We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Tamarack Lodge on the shores of Twin Lakes is a quiet setting with cabins and rooms in the lodge. While I did not stay there, I did frequent its lobby and "facilities" while flyfishing at the lake. That is the purpose of writing this review. I found Tamarack Lodge to be an exception in that it allows non-patrons to use the restroom facilities. I was so surprised that I returned the kindness by purchasing lunch. The staff at the reception desk was exceptionally pleasand and helpful. What a refreshing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    109
    30
    17
    20
See reviews for
104
182
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are a family of 5 (with kids aged 15, 13 and 10). We spent 3 nights at Mammoth in August and stayed in a sensational lodge at Tamarack, right on the lake where our angling-mad son could fish all day long. We were self-catering but used the Lodge to rent boats, kayaks and for general advice. The property was spotless and had everything we needed fr a relaxing break. No TV but you can hire DVD players if needed. Would definitely go again - in Mammoth try the sandwiches at the New York Deli - amazing! We went to the Mammoth adventure centre for the day and rode down the new mountain bike trails from the top of Mammoth Mountain (11000 feet!).
We used Mammoth as a stop after Yosemite and en route to LA (5 hour drive to LA).

Room Tip: If you are staying in a lodge ask for on near or on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved this place! The people who run it could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Our cabin was lovely. I felt as if I was in my own little cabin in the woods. The restaurant was wonderful; fit for a foodie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 831Kathleen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely, cozy, icy jungle resort alongside the lake and a small water fall makes it a perfect spot for a relaxed weekend. You can plan hiking, bike riding, fishing and a good picnic spot.

Rooms are quite expensive but worth the location and natural beauty around. Friendly staff. We reached very late in the night and the hotel restaurant was closed for the day. But staff were kind enough to prepare soup and salad for hungry and tired souls!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband, kids and I went up end of February with some family friends, and the trip was really memorable.
It started out at the front desk of the lodge, getting our ski passes for the mountain and making arrangements for our stay (planning reservations etc.). We were all pleasantly surprised at how helpful the Tamarack employees were-- really specialized and up-front info on all the goings-on of the Lodge and town. Kevin, the manager was always around to give advice and chat about recommendations of what to do.
After having a minor mixup with one of our reservations, the general manager was fantastic when it came to sorting things out. From that point on we all started noticing of how many things he was out and about working on. He even brought by a shovel for our kids to build a snow-fort on one of the days we decided not to go up to the mountain! They had an amazing time, and it was great getting to see the kids just being kids. We were so impressed by how welcome he made us all feel-- like all his guests were family.
Another high-point was the cozy cabin we shared with friends (enough space to comfortably sleep 2 couples & 2 kids!), that was really beautifully decorated, and equipped a wonderful fireplace that kept everyone toasty even on the chilliest nights.
All in all, our stay was very memorable, filled with the friendly people who seem to gravitate to the lodge both as employees and guests, the beautifully rustic decor, and enough activities at the lodge alone to keep kids and adults alike totally entertained, and yet relaxed by the serene atmosphere.

Room Tip: Particularly large or small groups don't seem to be an obstacle in finding a great room. My hus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
The $20 resort fee covers many things. For example the fee includes free local and 800 access, Wifi access, lobby computer, faxes, copies, games, assorted DVD movies and DVD players, Airport Shuttle, snow chain service, discounts on some of our activities and continental breakfast to name a few.

Our self-serve continental breakfast includes the following items: Gourmet “Illy” coffee, assorted teas, Orange Juice, Milk for four types of cereal; Cheerios, Granola, Fruit Loops and Lucky Charms. Oatmeal is also available. We offer 3 types of Bagels; Cinnamon, Blueberry and Plain, whole wheat bread and topped with your choice of butter, cream cheese and assorted jellies. Also available are hard boiled eggs and apples. The purpose of the continental breakfast is to assists our guests to get a quick bite to get their day started. There are many restaurants that serve full breakfast 3 miles away in town.

It sounds like you may have booked one of our studio cabins. Not all of our 34 cabins are on the first row and there are a limited number of studio cabins. We always try to accommodate special requests to the best of our ability.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a unique and rustic resort in a pristine location on
Twin Lakes. Our studio cabin was small but very comfortable. The cool of the night was handled nicely by a thermastat controlled gas fireplace.
Tiny kitchen with a table and chairs, small fridge, stove, sink could all be utilized for meal preparation. Front porch with (dirty) plastic table and chairs. Tiny bathroom could use an update, although everything worked fine. Also, property could use a facelift, especially new paint. Lakeview
Restaurant is delicious and unique atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are updated, so ask if it is important to you. 2 and 3 bedroom cabins great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwithnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. We of course have discussed with the housekeeping staff about cleaning the outdoor furniture. The cool breezes also tend to bring dust, my apologies. Please join us again and experience one of our 12 deluxe cabins.

Have a great summer!
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer one bedroom cabins for 3 nights. At more than $300/night I thought it was overpriced for what you got but there weren't many other choices. We chose this place because we didn't want to stay in a hotel or condo and wanted something in a more natural setting that wasn't old and run down. The setting is beautiful but the cabins are expensive, plus they charge a "resort fee" which I think is a rip off!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. Our setting is very unique and our prices for our one bedroom cabins are as low as $219 per night. Rates will fluctuate during demand and the season.

Please contact me for any future travels to Mammoth and I will work with you on the room rate.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing