sunday at brunch - best pancakes I have had anywhere!

Looking forward to seeing you in the summertime,

Rhonda Duggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 they were doing refurbishments to the rooms when we stayed so we were put in a lodge which was lovely, large lounge with fully equipped kitchen area and a log fire which they lit for you if you wanted them too, large bedroom with very comfortable bed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was included at the bar/ restaurant on sites which was good. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bideford39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We used to ski at Mammoth Mountain 20 years ago, but stopped because the hotels and restaurants were so poor compared to Vail and Lake Tahoe. We had the opportunity to celebrate a friend's BD over the summer in Mammoth and we stayed at the Sierra Nevada Resort. They were starting renovations which caught my eye and they had just opened a very elegant Chinese restaurant called Red Lantern. We were very impressed with the decor and food quality as well as the service and wine pairing from their wine expert "Chip" who was really wonderful and informative.

Fast forward to February 2013 and back to Mammoth to ski and stayed again at Sierra Nevada.
The renovations were completed and positively beautiful. We could not believe the level of comfort and elegance to which the owners have taken this property. The rooms were huge, with great fireplaces, stone showers and counter tops and my wife's favorite, a heated toilet seat. There is a "kitchen bar" in the rooms which is convenient if you want to stay in for the evening. There is a big flat screen in the room over the fireplace with really comfy chairs to relax in and watch TV.

The morning breakfast layout is extensive with several cereals in large dispensers and other items as well as the hot breakfast available. The Banana pancakes were my favorite. They have a great lunch menu too. We had dinner in Rafters and heard the Osso Buco was a family recipe…and it was outstanding! We also dined at their new restaurant called Jimmy's and I had the best lobster tail that I ever had-- grilled in their wood burning ovens. It was hard to believe food and service in Mammoth has become be so good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Mammoth-- and you don't half to be stuck in the crowds of the village. After a long day of skiing, we were thrilled that we didn't need to leave the property to have dinner at a different restaurant every night. I have a re-found love of Mammoth Mountain now.

M.K. Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the second floor because of thier high vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 881MikeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our ski group stayed here for the week. The entrance room is great for gatherings. in the center is a sitting area with couches and a bar for drinks if arranged for apre' ski parties, the left room has a sunken room with fireplace in the center and built -in couch all the way around. The room to the right has a computer to checkout you pictures or videos, reservations stocks etc. There is a pool table with even more chairs, coffee, tea and water. The lodge rooms were long enough with 2 queen beds but too narrow to have a bureau so lived out of the suitcases. The Condos were the smallest I've ever seen. The bed in the lodge was extremely comfortable, not hard. They vacuum and keep the rooms clean but the carpets needed to be cleaned. Kneeling on them made my pants dirty and wiping the carpet with a wash cloth prooved the point. There is a ski rental room actually owned by Mammoth Mountain, affords you the benefit of getting skis, boots and poles and a key to a locker on the mountain so you don't have to carry everything everyday. There is a hot tub and they own Rafters Bar and restaurant next door. Breakfast buffet everyday but the candle warmers are not big enough or too far down, food was usually cold and bacon was not crispy and very greasy. Two of the days there were no pancakes, but I'm sure you could ask and if you had time they would be happy to make more. They have a small shuttle but most everyone used the free bus service that ran about every 20 minutes until 5PM,then town shuttles run every hour..
The mountain was great with lodges at the base, one in the middle (McCoy and one at the top, 25 lifts and no real tree borders where you could go anywhere and get across the mountain with very few chairs if you didn't ski all the way to the bottom.

Room Tip: Lodge may not mention ski rental shop inside, there is no sign anywhere from the street. Rental cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location for the town but you need to use your own vehicle or the shuttle service to acces the slopes. We styed in a one-bedroomed chalet - very clean and comfortable we were a little concerned about noise as there was a connecting door to another chalet from ours, however we only heard them twice.
Daily cleaning service, constant supply of clean towels etc a bonus.
Nice bar and lounge within the complex.

Suggested improvements - no basic kitchen or food stocks except for 2 dishwasher tablets, half a roll of kitchen paper and a bottle of washing-up liquid. By the time we had bought salt and pepper, a small bottle of olive oil,a small bag of dishwaher tabs and other basics we had spent over 20$. As we were visiting from the UK and ate out 50% of the time these were hardly touched and we had no option but to leave them. Perhaps something they could think about provding, we would quite happily have used items such as these that were already opened.

We checked-in 20 minutes AFTER the stated earliest time. Our chalet wasn't ready and we were asked to leave and come back in an hour. Surely an offer of a complimentary drink would have ben appropriate especially as they were well aware we had just driven for over 6 hours. We left and went to get a drink in town.

These negative comments would not put us off staying again and we would recommend the lodge to friends but are a little things that make a difference and people remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing