We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pine Cliff Resort(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Condominiums(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Bear Condos(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Austria Hof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Sans Nom(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vista Blanc(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
256
116
34
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
116
34
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin lakesstudio cabinlakefront restaurantcross country skiingshared bathroomcontinental breakfastnordic skilake viewbagelswinter wonderlandpaper towelseastern sierragas fireplacerooms are smalllake marymammoth mountainmain building
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 448 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stay here for 3 nights for a honeymoon. The beds were comfy, the view was great, the service was perfect, and we could bring our dogs for an additional fee. I loved that there was no TV in our room. The gas burning stove was a nice added touch. When we entered our Studio Cabin we were greeted with a bottle of wine. The Studio its self was small and but fine for me, m husband, and 2 medium to big dogs. We cooked a lot of our own food and enjoyed the bar in the lobby where we received great service from friendly staff.

One tip: if you have a mac book you will need to open up your network preferences and manual ask to join the server to get internet on your computer.

During our trip we hiked around the lakes, snowboarded on the mt 2 miles away, and enjoyed our stay completely. Thank you for a memorable time!!

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 16 great view easy access to our truck.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikelca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Cons-nothing in Mammoth Lakes is inexpensive.
1.Word to the budgeters so you won't be surprised.
Room rates at Mammoth Ski Resort Properties-Tamarrack, Main Lodge & Juniper Springs add $20 per day fee for non opt out "extras" so read carefully. then add the city taxes. So a 2 night stay you think will be @127/ night will be an end price of$180/night. Also high city tax for any other rental in town. Better deals in Bishop but not as convenient. Lodge does not have working computer but does have wireless down stairs &above the main room. No hot tub or pool. In summer no swimming in lake
2. this is an old property with updates but I think that is part of the charm.
3. Altitude is higher than town but less than the main lodge so sleeping may be more difficult doe to altitde
Pros-Real old Lodge experience in an area that feels isolated but is 5 min to town
1. Lots of peace & quiet. No blaring TVs and boom boxes.
2.Beautiful location on a lake but just outside town but with easy access to many restaurants. Built around 1924.Still keeps the tongue in groove pine walls, large roaring fireplace. Oversized leather chairs , rockers & game tables.
Cabins or main lodge. This trip in the lodge.
3a. You can get a bargain with the shared bath rooms 4,5,6,,11,12. They are all Q rooms. Bathrooms 1 or 2 rooms away. lady's room with private shower. 1 toilet with Basin & the other with private toilet but basin in the entrance room. I did not ck out the men's area
3b. Rms 1,10 &15 are en suite bathroom & Q bed,
3c. rms 7,10, 2 are en suite bathroom but have 2 rooms with an open doorway-1 with Q and the other with twin daybed in room with 2 leather club chairs and table, dresser and mirror. Rms 7,6,5,4,2 & 1 face the lake. We prefer the ensuite rooms facing the Lake.
Looks like lots of updates since our visit 2 years ago especially the bathroom-new floor and shower tile ( no tubs)& new faucets and shower heads.
Continental Belfast- toast, bagels, cream cheese, jam, cold hard boiled eggs, cereal,milk,apples, orange juice, coffee & tea. Hot choc $3.
4. Lots of free parking
5. Shuttle to the village tram and down town free every 1/2 hr
6. I walk out my door to the cross country center and all the great all level trails and all weather trails (even when very windy on the Mountain). Nap and go out again snow shoeing. My husband drives to the main lodge- closer drive than most other properties.
7. I would suggest those with kids stay in the cabins for easy of food prep/times and able to be noisy.
8. Excellent and commensurate ($$$$ 180/2 3 course dinner not incl alcohol) priced dinning for dinner at the lodge. Best I've had anytime.
9. Lunch on soup and sandwiches available in main room

Room Tip: Cabin for kids, room with bath down the hall for tight budget, room facing the lake for view( but you will be in the main room most of the time). Fitness center is the great outdoors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just a few miles out of town but light years from the crowds you'll find a Sierra Winter Wonderland. We checked into one of the deluxe 1 bedroom cabins which is hardly deluxe but worth it for the location alone. The historical property sits at the edge of a lake across from sheer cliffs beyond which are the peaks of the ski area. If downhill is your game the Canyon lift is a short drive or you can take the shuttle to the village. We we're there for downhill skiing but quickly revised our plans once we saw the vistas from our cabin. The Nordic Center at Tamarack rents everything you need to explore the surrounding hills and vales. We snow shoed through deep powder in a magical forest one day. The next found us x country skiing on their empty and incredibly groomed trails. Day 3 we lazed in our cabin which included a full kitchen, gas fireplace and overstuffed couches and chairs. The best thing about these cabins was the feeling of being in our own winter lodge. So quiet and relaxing. The views out the windows, especially when it was snowing we're captivating. The restaurant was good, the staff delightful. I've read other reviews about this hotel being overpriced and I somewhat agree but would happily overpay again to fall under the spell of this incredible winter destination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alota_latinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Many of the reviews here dwell on the breakfast, wifi and resort fee. Enough has been said so I will skip those. We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom cabin for three nights over Christmas. In contrast to other properties in Mammoth, this lodge is deep in the woods next to a pair of lakes and towering cliffs. The scenery is exquisite. There has been heavy snow so far this winter and nearly two feet fell while we were there. Our cabin was up a steep slope and the only access was by hiking through the snow. Thankfully the staff kept paths groomed, but if you have problems with mobility the cabins might not be wise in winter. The cabin itself was nice. Its large deck was covered in snow, but must be very pleasant in summer. The main room was about 250 square feet with a table for four, a sofa bed and an overstuffed chair. A gas fireplace threw out plenty of heat. The main room floor is wood but the entrance area is stone with a bench and a row of hooks for hanging coats. This area was large enough for three of us to stow our winter gear without tracking snow into the rest of the cabin. The bedroom was large with a desk, armoir and end tables. The bedroom has many drawers but somewhat limited space to hang clothing. The bed was king size, with a poor quality mattress. Ditto for the sofabed. The kitchen was large enough for two people, barely. Cookware and crockery were adequate and housekeeping replaced our dish towels each day. You do need to bring your own paper towels and I recommend bringing your own ground coffee because the packets they provide are designed for the tiny coffee maker found in a hotel room, yet the coffee maker is full size (it has a permanent filter so no need to bring paper filters). The main room of the lodge was cozy but cramped when the holiday crowd all showed up at once; otherwise it was very enjoyable. A wood fire was kept burning throughout the day and a wood stove in the corner kept the room toasty. My wife asked them to make up a cheese platter and it was beautifully done and delicious. We ate dinner at the restaurant on Christmas Eve and it too was excellent. Like everything to do with the Lodge, it was quite expensive but at Tamarack you are paying for the location. If you favor peace and beauty over amenities, and if you don't mind paying for it, I doubt you will find a better place to stay in Mammoth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMorrisSantaRosa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed one of our 1 bedroom cabins and our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. You pick a perfect time to enjoy our spectacular ski conditions. Please join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived in Mammoth after dark as part of a road trip and decided to try Tamarak based on reviews on this site. This is very much the old style "lodge" and our room upstairs was tiny (basically awooded box) with little room for anything other than the bed - with bathroom down the hall. It was fine for an overnight stay but I wouldn't recommend for any longer. The lodge also charges a resort fee (not sure why) for a very basic breakfast and wifi that was not working at all during our stay.
I must say the surroundings though are beautiful, and the person to check out out was great and gave us some good tips for the rest of our road trip.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin - the rooms in the lodge are tiny.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you Kristen,

The rooms in lodge that offer a shared bath are a tad less than 120 square feet. The lodge was constructed in 1924 and some of the rooms remind us of a European pension. The room has a clothing chest, closet, small desk, sink and a queen bed. All of the furniture is new. This experience in the lodge is our entry level lodging unit. If there is a need for a larger room please ask for our rooms with a private bath or one of our cabins. Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews