We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
1 review
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I rarely write reviews, but was so impressed with this hotel, I felt I had to! The service was absurdly good - right when we arrived they valeted our car and checked us in while doing so. They asked us where we were eating dinner and suggested a shuttle to take us. The shuttle was promptly waiting 20 minutes before our dinner reservation. Small touches like this go a long way! The whole weekend we were continually impressed with the staff, the quality of the hotel, and the attention to details. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliisanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    313
    93
    49
    28
See reviews for
476
402
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CAQ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We just returned from spending the 4th of July weekend at this hotel and it was so enjoyable. Staff was very friendly and most accomodating. The concierge helped to make our 20th wedding anniversary memorable by making a reservation for us at a very nice restaurant. We ate in the hotel dining room our first night and the food was excellent. They offer a very ecclectic menu! The pool and hot tub areas were always busy and many guests were there with their dogs. Two nights in a row it appeared that one of our neighbors were out late to the dismay of their dog who whined quite a bit. Nothing that made you want to call the hotel manager. Our room was a small suite. The kitchen was complete with mini-fridge, dishwasher, two burner stove, coffeemaker & Starbucks coffee, & microwave. Our son slept on the sofa bed and claimed it was comfortable. Our bed was heavenly. Everything was in good working order. The bath was roomy with plenty of towels. There was a flat screen TV in the living room and one in the main bedroom. If we were to go back to Mammoth Lakes again we'd definately stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We decided staying in this great resort, because we needed a place for one night for our route from Las Vegas to San Francisco. We arrived there late in the afternoon and got a warm welcome from the very friendly staff by entering the lobby. The check-in was very quickly and we were really looking forward to have a look at our room, because we've booked the 2 bedroom luxury suite and let me tell you, the room was just amazing!

The luxury suite had 2 seperate bedrooms and each of it had its own large bathroom with bathtube and seperate shower. We had a large living room with a chimney and a large flat TV above it on the wall. Next to the living area was the fully equipped kitchen and a dining area. The 2 bedrooms and the large living area had all its own balcony with a fantastic view on the mountains. Every room was very clean and there was really nothing to complain about, it was just oustanding!

By the way the hotel offers free wifi and free parking. If you plan a trip with 2 couples, like we did, I can really recommend this hotel by taking the 2 bedroom luxury suite, because you pay less than booking 2 rooms and you get an awesome luxury suite you'll really enjoy. We've stayed there in October 2009, so I don't know about the winter rates, but during our stay it was an affordable price and worth every penny! The only bad thing about all of this was, that we only stayed 1 night there ;-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Nice room. Comfortable bed. Lots of amenities (most I did not use). Great location. Quiet. Kitchenette. This is a very nice hotel, but they hit us with an added "Resort Fee" of $25 each night "for the amenities." Well, in my opinion the "amenities" should be part of the original cost. Especially for amenities I did not use. Also, beware of the bellhops. They are like flies on honey looking for a tip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Arrived at the hotel after a long 7 hour drive from Las Vegas via Death Valley. The main reason we decided to stay here was due to the Mammoth Lakes central location of our route. We were planning to reach Lake Tahoe the next day via Yosemite but found that the roads to Yosemite were shut from the east due to rock and snow slides.
The hotel though offered the best room on our road trip as it had ample space and extras such as a kitchenette and fireplace with comfy sofas, but all looking very modern. Reception was very helpful and parking very secure, (free of charge self parking).
Dinner at the hotel was great (not cheap but all aspects served to a high standard) and service very friendly. The pool was still not open due to the season, but the hotel still offered various fitness and spa services.
When on a road trip you need some hotels to be a little bit special so you can recover for the next leg and this hotel offered such detail.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leethfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I will just say that everything about this hotel is beyond excellent! I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Mammoth! My comment isn't about the hotel, it's about other guest! It doesn't take a rocket scientist to choose what kind of room you want when making your reservation so don't wait until check in to "UPGRADE". After driving six hours we are tired and just want to get into our room but then we have those four out of five people in front of us who want an "UPGRADE" which causes the rest of us to wait longer to get checked in. Get a grip people! You aren't the only ones checking into this fine hotel so have some concideration for others!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Monache was a perfect retreat after a day in the snow. The one bedroom suite is small but well-maintained and terrifically comfortable. The heavenly bed lived up to the hype and the small kitchenette includes a small fridge, cook top, dishes, utensils, blender, toaster etc. so it's fully functional.

Overall the staff was friendly, except for the hostess (morning) at the Whitebark- she was pretty frosty, and seemed annoyed that I did not want to sit next to a column that blocked a view of the beautiful scenery. The valet got a bit backed up and the parking lot is tricky to navigate if you self park (narrow and windy). But none of this eclipsed my enjoyment of the accomodations and convenience ( to Canyon Lodge gondola and Village eateries).

My kids wished they had Disney Channel and a Nintendo game cube like at Embassy Suites . I have 10 year old boys and I could not convince them to stay at the Kid's Club because there was a TV showing a princess movie and an arts and crafts activity- WM should consider getting a Wii Player or something for the older kids. However, they liked the hotel.

From an adult perspective, the Monache is my new favorite reason to come to Mammoth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveorRant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing