We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived in Mammoth after dark as part of a road trip and decided to try Tamarak based on reviews on this site. This is very much the old style "lodge" and our room upstairs was tiny (basically awooded box) with little room for anything other than the bed - with bathroom down the hall. It was fine for an overnight stay but I wouldn't recommend for any longer. The lodge also charges a resort fee (not sure why) for a very basic breakfast and wifi that was not working at all during our stay.
I must say the surroundings though are beautiful, and the person to check out out was great and gave us some good tips for the rest of our road trip.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin - the rooms in the lodge are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you Kristen,

The rooms in lodge that offer a shared bath are a tad less than 120 square feet. The lodge was constructed in 1924 and some of the rooms remind us of a European pension. The room has a clothing chest, closet, small desk, sink and a queen bed. All of the furniture is new. This experience in the lodge is our entry level lodging unit. If there is a need for a larger room please ask for our rooms with a private bath or one of our cabins. Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had never travelled to Mammoth Lakes before but had a few days before our reservations in Yosemite. We booked Tamarack based on reviews and their website. The historic lodge and our deluxe one bedroom cabin definitely met expectations. It helped that the weather was perfect. We loved the cozy living room with fireplace and all the amenities in the kitchen and bath. Beautiful view of the lake from our front deck.

One gripe though is that we stayed here from Monday to Wednesday. Because it is off season, the restaurant -- which we had planned to enjoy -- was closed! We didn't want to have to drive back and forth to the town on unfamiliar roads after dinner and wine. That is a small complaint but it would have been appropriate to have been advised of this when we made our booking.

Also, the hotel charges a resort fee of $20 a day...for services that we never used. The breakfast was really poor--hard boiled eggs and stale bagels--and the only thing we wanted to use on the property were kayaks, which were an additional $20 per hour. So in addition to our pretty steep room price we were charged for items that frankly should have been part of the room rate.

All in all, though, we really liked the place. Just would make sure next time what is and isn't included in the rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive from Las Vagas through death valley on our honeymoon and felt very lucky that they had rooms free.
We loved this place - cute and cosy rooms, breathtaking location, helpful staff. We had French onion soup which the restaurant kindly cooked for us in the bar which was delicious.
Would highly recommend, we would love to come back in winter!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie-Crouch_End
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What recommends this place is the stellar and pristine location on Twin Lakes. But if you are up for it, you are better off, value wise, camping in the adjacent Twin Lakes campground.

The biggest problem with the Tamarack is that for the $250 and up they charge - comparable to a business class hotel in any major city, you are not getting anywhere near the service or amenities you should for that price.

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was, well, OK. Despite their upscale marketing pretensions, it is pretty much a rustic cabin with tattered furniture and a nice view. The breakfast, included in your $20 "Resort Fee" (along with internet access) is a joke, worse than a Motel 6 (bring your own). There's a general air of cheapness that pervades this place. A few examples: no napkins or paper towels in the cabins, no extra towels in the bathroom, and old cookware in the kitchen. None of these would be worth mentioning at a $100 a night cabin. They become bigger issues when you realize what you are paying.

Perhaps the biggest feeling we were being had was coming across their asinine marketing ploy that is borderline unethical: if you "like" them on Facebook you can check out late, at noon! Really?! Would a hotel really interested in service stoop to this?

For the money, stay elsewhere, or car camp next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jazz11guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The lodge was just perfect. A rustic wood room from the 20's. My 90 year old mother loved it. The staff was the best (Larry & Tina ) so helpful, with integrity.
Just don't book with Hotels.com they are a rip off.

Yolanda in Tucson

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great spot. BUT my booking said breakfast is included then I had to pay 20$ for breakfast and wifi. And the breakfast was cold blue eggs bagels and coffee served in the lobby. We booked.one of the cabins on the lake and we got one right at the back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Tamarack Lodge on the shores of Twin Lakes is a quiet setting with cabins and rooms in the lodge. While I did not stay there, I did frequent its lobby and "facilities" while flyfishing at the lake. That is the purpose of writing this review. I found Tamarack Lodge to be an exception in that it allows non-patrons to use the restroom facilities. I was so surprised that I returned the kindness by purchasing lunch. The staff at the reception desk was exceptionally pleasand and helpful. What a refreshing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $110 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing