We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Blown away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

As an avid traveler but a new dog owner I was fairly apprehensive about bringing a young puppy to a ski resort during winter. We were graciously greeted by the valet, front desk and concierge. The warmth and hospitality, eagerness to please and overall kindness on the staff was present from the beginning through our last photo outside the hotel before we departed. Buck the concierge was a wealth of knowledge and so kind. Rodney the bellman was outstanding, happy and a joy to see in the lobby each day. My puppy was welcomed w open arms and they made the stay super easy and comfortable for all!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbatraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    259
    82
    37
    22
See reviews for
422
337
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

First time to Mammoth is 20 years. Unless you can split a big condo with a large group, winter stays for a couple or small family can be pricey. We wanted more than a motel room but less than a multi-bedroom/full kitchen condo. Didn't want "rustic" accommodations and wanted to get on the slopes quickly. Monache fit our needs just fine. If I had to complain about something I'd say the room's refrigerator and heating system was a little noisy. It is not in "The Village" as I thought, but on a hill above it. A rather long and steep staircase leads right to it however. There didn't seem to be any type of market or vending machines on the property.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tptripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at Westin Monache for a week during labor day weekend, the Westin Monache is an awesome hotel ! Clean, quiet, great salt water pool lap pool, Westin workout, very nice and relaxing stay after a long day hiking around and fishing in Mammoth Lakes. Large underground parking is unbeatable ! Very friendly staff, the kids club is great when you need to leave your young children for an hour or two.
Haven't try the restaurant as we used the grill by the pool and also the kitchette in our room. The 1 Bedroom is plenty for a family of 4, we did some star gazing from our deck and it's wonderful. We stayed on the 6th floor and it's very quiet. They even have a DVD player you can borrow from the front desk and they will install in your room at no charge. Coin-op washer and dryer in the basement is also available. Definitely will come back this winter !! Thanks for the great experience, we love Mammoth Lakes !!
Absolutely a 5 star hotel !! Highly Recommended !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at the hotel overnight before heading to Las Vegas.

I liked:
*nice, stylish, very spacious room (deluxe w/kitchenette)
*very friendly and helpful staff
*nice garage
*nice atmosphere and a nice place (mammoth lakes)
*for ski season the hotel should be the best place, since it's right near the lift

I disliked:
*the breakfast is only a la carte and took us 40 min (pastry and omelett), despite there was only one other couple in the restaurant and two waitors. Also the waitor managed to ask at least 3-4 times in 10 minutes, when we were eating, whether everything is ok (annoys after 1 time) and didn't bring in the waiting period the spare dishes away from the table, so, when the food finally arrived (the omelet was also not very good - too greasy and the broccoli half raw) there was no space to put the dishes on the table.
It was also quite cold in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essen_entdecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Hey, it's a Westin! You get everything you should expect from a Westin, and they never let you down. This place is a resort, so it's a little extra special - bigger rooms, kitchen, fireplace in the room, nice view, pool, fitness center, kids play area, bar/restaurant, etc. etc. Just what you need for an awesome vacation in Inyo National Forest or in Yosemite. This place is conveniently located - super close to downtown restaurants, walkable to shops, grocery stores, and coffee shops. You pay a $25 resort fee per night, but this includes your indoor garage parking, internet, free shuttle service, but just not breakfast. This place is a must stay if you ever come by here. Mad props for this Westin! Oh, and if you need suggestions as to what to do during your stay, talk to Buck at the concierge - he'll hook you up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed here out of ski season as part of a round-California trip with two small children. Booked a suite which was very affordable and comfortable - great that the kids and grown ups had their own spaces. The pool was great fun with a nice hot spa - good after a day's walking in the lakes area (which is a 15 min drive). Staff were all friendly and the food in the restaurant was really good. Overall a very enjoyable and good value stay. With the ski lift to the mountain right next door to the hotel (albeit up 5 flights of stairs from it to the hotel lobby!!), we are tempted to come back here and ski one year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I'm not sure how old this hotel is, but it's either new or well-maintained. Our room had all the amenities you would expect from Westin, but it even had little touches that were fitting for its location. For example, it had coat hooks which came in very handy with the multiple jackets we had for our trip (each of us had a casual jacket and a hiking jacket). Our room met my expectations that I typically require, namely a comfortable bed and a clean room. But, what made this hotel excel (and hence the 5 star rating) is the staff. Not only was every single staff member we came across super friendly (which is so critical to how much I enjoy a trip), but they went above and beyond. For example, having never been in the area, we called a number of times asking about different hiking trails. Not only did we get friendly advice, but when we found out that we wouldn't be checking in before the concierge left for the day, the concierge left several handwritten papers explaining a few different trails at the front desk for us to have when we checked in! Also, there were little things that I really valued - for example, when we gave a small tip (just $2) to the bellhop for bringing our luggage to our room, he seemed genuinely pleased to receive it. I don't remember the last time I have experienced that - nowadays, it seems like everyone expects to get a tip whether or not they actually deserve it. My only wish-for for this hotel is that it is in Yosemite vs. Mammoth Lakes which is further from SF where I live. Oh well; can't win them all. But, despite the extra 1.5-2 hour drive, I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing