We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, fantastic view and fabulous food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stop here on off chance, we was not disappointed, friendly valet, great check in, view over pool, small kitchenette, comfy bed, fireplace, etc. We then made way to bar, happy hour included half price drinks and food....lol. After a few rounds of beer, kobe beef sliders, fries, mac n cheese, we left satisfied that this hotel was the perfect choice, thank you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you ezzavon! We all appreciate you giving us the opportunity to provide our Westin Mammoth Experience. I am a big fan of the Sliders as well! I hope we see you again the next trip you make to Mammoth. Thank you for your business and this great review.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Monarch for 3 night in early Oct of this year. Three of stayed in on of the 2 BR condos. The room was quiet and cheerful but we had to call maintenance and housekeeping 6 times for repairs during our stay: the sliding doors off the track , wooden blinds broken, refrigerator wasn't cold/ freezer needed defrosting, part of coffee maker missing, light bulbs out, not enough hangers, etc.
The staff was very nice and service quick, but still...
We will go back , however.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1967WilliamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

WIlliam R, I want to apologize for your experience. Our staff is well trained and we use the latest problem resolution software to ensure all defects are resolved on the first call. In addition, every guest that calls our Service Express department with a defect or request is expected to receive a follow-up call. We have recently hired a new Front Office Manager and a new Guest Services Manager, both with multiple years of Westin Experience. I believe on your next trip back to Mammoth, our service will meet or exceed your expectations. Thank you for the feedback. I have sent your comments to the proper leaders and will have a follow-up conversation to ensure our SOP's are being followed.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the fourth time I have stayed at the Mammoth Westin, thought this is the first time I have stayed there off season. It was great. The staff is excellent and the accommodations are up to Westin expectations.
The only negative - I had expected the one bedroom to be a little bit larger. It is fine for up to two people, but think any more than that would feel a little crowded.
Check out the White Bark restaurant….same excellent service and most excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongBeachBoludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin 4 times, we all really appreciate your support. The non-ski season here is tremendous, with hiking, biking, running, fishing and so many other outdoor activities. Mammoth Mountain was just rated the #1 mountain bike park by outdoor magazine. OUr new Executive Chef appreciates the Whitebark recommendation! Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review; we anxiously anticipate your return, #5.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving, and were so happy when snow started to fall as we were about a mile away from the resort. I think our room was called a mini-suite. It had a large, king-sized bed, a couch and coffee table, fireplace, large window seat, an armchair, kitchenette, and spacious bathroom. The room was clean, nice and cozy, but with plenty of room for two people. It featured the Westin heavenly bed/bedding, and the signature white citrus/green tea scented toiletries.

The resort itself was beautiful. We had breakfast each day at the White Bar Restaurant in the hotel. I think we had breakfast coupons by virtue of the room we booked. Regardless, the staff was nice, and the food was good. The view from the restaurant is very nice, too.

The resort has a heated pool and two hot tubs. We enjoyed the hot tub, and the towels and robes provided down at the pool area.

The resort is located right at the village, so it was easy to walk over and shop and eat.

The resort has a shuttle which will take you in to town to shop/eat, etc. We took advantage of that, and it was really cool so that we didn't have to drive after dining/drinking in town. There is also a free bus that comes right outside the resort and you can take that up to the main ski resort.

The staff was very friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank You Smaim, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We are coming upon another Thanksgiving; hopefully you have made your plans to return. There is so much to do in Mammoth and it would seem like you had an active trip. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back soon!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

At the base of the Village Gondola, this the Westin is the only true resort hotel in Mammoth that is convenient to the Village and the Mountain.

The staff is superb. The on-premise restaurant is top notch and we all noticed the hotel GM had a close eye on the guests' experience.

If you have never been to Mammoth, this is for sure the best place to stay as you go out and explore what, wind permitting, is the best mountain in the US (don't worry, Whistler, I didn't say in North America :)).

We have stayed at this hotel for the last four seasons and the experience has never been short of excellent.

Room Tip: No need for a the upgraded room. The basic rooms all include a mini kitchen and a pull out bed for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_in_DC20005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you D in DC! You are a great ambassador for the Mammoth region and this hotel. I thank you for your continued support and we look forward to your return in 2014. By the way we have the best sushi in Mammoth at Whitebark! Thank you again for your business!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in the 2 bedroom suite. We were 5 adults and a dog. The room is spacious and clean, and we would love to come back again. Staff was very nice and dog friendly. Breakfast was not included, but is priced reasonably and was good as well. Pool area is great!
Overall it was a great hotel to come to after a long drive. Traveling around Mammoth lakes, which is very close, was very fun & amazing views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you Adi B! I am happy to read all the guests including your dog enjoyed the Westin Monache! There is so much to do and see while in Mammoth Lakes, and it would seem you had a nice mix of relaxation and adventure. Please come and visit us again the next time you are in mammoth Lakes!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place to stay!! Spent one night after leaving Yosemite. Great suite with full kitchen. Very comfortable bed, My only regret was that I could stay another night. The room even had a gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 156lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you 156lulu, I share your regret, I wish you could have stayed more nights as well. Yosemite is a beautiful part of the country and the Mammoth Lakes Basin provides such a great outdoor experience. The Heavenly bed will always make you feel well rested. Our mission try to provide the most renewing, personal & instinctive Westin experience for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $224 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing