We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay - but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Didn't stay - but...”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I had booked two nights when at the last minute they informed me that their boiler had failed and there was no heat or hot water.
They set us up in the nearby and excellent Grand Sierra Resort Condominiums, and picked up the lodging tab for our stay! (see my review)
I was impressed beyond measure by this supreme gesture of good customer relations by Westin. They will certainly get my business whenever possible!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    330
    104
    54
    39
See reviews for
508
425
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I will report once our stay is complete 1/28/2011 but so far....what a effort they provide to try their best to get what you would have had...if you were pleasured enough to stay at the Westin Monache Mammoth. We planned to have a very well deserved vacation, had a time off of work no pay. and sitters paid for (ouch twin toddlers and a 12 year old in shcool) and all of a sudden the WESTIN was shut down for the WEEK we had a looked forward to for a long time..."Husbands 40th BDay"....the only thing I have to say, it is the Friday before we leave on Monday and everyone has been more than gracious and Ann Bellamy (most , most helpful and sincere) took my call to heart and helped as so did Egnacio and the others before that, I was to frantic to gather names....

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BELLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had a gorgeous four days at the Westin Monache. Loved the location (don't be put off by the stairs comments in earlier reviews .. they are not that bad! just the altitude that has you huffing a bit on the way up!), beautiful room and terrific service ..especially the ability to take a shuttle to grab a few things etc. Lovely restaurant in Whitebark also and great service (they even cooked my little girl pancakes at lunchtime without complaint when she was unwell). Great housekeeping, lovely touches like Starbucks coffee etc - very reminiscent of the Westin experience we had at Whistler. Had a great 2br suite that had plenty of room for 2 adult and 2 kids (plus a sofa bed if needed so could have easily accomodated more). One oddity . a tiny, tiny shower in a huge bathroom ..architects got that one wrong! Noise from people whooping it up in the outdor hot tub kind of travelled too. Great product, great stay if you love a good aesthetic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We spent a 3 day weekend at The Westin Monache with our 3 kids and 2 Pit Bulls and it was fantastic! The hotel is setup so nicely for dogs, it was a breeze to walk them and the concierge gave us tons of great ideas on where we could take the dogs. We were in a 2 bedroom suite and my only issue was the size of the living room- really too small to use the sofa bed because it took up every inch of space in there. If the sofa bed was open the dining room table was impassable. The suite had a full kitchen which we used and we also used the BBQ otu by the pool several times. If you dont want to cook there are several restaurants and many activities like Live Music and movies under the stars across the street at the Village. Everyone was super friendly and gave the dogs treats everytime they saw us. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We were very dissatisfied with our stay. We were staying in a Westin Monache unit that was managed by a company called Mammoth Front Desk. We received none of the amenities of the Westin and it was as though we didn't exist in the eyes of the Westin. We couldn't get room service, decent maid service or in room movies. Although the condo and location were fine, the amenities were unacceptable for the price. Maid service was slow and incomplete, the condo was understocked, and at the time of our stay, it was not clear how separated Mammoth Front Desk is from the Westin. There is no phone, no concierge, no in house housekeeping, no room service, even the bell hops don't want to help because the unit is not associated with the Westin. We even tried to have a charge at the front desk so we could order room service and charge amenities, but the Westin doesn't acknowledge Mammoth Front Desk, and refused to help.
Bottom line, this was not a 5 star experience or even a 3 star,( although we paid for one) we felt that MFD misrepresented themselves, we felt that we should have received some sort of compensation for all the extra trouble, and if I could, I would contact the owners, because I am sure that they are unaware that their renters are receiving substandard service. They would be better off going through the Westin.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kissmekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Monache for 3 nights during the Winter Break. The deluxe room with the kitchenette was wonderful. The ski valet and the location of the hotel was heavenly and the staff was so nice and fast, seeing to our every need. We could walk to the slopes, local restaurants and didn't have to use our car. Our kids loved it as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelCalifornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2010

As an avid traveler but a new dog owner I was fairly apprehensive about bringing a young puppy to a ski resort during winter. We were graciously greeted by the valet, front desk and concierge. The warmth and hospitality, eagerness to please and overall kindness on the staff was present from the beginning through our last photo outside the hotel before we departed. Buck the concierge was a wealth of knowledge and so kind. Rodney the bellman was outstanding, happy and a joy to see in the lobby each day. My puppy was welcomed w open arms and they made the stay super easy and comfortable for all!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbatraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing