We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night family vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in the 2 bedroom suite. We were 5 adults and a dog. The room is spacious and clean, and we would love to come back again. Staff was very nice and dog friendly. Breakfast was not included, but is priced reasonably and was good as well. Pool area is great!
Overall it was a great hotel to come to after a long drive. Traveling around Mammoth lakes, which is very close, was very fun & amazing views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you Adi B! I am happy to read all the guests including your dog enjoyed the Westin Monache! There is so much to do and see while in Mammoth Lakes, and it would seem you had a nice mix of relaxation and adventure. Please come and visit us again the next time you are in mammoth Lakes!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place to stay!! Spent one night after leaving Yosemite. Great suite with full kitchen. Very comfortable bed, My only regret was that I could stay another night. The room even had a gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 156lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you 156lulu, I share your regret, I wish you could have stayed more nights as well. Yosemite is a beautiful part of the country and the Mammoth Lakes Basin provides such a great outdoor experience. The Heavenly bed will always make you feel well rested. Our mission try to provide the most renewing, personal & instinctive Westin experience for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved the staff's smiles and attentiveness but the room was the cherry on top. We booked a studio with a kitchen and loved it. With a table for 2 and a granite covered counter, small fridge and stove it would have be perfect for a longer stay. The only issues I noticed with cooking was there is no garbage disposal and with carpeting in the kitchen area, that presents a problem with spills. But, I enjoyed the complementary Starbucks coffee pods and maker. I would highly recommend it for a weekend stay & simple meal making. Or, if your up for a great meal and skipping the cooking, the restaurant downstairs is fantastic!

The only real negative we encountered was spotty wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: I would a high floor room for a better view and a smaller room if you plan to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank married&inlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you Married&inlove, I really applaud your heading! We try to provide the most renewing, personal & instinctive Westin experience for all of our guests. The staff really goes out of their way to ensure they provide exceptional service and quality recommendations. The restaurant just got even better! Our new Executive Chef has arrived and has personalized the menu. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My family got a two bedroom suite (this is the standard one not the luxury) at the end of the summer in late August. The room was nicer than expected. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would want. You just have the run to the nearby supermarket which the resort provides a shuttle for.

The location was great, close to the village where they have tons of different restaurants even a decent Japanese sushi restaurant. Getting to the different hiking locations was easy using the free Mammoth city bus. However, we found the Resort shuttle more convenient and building a good relationship with the Resort shuttle driver was useful (with tips haha). If they weren't busy, they would do a drop off and pick up further out than what they would usually do.

All in all, this was a good relatively low cost trip with a lot of hiking and family cooking & bonding in a nice resort. I am rating this resort a "very good" instead of an "excellent" because I've been to resorts that are much nicer. Also, our shower drain was clogged up when we initially arrived so we had to call someone up.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you Jason, I appreciate you bringing your family all the way from MA. We are proud to be a Westin Hotel and our mission is to have you and your guests feeling better at departure than when you arrived. I apologize for the clogged drain; we should have caught that during the cleaning process. I will bring this issue to our housekeeping manager. I hope you and your family return to the area and the property, we would all enjoy seeing everyone again!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival by the car park valet.
We were given an upgrade to a beautiful seventh floor
Suite and had delicious steak dInner in the bar area.
Our car was promptly delivered the next morning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rudycootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you Rudycootie, I am happy to read all of our services were timely and professional. We have recently hired a new executive chef; I will ensure he sees the comment about the steak. At Westin we strive to provide personal, instinctive and renewing service. Thank you for your business and please return in the not too distant future.

Thank you
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here after a drive through Yosemite after coming from Bass Lake. This hotel is centrally located to everything in town and there is a ski lift outside the front door. I would think skiers would love that part - we weren't there to ski. We got in late and order some room service which was really good (as far as room service goes). Our room was spectacular and had a view of the mountains and ski lift. It had a full kitchen and stocked with everything you could possibly need while in the kitchen. Not to mention the in-room coffee pot with Starbucks coffee (YAY!). Did I mention the gas fireplace? Yup - nice way to warm up.

Bed was very comfy (extra pillows in the closet), nice flat screen TV and bathroom was stocked with extra towels. Our stay was amazing and we can't wait to go back. Already planning our next trip!!!

Oh and before we left we had breakfast in the restaurant - super yummy! Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you GInger, I am really excited to read you are already planning your next trip. The staff truly enjoys seeing familiar faces and helping continue to enjoy all the area has to offer. The gondola is perfect for skiing, and it is open on special events during the summer as well. It is the perfect way to get to canyon lodge. I am happy you enjoyed the heavenly bed and heavenly bathroom; these amenities set Westin apart from other hotel brands.

See you on your return, Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is a pleasant enough mountain hotel but beware they appear to have a no refund policy. We booked for five nights but needed to check out one day early. Even though we had asked for an accepted an upgraded room at check in and had informed them at that time that we would be checking out one day early we were not given any refund. If this is the policy of Westin then we will not be staying in one of their hotels again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Andy, Westin and this hotel have a cancellation policy, a refund policy and will work very closely with the guest to ensure they understand their reservation. Each reservation has a different policy depending on the type you chose. Some rates are discounted because they are non-refundable, while other rates allow for you to cancel or change with no restrictions. All Westins provide a wide range of rate options and packages so you the guest can build the type of experience you desire. I would explain your particular rate with more detail but the anonimity of this process makes it difficult. If you were not given a proper explaination, please call the property and we can research your specific reservation. I apologize this issue was not explained with more clkarity while you were on property.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $234 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing