We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Private and beautiful”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a unique and rustic resort in a pristine location on
Twin Lakes. Our studio cabin was small but very comfortable. The cool of the night was handled nicely by a thermastat controlled gas fireplace.
Tiny kitchen with a table and chairs, small fridge, stove, sink could all be utilized for meal preparation. Front porch with (dirty) plastic table and chairs. Tiny bathroom could use an update, although everything worked fine. Also, property could use a facelift, especially new paint. Lakeview
Restaurant is delicious and unique atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are updated, so ask if it is important to you. 2 and 3 bedroom cabins great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwithnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. We of course have discussed with the housekeeping staff about cleaning the outdoor furniture. The cool breezes also tend to bring dust, my apologies. Please join us again and experience one of our 12 deluxe cabins.

Have a great summer!
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    109
    30
    17
    20
See reviews for
104
182
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer one bedroom cabins for 3 nights. At more than $300/night I thought it was overpriced for what you got but there weren't many other choices. We chose this place because we didn't want to stay in a hotel or condo and wanted something in a more natural setting that wasn't old and run down. The setting is beautiful but the cabins are expensive, plus they charge a "resort fee" which I think is a rip off!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. Our setting is very unique and our prices for our one bedroom cabins are as low as $219 per night. Rates will fluctuate during demand and the season.

Please contact me for any future travels to Mammoth and I will work with you on the room rate.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We are on an extended camping trip and found ourselves in Yosemite in snow on Memorial Day weekend. We took the last Lodge room for one night and were delighted with the atmosphere and service at Tamarack. Room was small with full bath a few steps away but everything we needed was there. Great bed, Internet, heat , a very good continental breakfast. Yes it is old but that is the charm of the place. If you want cookie cutter luxury go elsewhere. If you want top quality with a truly REAL location. This is the place. We were delighted with the location. Wish we could have tried the restaurant but only reservation was at 9:30 - way too late for us. The lodge living area was wonderful with fantastic fire place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for coming in from the cold and choosing to stay with us during the Holiday weekend. Our staff is pleased you shared your great experience on Trip Advisor. Please join us again!

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After seeing the beautiful pictures on the website, I couldn't wait to stay here. I stayed in the lodge, not in a cabin. (I sincerely hope the cabins are better) This place is an overpriced, dingy firetrap. Stay here if you love slanting floors, dirty bedspreads and carpets, dirty public restrooms and are intrigued by wondering if the place will burn down while you're sleeping. The also don't mention the $20 per day "resort fee" until you check in. It includes fishing lessons, photography lessons, some other stuff I didn't use and breakfast. Breakfast isn't served until 7:30 so I missed it in my haste to get out of there. "Rustic" doesn't describe this place. "Dirty and expensive" does. The restaurant is cozy and the menu interesting but the food was flavorless. Altogether a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 741traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We are sorry you had such a negative experience at our Lodge. This is not the experience we want our guests leaving with. We of course have looked into all the complaints you have mentioned and made sure that all have been addressed. Again, please accept my apologies.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed at Tamarack in April 2012. Stayed in a cabin that was up the hill not able to drive to. We asked for a wood fireplace and wanted to be more isolated so they put us in a cabin that was hard to get too especially in the morning when all snow is now ice because it was warm the day before. Didn't have a problem with the location of the cabin and we moved all our baggage ourselves however wish they would make more of an effort to throw down some dirt in the morning or salt to kill the ice so we would be able to walk up and down from our cabin without having to worry about falling.
The studio cabin was great, the small bathroom was the only negative. The toliet is right up against the wall, very hard to use for a tall guy. You almost have to step over it to get to the shower.
The Lodge breakfast isn't much of a breakfast. It's cereal, bread, baggles and hard boiled eggs. That's it. You pay $20 per day for a resort fee which includes breakfast, wifi and a DVD player (if needed). Didn't use wifi and we bought our own food for breakfast. You have to pay the resort fee. The surrounding area is very nice!
I'm giving this lodge 4 stars due to the cabin but without the cabin I wouldn't stay here because the resort fee for what you get isn't worth it and the cabin for the time of year with LOTS of availability is too expensive. The restaurant is VERY pricey too but hey it's a lodge resort in mammoth...what do you expect...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xlargest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your April stay. During the winter months most of our cabins are located in the snow and baggage assistance can be requested during normal operation hours. We have a variety of cabins that have close proximity to the parking; however, many of our guests do enjoy your own private cabin. Because we are directly on the cross country ski trails there are snow pathways that we try to maintain for safe walking. My apologies if they became an issue. As with all lodges our rates change daily depending on many sets of circumstances. I am sorry your rate was disappointing to you. Please feel free to contact me at 760-934-2442 at your convenience.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for a night as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is very rustic, not luxury, was great to stay somewhere with lots of history & character. In a private location with great views at the hotel and on the drive there. We had a room with a private bathroom, it was small, and was slightly on a slant, but it was autumn/fall and it was quite cold and we stayed very warm. The breakfast was adequate. Great steakhouse restaurant in town, forget the name but it's also rustic, great food.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a private bathroom, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllySM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Congratulations and I am happy that you stayed with us during your honeymoon. We do have a variety of accommodations that can range from a historic rustic lodge room to a beautiful deluxe LEED certified three bedroom cabins. Please join us again for your anniversary and I would recommend one of our studio or one bedroom cabins. We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The hotel is very traditional and feels The hotel is very cosy with wood panels and an open fire.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome.

Our room was homely but the bathroom was too small with a shower that changes tempeture every 30 seconds. The room was very humid and they didn't have a dehumidifier so found myself dehydrated most mornings.

My biggest issue is the location. Unless you have a car, you need to get a bus to the gondola which leaves 30 minutes after the lift opens and finishes at 5pm which means you end up paying for over priced cabs everynight.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay this past winter. Insightful comments like yours that we are able to improve our services. We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing