We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It may just be a Motel 6, but it is the NICEST Motel 6!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It may just be a Motel 6, but it is the NICEST Motel 6!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Let me start by saying, I am not a fan of Motel 6's. My husband is a fan of inexpensive hotels, so we have stayed in a number of Motel 6's through the years. A couple of those branches I will NEVER return to. However, Motel 6 in Mammoth is ACTUALLY pretty nice. It is ALWAYS clean. The staff is always friendly. Parking is easy. And yes, it usually IS the least expensive place to stay in Mammoth. It is not fancy, but come on, you know that going in. This Motel 6 exceeds my expectations of a Motel 6 and THAT is why I will stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    176
    172
    69
    37
See reviews for
111
219
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The motel is the cheapest in all of Mammoth Lakes. The light appeared to be burned out in their sign so it's very hard for them to advertise "We keep the lights on for you." Check-in is quick and easy. Despite being super cold outside, the rooms are nice and warm. They tend to put pets in all of the rooms so if you're allergic to pets, I would advise staying elsewhere. Don't count on the WiFi being free as it is mentioned on some other sites. They charge you per-day. The bus stop is right down the short driveway, which is convenient when you don't want to drive anywhere or you want to go drink at the bars.

Room Tip: It's easier to get to the rooms on the bottom floor during the winter because the stairs become...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelN442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We woke up bitten from head to toe from fleas in our beds....NO JOKEI

I wouldn't even give this place a one star rating but I liked the fact that when I showed the manager the fleas that were collected from the bed that I slept in he told me to 'keep it quiet', got me a new room and discounted me a night. HOW NICE IS THAT? I suffered from itchy flea sores all weekend. My mini ski vacation to Mammoth was completely ruined by staying in this place and I WILL NEVER GO BACK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay and appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention. The conditions and service you described are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We kindly suggest that you contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to help us better address these issues: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a nice little motel that is in a great location. The huge bonus for me is that they take dogs for free! The service was excellent and the rooms were clean and warm. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, although the pillows were just marginal....but the most noteworthy thing about the room? The water pressure in the shower was phenomenal! I actually had to turn the water volume down..unheard of!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karise, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple on a car tour across the US - were heading for San Francisco and stopped at Motel 6 in Mammoth Lakes. Had been in Kingman East Motel 6 as well.
Again a pleasant surprise. Very good value for the money.
Clean, inviting and little things that were not in order were attended to immediately. Lightbulbs out of order.
Everything you need: TV, microwave, fridge, internet and a nice bed with cotton sheets, clean.
Everything was clean, as a matter of fact.
Enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Motel 6 numerous times over the past 2 decades. In all cases the rooms were fairly clean and in decent condition (as in not falling apart), and my last stay was no different. The motel was not particularly full on my last stay, but I don't recall the guests as being particularly rowdy here. I always got a good night's rest after a day of skiing.

Yes the pillows suck and the blanket and towels are thin and the bed has that awful looking bedspread but that's just part of the Motel 6 experience. You can always bring your own towels and pillows and even blankets if it bothers you that much. For the money (and Mammoth is notorious for expensive yet subpar lodging) I can live with these shortcomings. That said, management should note a few things.

This Motel 6 was probably remodeled about 10 years ago and it could use a bit of a facelift again. The toilet and tub were OK but the sink had numerous cracks around the drain. The double-pane windows are a welcome relief from the old single-pane ones it used to have, but as always the door doesn't particularly seal well. Not a problem in summer, but definitely an issue in winter when I usually visit Mammoth. I had to run the heater pretty much the entire night.

Another issue is that the outlets are extremely worn anld wouldn't hold a plug anymore. The few that did work properly were already taken up for the TV and the fridge/microwave. The TV in my room was somewhat problematic in that you would only get snow for a few minutes until it warmed up. It's an old CRT-style TV and perhaps Motel 6 should finally upgrade these to flat screens.

I will continue to stay here though, and for people who aren't picky about their lodgings it's sufficient.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RonTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

For the money you pay, you get seriously good customer service. They really charge the least in town and have a great cancelation policy. It's motel 6 though, it doesn't feel like home, the sheets/blanket don't feel new and the towls are very thin and not soft.. good location.. I always come here when I'm at Mammoth by myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#26 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#25 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Property: Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing