We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend outdoor spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely, cozy, icy jungle resort alongside the lake and a small water fall makes it a perfect spot for a relaxed weekend. You can plan hiking, bike riding, fishing and a good picnic spot.

Rooms are quite expensive but worth the location and natural beauty around. Friendly staff. We reached very late in the night and the hotel restaurant was closed for the day. But staff were kind enough to prepare soup and salad for hungry and tired souls!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thandesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Tamarack Lodge and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband, kids and I went up end of February with some family friends, and the trip was really memorable.
It started out at the front desk of the lodge, getting our ski passes for the mountain and making arrangements for our stay (planning reservations etc.). We were all pleasantly surprised at how helpful the Tamarack employees were-- really specialized and up-front info on all the goings-on of the Lodge and town. Kevin, the manager was always around to give advice and chat about recommendations of what to do.
After having a minor mixup with one of our reservations, the general manager was fantastic when it came to sorting things out. From that point on we all started noticing of how many things he was out and about working on. He even brought by a shovel for our kids to build a snow-fort on one of the days we decided not to go up to the mountain! They had an amazing time, and it was great getting to see the kids just being kids. We were so impressed by how welcome he made us all feel-- like all his guests were family.
Another high-point was the cozy cabin we shared with friends (enough space to comfortably sleep 2 couples & 2 kids!), that was really beautifully decorated, and equipped a wonderful fireplace that kept everyone toasty even on the chilliest nights.
All in all, our stay was very memorable, filled with the friendly people who seem to gravitate to the lodge both as employees and guests, the beautifully rustic decor, and enough activities at the lodge alone to keep kids and adults alike totally entertained, and yet relaxed by the serene atmosphere.

Room Tip: Particularly large or small groups don't seem to be an obstacle in finding a great room. My hus...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

The $20 resort fee covers many things. For example the fee includes free local and 800 access, Wifi access, lobby computer, faxes, copies, games, assorted DVD movies and DVD players, Airport Shuttle, snow chain service, discounts on some of our activities and continental breakfast to name a few.

Our self-serve continental breakfast includes the following items: Gourmet “Illy” coffee, assorted teas, Orange Juice, Milk for four types of cereal; Cheerios, Granola, Fruit Loops and Lucky Charms. Oatmeal is also available. We offer 3 types of Bagels; Cinnamon, Blueberry and Plain, whole wheat bread and topped with your choice of butter, cream cheese and assorted jellies. Also available are hard boiled eggs and apples. The purpose of the continental breakfast is to assists our guests to get a quick bite to get their day started. There are many restaurants that serve full breakfast 3 miles away in town.

It sounds like you may have booked one of our studio cabins. Not all of our 34 cabins are on the first row and there are a limited number of studio cabins. We always try to accommodate special requests to the best of our ability.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a unique and rustic resort in a pristine location on
Twin Lakes. Our studio cabin was small but very comfortable. The cool of the night was handled nicely by a thermastat controlled gas fireplace.
Tiny kitchen with a table and chairs, small fridge, stove, sink could all be utilized for meal preparation. Front porch with (dirty) plastic table and chairs. Tiny bathroom could use an update, although everything worked fine. Also, property could use a facelift, especially new paint. Lakeview
Restaurant is delicious and unique atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are updated, so ask if it is important to you. 2 and 3 bedroom cabins great for...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelwithnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. We of course have discussed with the housekeeping staff about cleaning the outdoor furniture. The cool breezes also tend to bring dust, my apologies. Please join us again and experience one of our 12 deluxe cabins.

Have a great summer!
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer one bedroom cabins for 3 nights. At more than $300/night I thought it was overpriced for what you got but there weren't many other choices. We chose this place because we didn't want to stay in a hotel or condo and wanted something in a more natural setting that wasn't old and run down. The setting is beautiful but the cabins are expensive, plus they charge a "resort fee" which I think is a rip off!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. Our setting is very unique and our prices for our one bedroom cabins are as low as $219 per night. Rates will fluctuate during demand and the season.

Please contact me for any future travels to Mammoth and I will work with you on the room rate.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We are on an extended camping trip and found ourselves in Yosemite in snow on Memorial Day weekend. We took the last Lodge room for one night and were delighted with the atmosphere and service at Tamarack. Room was small with full bath a few steps away but everything we needed was there. Great bed, Internet, heat , a very good continental breakfast. Yes it is old but that is the charm of the place. If you want cookie cutter luxury go elsewhere. If you want top quality with a truly REAL location. This is the place. We were delighted with the location. Wish we could have tried the restaurant but only reservation was at 9:30 - way too late for us. The lodge living area was wonderful with fantastic fire place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for coming in from the cold and choosing to stay with us during the Holiday weekend. Our staff is pleased you shared your great experience on Trip Advisor. Please join us again!

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After seeing the beautiful pictures on the website, I couldn't wait to stay here. I stayed in the lodge, not in a cabin. (I sincerely hope the cabins are better) This place is an overpriced, dingy firetrap. Stay here if you love slanting floors, dirty bedspreads and carpets, dirty public restrooms and are intrigued by wondering if the place will burn down while you're sleeping. The also don't mention the $20 per day "resort fee" until you check in. It includes fishing lessons, photography lessons, some other stuff I didn't use and breakfast. Breakfast isn't served until 7:30 so I missed it in my haste to get out of there. "Rustic" doesn't describe this place. "Dirty and expensive" does. The restaurant is cozy and the menu interesting but the food was flavorless. Altogether a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 741traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We are sorry you had such a negative experience at our Lodge. This is not the experience we want our guests leaving with. We of course have looked into all the complaints you have mentioned and made sure that all have been addressed. Again, please accept my apologies.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed at Tamarack in April 2012. Stayed in a cabin that was up the hill not able to drive to. We asked for a wood fireplace and wanted to be more isolated so they put us in a cabin that was hard to get too especially in the morning when all snow is now ice because it was warm the day before. Didn't have a problem with the location of the cabin and we moved all our baggage ourselves however wish they would make more of an effort to throw down some dirt in the morning or salt to kill the ice so we would be able to walk up and down from our cabin without having to worry about falling.
The studio cabin was great, the small bathroom was the only negative. The toliet is right up against the wall, very hard to use for a tall guy. You almost have to step over it to get to the shower.
The Lodge breakfast isn't much of a breakfast. It's cereal, bread, baggles and hard boiled eggs. That's it. You pay $20 per day for a resort fee which includes breakfast, wifi and a DVD player (if needed). Didn't use wifi and we bought our own food for breakfast. You have to pay the resort fee. The surrounding area is very nice!
I'm giving this lodge 4 stars due to the cabin but without the cabin I wouldn't stay here because the resort fee for what you get isn't worth it and the cabin for the time of year with LOTS of availability is too expensive. The restaurant is VERY pricey too but hey it's a lodge resort in mammoth...what do you expect...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xlargest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your April stay. During the winter months most of our cabins are located in the snow and baggage assistance can be requested during normal operation hours. We have a variety of cabins that have close proximity to the parking; however, many of our guests do enjoy your own private cabin. Because we are directly on the cross country ski trails there are snow pathways that we try to maintain for safe walking. My apologies if they became an issue. As with all lodges our rates change daily depending on many sets of circumstances. I am sorry your rate was disappointing to you. Please feel free to contact me at 760-934-2442 at your convenience.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
838 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $118 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing