We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Lodge near Twin Lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Summer Package
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge near Twin Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights (five) and switched room once when things got busy over the weekend. Very nice location, very helpful staff, really nothing to complain about. The rooms are kind of small with creaky floors, but that just adds to the charm of the place ... The location is very convenient, about two miles (5 min) from the Village in Mammoth, and right in the immediate vicinity of the various small lakes that make this region famous. Parking is simple and plentiful even if you have a big suv like we do. The breakfast is basic (cereals, toast, and some odd flavored sweet bagels) and the coffee could be better. We did not eat at the lodeg restaurant. Would definitely stay again here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    88
    25
    14
    17
See reviews for
79
151
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 6, not far from the main lodge and the lake. It is old and rustic. The hot water is on the wrong side in the shower and the kitchen sink, but not the bathroom sink. That took some time to figure out. There is no TV. The coffeemaker did not work, and they then gave us a dirty one, one where the pot did not match the machine (from two different companies), and one with a missing basket. The fifth one finally worked. The small refrigerator in the kitchen was quite noisy, and did not keep our ice cream frozen. There is wi-fi, but it is flaky and very slow when connected. And there was a mouse running around on the floor of our room the last night. The continental breakfast was OK, but there were not enough tables to sit at in the lodge, so we had to bend over and eat off a coffee table. They gave us a DVD player, with free DVDs, although not much of a selection. There was no remote control, and it took 15 minutes of fiddling around with tiny buttons on the back to get it to work. The people at the front desk were nice, but for $270 a night with a required 4-night stay, almost the most I have ever paid for a hotel room, I would expect much more. I would never stay here again. There are many other options at Mammoth Lakes.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheap cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Roy Moyer and staff at Tamarack Lodge do a fantastic job making sure guests have a wonderful time staying in the beautiful and charming Tamarack Lodge. Roy allowed us to park a utility trailer next to our unit that contained fishing poles, bikes, canoes, and other fun things to use at Twin Lakes. We lost one of the keys, and staff allowed us time to search our baggage when we arrived home, only to find the key and return it. The staff could have charged us $15 but allowed us the benefit of doubt. Fantastic service! Fresh towels and linens delivered every day, fantastic time, made our whole vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent three wonderful nights here in a one-room cabin that had just been remodeled. It was nice and cozy. You could easily spend a week or more in this cabin. The view of the lake is wonderful and you can see it from the front window and kitchen window. The staff here is outstanding. Kevin, Kevin, Kyle, Anthony, Jeff and last but not least, Alice, were all more than helpful. Kayaking and mountain biking are available here, and the scenery is breath-taking. And do yourself a favor and go to dinner at the Lakefront Restaurant, which is in the Lodge. It was a wonderful romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Get a newly-remodeled cabin, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a room in the Tamarack Lodge, which was built in the 1920s. The setting is lovely--on the edge of a lake, quiet, away from the bustle and congestion of the town. The lobby area has a fun, historic lodge atmosphere. The rooms, however, could use a little TLC. The bed was very comfortable, but our sitting area had the oddest collection of leftover furnishings and generally felt shabby. We had a private bathroom, clean but very small. Had the hardest time locating an electrical outlet anywhere in the room. The "resort" fee they tack on is a joke--who considers a coffeemaker and the ability to receive faxes a "resort" service? We love staying in historic hotels, but this one just misses the mark a bit.

Room Tip: Too bad the Lodge rooms haven't been kept up better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had an historic one-bedroom cabin. I thought we were getting a deluxe because of the price, but none were available so they were not listed on the web site (make sure you understand the room listings). No matter, the historic cabin was pleasant enough, in its funky way. The setting by the lake is pleasant, though at the height of summer you are not getting a secluded cabin in the woods. Any shortcomings of the cabin were made up for by the restaurant, which is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naruroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Tamarack Lodge. What a gorgeous, peaceful setting! We walked out of our cabin each morning and were greeted by shimmering lakes and snow-capped mountains. The cabins were clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was a handy feature for late night snacks and picnic preparation. The continental breakfast was beautifully set up in the main lodge and was a great way to start the day. The staff was so friendly and efficient, always greeting us with a smile. We rented bikes and rode the bike path, so fun! We enjoyed several hikes on the nearby trails. Fabulous scenery everywhere you turn. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing