We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent value for what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value for what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a nice little motel that is in a great location. The huge bonus for me is that they take dogs for free! The service was excellent and the rooms were clean and warm. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, although the pillows were just marginal....but the most noteworthy thing about the room? The water pressure in the shower was phenomenal! I actually had to turn the water volume down..unheard of!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    170
    168
    67
    33
See reviews for
107
210
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karise, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple on a car tour across the US - were heading for San Francisco and stopped at Motel 6 in Mammoth Lakes. Had been in Kingman East Motel 6 as well.
Again a pleasant surprise. Very good value for the money.
Clean, inviting and little things that were not in order were attended to immediately. Lightbulbs out of order.
Everything you need: TV, microwave, fridge, internet and a nice bed with cotton sheets, clean.
Everything was clean, as a matter of fact.
Enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Motel 6 numerous times over the past 2 decades. In all cases the rooms were fairly clean and in decent condition (as in not falling apart), and my last stay was no different. The motel was not particularly full on my last stay, but I don't recall the guests as being particularly rowdy here. I always got a good night's rest after a day of skiing.

Yes the pillows suck and the blanket and towels are thin and the bed has that awful looking bedspread but that's just part of the Motel 6 experience. You can always bring your own towels and pillows and even blankets if it bothers you that much. For the money (and Mammoth is notorious for expensive yet subpar lodging) I can live with these shortcomings. That said, management should note a few things.

This Motel 6 was probably remodeled about 10 years ago and it could use a bit of a facelift again. The toilet and tub were OK but the sink had numerous cracks around the drain. The double-pane windows are a welcome relief from the old single-pane ones it used to have, but as always the door doesn't particularly seal well. Not a problem in summer, but definitely an issue in winter when I usually visit Mammoth. I had to run the heater pretty much the entire night.

Another issue is that the outlets are extremely worn anld wouldn't hold a plug anymore. The few that did work properly were already taken up for the TV and the fridge/microwave. The TV in my room was somewhat problematic in that you would only get snow for a few minutes until it warmed up. It's an old CRT-style TV and perhaps Motel 6 should finally upgrade these to flat screens.

I will continue to stay here though, and for people who aren't picky about their lodgings it's sufficient.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RonTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

For the money you pay, you get seriously good customer service. They really charge the least in town and have a great cancelation policy. It's motel 6 though, it doesn't feel like home, the sheets/blanket don't feel new and the towls are very thin and not soft.. good location.. I always come here when I'm at Mammoth by myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked this upon our NYE trip where most hotels were already fully booked. At first we were skeptical, but decided we wouldn't even be in the room most of our trip so it should work. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff. Our room was very clean and more updated than we expected.There was no weird activity surrounding the hotel and the other guest were normal, so we felt safe. The village and restaurants are in walking distance and there's a bus line nearby that will also take you into town for free! The best part about this hotel is they acknowledged my 15% off coupon without a hassle (even though it was a holiday) and they accept pets which is a huge plus in my books! I would definitely return to this hotel again the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. The pool was suppose to be warm but was ice cold. Smelly rooms. Had to ask front desk for hairdryer (they only had one to loan out). OVERPRICED FOR THE HOTEL. We booked online through their website. Our printed confirmation showed we paid for 3 rooms all with 2 queen beds, however when we checked in they said it was 3 King rooms. They said they don't have rooms with 2 queen beds (EVEN THOUGH THAT'S WHAT THEIR WEBSITE CONFIRMATION SAID WE PAID FOR) and we would have to pay more for 2 full beds as they were more! Our kids were hungry, it was late, we were tired of arguing and paid more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSmart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

You can never go wrong with motel 6.......mammoth is 79 dollars prime time, little more than 29 dollars we spent in Mojave..anyway staff is hard working, place is clean and quiet. You can easily walk to all places to eat and shop. Ski shuttle is right out front. Same with mountain bike tram....roll all the way to hotel without peddling. Coffee is hot and always ready to roll. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Above pool nice. East lot also fun to watch bears at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Property: Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing