We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let it Snow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
2 reviews
“Let it Snow!”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We went up to Mammoth during expecting snow, and boy did we get it. There was so much snow that we were not allowed to leave Tamarack lodge. While we were snowed in the employees gave each guest meals, games to play, and plenty of laughs. We were up in mammoth for four days and were not able to snowboard because of the storm. We definately learned our lession.

Although I truly enjoyed my stay at the Tamarack I would suggest staying closer to town if your planing on going to Mammoth mountain becuase it is nearly impossible to leave. Tamarack is very family orientated and has the finest cuisine.

This is rustic style lodging. We stayed inside the lodge rooms. In the lodge rooms there is a queen sized bed, a closet, a sink, and a heater. There is not a Tv, but who watches TV on vacation? I would suggest bringing a cooler with food and water because you NEVER know if you will be snowed in for days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn0wturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    111
    33
    18
    20
See reviews for
109
189
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a rustic lodge and cabins, set in front of Twin Lakes and next to the Cross Country Ski Center and trails. We've elected to stay in a single cabin for two years running -- wood burning stove, small but perfectly stocked kitchen, a cozy bed, and unparalleled quiet. This is about as distant from the typical Mammoth stay in village condos or pricey hotels that you can find, but only a five-minute drive to the slope at Canyon Lodge. My favorite perks: fruit-infused vodka in front of the big fireplace in the lodge lobby, building our own fire in the cabin's wood-burning stove, walking onto the bridge between the two lakes to watch the sunset and see the stars. However, the website description is accurate. This is not the place to come if you want to watch cable TV, order room service, are used to luxury accommodations, and can't live without live streaming video via the Internet.

My one and only complaint is that some of the renovations are slowly removing a bit of the charm -- gas burning fireplaces especially. While I realize that some guests may not want to build their own fires, the gas-burning fireplaces have a terrible flicker that kept us awake all night -- even with just the pilot on. The staff generously allowed us to move to a different cabin after one night, one with a very efficient and warm wood-burning stove. Loved it, and hope someone in charge will read this and keep the wood-burning stoves in some of the cabins!

Worth every penny for the most romantic weekend vacation ever. And of course, the skiing at Mammoth is fantastic. We're determined to go back every year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Unless you are cross country skiing, this place is not worth the price. I stayed in a studio cabin. It was as small as most hotel rooms. The kitchen had a mini refrigerator and and old table/chairs. The kitchen was too small and had peeling paint. The carpet was like nothing I had seen before and should have been outside. After taxes and fees it was $250 a night. I could've rented a full 1 bedroom condo walking distance to downhill slopes for that. It's not close to town. The lodge does have some rustic quaintness to it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nursemel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie2009, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied during your stay, particularly in regards to the size of our studio cabins and there perceived value. Each of our historic studio cabins is unique in size and décor. Studio sizes will range from 220 - 310 sq feet and will have a private bath and efficiency kitchen. Our outstanding views compensate for the lack of cabin sizes however larger cabins are available. Additionally, we have reviewed your comments about the maintenance issues, inspected the units and have taken appropriate action.
Tamarack is a cross country ski resort, is about two miles away from the Village and is connected to the Mammoth Mountain shuttle system from 8:30AM until 5:00PM. Downhill skiing is about 2.8 miles away.
We do appreciate your past business and we do hope you will give us another opportunity live up to your expectations as I am confident that you will have a more positive experience during your next stay.
Thank you very much again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The lodge is historic and funky. The rooms are small, but totally adequate. We always stay in a room with shared bath and I've never had a problem waiting for the bathroom. The restaurant is really delicious- definitely the best food in Mammoth. The last time I ate there, the chef stopped at our table and talked with me for a bit about celeriac. We like being close to the nordic ski area and away from the crowds near the downhill areas. We have taken the shuttle to the village for alpine skiing, but prefer to drive to the eagle lift area and park there. If you enjoy drinking hot spiced apple cider in front of a roaring fire at night, stay here. If you prefer to choose hotels based on a luxurious experience, find another place. Note: the walls are quite thin, so if you are a light sleeper, get a cabin!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dozy_sandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We purchased a "ski and stay" package for the weekend of the Night of Lights at Mammoth. Little did we know that a record-breaking blizzard would dump 13 feet of snow on the area that weekend. We arrived (in the blizzard) Friday night and we were checked in promptly. The room (a shared-bath room in the lodge) was exactly as advertised on the tamaracklodge.com website. The lodge is rustic and cozy and cheerful. We purchased a bottle of wine, had a glass each, and the staff were happy to store the bottle for us to use later in our stay. One negative: the WiFi is barely usable.

By Saturday morning, several feet of snow had fallen on the roads, and it took until about 10:30 before they could get the roads safe enough to drive to the hill. After skiing and watching the Night of Lights, we had a very good dinner in the Lodge restaurant (good value for the quality of the food).

On Sunday morning, the storm was at its peak and most of Mammoth was shut down. The power was out for a couple of hours in the morning. With the winds blowing 50 (gusting 70) the roads could not be safely cleared. Not only could we not get to the hill, but the staff couldn't get to the Lodge! The night staff and the general manager and a few of the house staff were the only ones there (maybe 5 total), but they made us comfortable. They provided breakfast and lunch (simple but filling). Some of the guests volunteered to cook dinner for the rest of the guests and the staff accommodated (there weren't enough staff to do a real dinner otherwise; see below). The staff made sure everyone had a warm comfortable room to sleep in.

On Monday the roads got cleared about 11:00 AM enough to head down the hill. The charge for the extra night was very modest (no charge for the food) and they gave us a voucher for the unusable ski day.

Now, this may sound like a trip-from-hell, but it wasn't. We were always warm, comfortable, safe, and fed. The overworked staff were always friendly, accommodating, and cheerful. The guests found things to do to stay occupied. It was really quite a pleasant adventure!

[An aside: The staff would have been less overworked and even more accommodating, if it weren't for a few idiot guests who decided they knew more than the GM (who had been out plowing) about the conditions of the road, and ignored the road-closed signs. Of course, they got stuck so the Lodge staff had to go rescue them. In one case this took 4 hours.]

A comment about some of the reviews: This is a rustic historic LODGE. It isn't a hotel. The web site describes exactly what you get. I don't know why you would book a room in a lodge and then write a negative review because it isn't a hotel and doesn't have the amenities or atmosphere of a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBaaadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The Tamarack Lodge is a wonderful place to stay when in Mammoth Lakes. The location is quiet, easy to get to and very beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and could not have been more comfortable. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We made the mistake of booking a room (with a so called private bathroom ), probably the biggest mistake of our lives, at this "lodge" this Thanksgiving (2010) , and let me tell you it was just awful. Our entire stay there was about 5 hours , at 11:30 in the night we decided to leave that place and go check in at a different place ( real place). I will now state our problems with that place , and the manager or whatever the person that responds here to people's comments can try and explain :
1.Do not make the mistake of accepting a room that is on top of the lounge. NEVER will we be letting ourselves tricked into that. (actually this was the first time it happened to us). The music there was loud and we could hear it loud and clear untill the last employee left (around 11:30 pm), and this is the main reason we left.We tryed to talk to the people there , but nothing was done, at first they lower the volume but after a while the music was loud and clear again. Also i'm not the first one to complain about this . Others have (here on tripadvisor) , i just didn't read the other reviews carefully , or i forgot by the time we got there.
2. Evertying there is old, including the heater which has all sorts of noises when it runs.
3. Bathroom was so small ( you can barely call that thing a bathroom., and i would have never booked if they had posted real pictures ) you can barely move in it. Also no smoke detectors and you could smell the smoke from people that stayed there before and used the bathroom to smoke in it.
4. The description on the site we booked (hotels.com) said that the rooms have fireplaces and small kitchens. (not true, not even the cabins have fireplaces)
So around 11:30 when we left noone was there anymore, so we ended up returning the next morning and returning the keys, and in the same time we were there someone else left that place not wanting to spend another minute there, so it wasn't just us , and probably those guys get a lot of complaints . We will make sure to make a complaint about them on the site we booked from ( they or someone else changed the description of the place after we booked).

Bottom line is stay away from this place ,unless you want to pay a lot of money for something that is worse than a cheap motel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CristianC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie2009, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected and shorter than you had anticipated. As requested, I would like to respond to some of the concerns you addressed in your review:

(1) We do play mellow music in our Lodge lobby and Lakefront Restaurant in the evening. Our music volume is set so we can simultaneously accommodate both our restaurant & hotel guests. The last seating for the restaurant is at 9:30PM and is normally over by 11:00PM. I apologize if the volume was intrusive during your stay and I have discussed the management of the volume with the staff.
(2) Tamarack Lodge is a historic lodge built in 1924. That being said, our lodge embraces quirks consistent with aged buildings.
(3) Although the bathrooms in the lodge may seem small to some they contain a shower stall, toilet and sink. Additionally, your accommodation contained a bedroom and an adjacent sitting room. We do have pictures posted on our Tamarack website, indeed, real pictures of our lobby & cabins. It sounds like you may have made a reservation with an outside travel agency (Expidia?) with limited photographs. We do have a “no smoking” clauses that we do have our guests sign at check-in. I personally inspected the functioning smoke detectors are positioned through out the lodge rooms and hallway.
(4) As for our rooms versus our cabins, they are very different from each other. We have everything ranging from lodge rooms with shared bathrooms to deluxe three-bedroom cabins & everything in between. All our cabins are equipped with, at least, efficiency kitchens; our rooms are not. Also, before the Thanksgiving holiday we did remodel many of our studio cabins. Now, all except two historic two-bedroom cabins do contain either a gas-log stove or a wood-burning stove. I recommend you call us directly, receive the personal service you desire and express your specific concerns versus using on line travel agencies. Tamarack is a very desirable and unique property. Please contact me directly and I will facilitate your next stay.

Again, I apologize that your initial impression of Tamarack Lodge & Resort was less than satisfactory. Might I recommend, the next time you are in town, stop in, say hello, & request to see a deluxe cabin? I do believe you will find those more suitable for your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,395 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
834 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing