We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stop off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Motel was clean and cheap. Check in was a little rushed (one lady on her own trying to clear a queue) but she was helpful and offered menus and map of the local area which did help us find somewhere close to eat. The rooms were nothing special but did the job we needed. Was way to cold to use the pool but I am sure it would have been good in a little more heat! Nice low budget motel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scuba-Lip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We just had an enjoyable stay here on our way home after a week in Yosemite National Park. We called around and found it was priced waaay below what the other hotel/motels in the Mammoth/Bishop regions were charging.
Surprisingly, even at busy afternoon check-in, the staff proved to be welcoming, well-trained personnel! Exceptionally helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and meals, super friendly and accommodating with extra towel and pillow requests.
The beds are not the highest quality, and the rooms are on the small side. But ours was equipped with a handy microwave and refrigerator! And everything was clean and well kept especially considering this resort/ski- town’s heavy use.
We were happy with the central location and also pleasantly surprised at the grounds…nice outdoor heated pool, well-kept grassy areas, and excellent surrounding locale to take a walk with our car-weary canine companion.
I would highly recommend this Motel 6 if you’re in need of a simple resting place to crash, and more interested in the scenery you're seeing outside than the posh-ness of any interiors. It’s a great value, and although it's certainly nothing fancy; it's a great place to lay your head especially when you’re spending most of your memorable time in the open air anyway!

Room Tip: We chose a room around the back side of the motel where it was convenient to park by the door, and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Motel 6 was clean and good for a night on our way to Las Vegas, WiFi is extra, but the room was so cheap, you can't complain. The staff were friendly and very helpful too. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryll88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly staff, great location... Good place for the guys to stay on a fishing or skiing trip, but the family wanted a few small details. A hair dryer, plusher towels and shampoo... Overall it's an OK place to stay for a low budget getaway, but I'd pick a different place to go for a couples getaway. You can't beat Mammoth for a place to go to unwind and recharge yourself...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyperhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Let me start by saying, I am not a fan of Motel 6's. My husband is a fan of inexpensive hotels, so we have stayed in a number of Motel 6's through the years. A couple of those branches I will NEVER return to. However, Motel 6 in Mammoth is ACTUALLY pretty nice. It is ALWAYS clean. The staff is always friendly. Parking is easy. And yes, it usually IS the least expensive place to stay in Mammoth. It is not fancy, but come on, you know that going in. This Motel 6 exceeds my expectations of a Motel 6 and THAT is why I will stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The motel is the cheapest in all of Mammoth Lakes. The light appeared to be burned out in their sign so it's very hard for them to advertise "We keep the lights on for you." Check-in is quick and easy. Despite being super cold outside, the rooms are nice and warm. They tend to put pets in all of the rooms so if you're allergic to pets, I would advise staying elsewhere. Don't count on the WiFi being free as it is mentioned on some other sites. They charge you per-day. The bus stop is right down the short driveway, which is convenient when you don't want to drive anywhere or you want to go drink at the bars.

Room Tip: It's easier to get to the rooms on the bottom floor during the winter because the stairs become...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelN442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We woke up bitten from head to toe from fleas in our beds....NO JOKEI

I wouldn't even give this place a one star rating but I liked the fact that when I showed the manager the fleas that were collected from the bed that I slept in he told me to 'keep it quiet', got me a new room and discounted me a night. HOW NICE IS THAT? I suffered from itchy flea sores all weekend. My mini ski vacation to Mammoth was completely ruined by staying in this place and I WILL NEVER GO BACK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay and appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention. The conditions and service you described are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We kindly suggest that you contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to help us better address these issues: 1-800-557-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Motel-6, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing