We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a basic room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Layer de la Haye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
544 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“It's a basic room.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean, comfortable, relatively quiet. No coffee in the room which was a bit of a downer, but you could get free coffee from the lobby until 10am. No shampoo either but I"ll know for next time. Car alarms in the middle of the night led to much excitement in our bear hunting quest, but sadly turned out to be not related to bears.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASocialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    177
    176
    71
    37
See reviews for
114
220
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was quite expensive for a motel 6, but still cheaper than other options around Mammoth. We paid a little bit more for a nicer room with fridge/microwave/flat screen TV. The room looked recently remodeled.

I wasn't expecting much from a motel 6. The room was quite small, the towels were somewhat threadbare, pillows were flat and only bars of soap were provided (no shampoo or hairdryer). The room can be noisy if the people above your room decide to walk around heavily on the laminate floors at predawn hours. Nevertheless we had a fairly comfortable stay so we didn't regret our choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I were very tired after a long and very warm day of traveling and hiking. We were looking forward to cooling down and getting some rest. Upon entering the room I was shocked by how small of a room we had for the four of us, however we made do of it and brought in our luggage etc. went and had dinner at a local restaurant, returned and got ready to go to bed. Throughout the entire night we had a very hard time sleeping as the A/C never worked and the window which we had to open to let some air in through was blocked by the curtain as it opened on the opposite side so we had to have the curtain completely pulled to one side in order to allow air to come through, therefore allowing anyone who walked by to see completely into our room. My daughter and son in-law who were staying with their 6 month old baby in the room next to ours found it nearly impossible to even set up a pac n play in their room for the baby to sleep in cuz the rooms were just that small!! They too had the same problem we had; no A/C all night! All had trouble sleeping! The only high point the next morning upon our request was the office refunding our money for the next two nights that we had planned to stay. We quickly found another location to stay at for the remainder of our visit and high tailed it away from Motel 6. We won't be looking for them to leave the light on for us ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

padova
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel was renewed. The room was clean and nice.
Good price for we had.
The only thing i paied for the wifi that didn't work. They offered me to refund
The personnel was Very kind
Good position, near the center and nice places where to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexascab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here twice in June. First time for 2 nights and the second time just one night. Different prices each time, not certain why though. One room with fridge, microwave and coffee machine, the next time without. To their credit they have renovated the rooms in a very European/Ikea styl,. Laminate floors, flat screen tv, pedestal bed, raised sink. The rooms look very nice but the beds are hard which seems to be a trend through Motel Six. Interestingly the Samsung TV has rear speakers which when enclosed in the decorative wall box amplifies the sound and penetrates the thin walls easier. The manager came to our room with a complaint from our neighbor. When he came into the room and saw we were both in our 50's and the tv was set actually very low he was very polite and apologetic.

Room Tip: Ask about the fridge, microwave, and coffee maker BEFORE you get a room. Both times we were there we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for Mammoth Motocross. Rooms are a little small with double beds. It was clean, comfortable and you can't beat the price for Mammoth. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Just be warned that there is no hair dryer or shampoo.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank R8cerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband recommended this hotel after he stayed here on a fishing trip with a buddy. They had a nice room with mini fridge, microwave and coffeemaker so we booked it again for our own trip later in the season. However, our room did not have a fridge or anything else. Luckily we had a cooler and did not bring anything too perishable. We also had major issues with the tub which would not drain even after the staff said they fixed it while we were out. The front staff while friendly, did not have up to date info on road closures due to a major fire near Yosemite the day we checked out. This was information that we really needed and they should have had. The location is really perfect if you are exploring Mammoth and the surrounding areas, a great base for your travels and within walking distance of the village and places across the street to eat. We are not in need of a fancy place when we are in Mammoth to fish and hike, but if we aren't camping, a good shower and fridge to store our beverages would be nice.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you reserve has a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamrockGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#26 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#25 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Property: Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing