We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, great location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a gem. First, this hotel is very new. It was built in 2006 and is modern and nice looking. It is located right next to the village which has shops, restaurants and entertainment. It really makes a nice center for Mammoth. You just go down about 2 flights of stairs and you are at the village and ready for a nice dinner outside on the patio in summer.

The hotel is dog friendly which is a double edge sword. We brought our dog and were welcomed. It was very nice to be able to travel with our dog. However, that means there are other dog owners there who are not so conscientious. So there is the occasional dog poop around. For non dog owners that would be a problem. This is NOT the hotels fault.

The hotel staff is very friendly and could not do enough to give us directions, help information or just play with our dog. They have free coffee in the lobby in the morning or in the room from a coffee maker provided. (nice touch). They also had hydrating water with fruit in it in the lobby. That was a nice touch.

I would highly recommend this hotel based upon its modern rooms, friendly staff, location and dog friendly approach.

Room Tip: We were put on a higher room which had a view. The hotel had lower occupancy so the elevator was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTeam, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our team's helpful suggestions for fun things to do with your dog. Many of us have our own dogs and spend our free time exploring Mammoth Lakes so we love to share our favorite experiences. Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

As always when you walk into a Westin property the quality is assured. Nice pool / spa. Family friendly. Restaurant was a bit pricey and I would properly chose to eat somewhere else next time, but you pay for convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here as an overnighter on our way from San Francisco to Las Vegas.
Seems like a great place for families on a weekend-stay.
Fancy restaurants and good food.
Room was big and cozy.

Did not have time to explore the area, but would imagine there is not a whole lot to do at summertime.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank johannesbergno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 bedroom junior suite at a reasonable rate in this perfectly-located hotel in Mammoth -- and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and well-appointed the unit was. We had a full kitchen, so we saved money on meals. The outdoor kidney shaped pool is large and beautiful, and the Westin is very well maintained. Also had TV's in 3 spots (popular for our guest, and our kid who slept on the fold-out couch in the living room). This was a great place to have a throbbing headache for a day from the shift from 153 above sea-level to 9500 (getting older aint for wimps). Hotel complex is directly across from the shuttle up to the Mammoth bike park and gondola (another tip: rent bikes here instead of farther away in town; and FYI, there is no "walking path" down from the very top of mammoth straight down, so start from the mid-point Gondola instead or your kids will fire for divorce).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came to hike in and around the beautiful mountains and lakes --and will return to this very good hotel. The location is excellent" right across from the busy village center. (If you don't want to hear bad to fair music --which is what we encountered-- request a room that is not opposite the square! Rooms and beds are very good, , although if you like to read, you may want to request an extra lamp in your room. The restaurant is like most hotel restaurants, quite okay and quite over-priced, except at happy hour, when drinks and h'ors d'ouevres are half-price. Very nice pool and hot tub area. To rise to the next level, however, the Westin needs to donate its scratchy towels and bathrobes to a deserving organization and provide better in-room services. There was no information about local restaurants, no guide to how to use the TV, and no one at the front desk who actively approached us asking if we needed advice about day trips, etc., etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love skiing and decided to try a ski resort in summer. Not only did Mammoth not let us down, the Westin was an excellent choice. I don't really like doing old, charming hotels. I am on vacation and want things to work, and be designed for me, now.

The hotel is extremely friendly and is right above the new village area, we arrived July 4th weekend so there were an abundance of activities in town (which surprised us).

Free Starbucks served in the lobby was a surprise. Hotel is super dog friendly - we didn't have one but every other guest seemed to - if you don;t like dogs bear this in mind.

We had a one bed suite which was compact but fine for a summer trip. Bathroom unit was really too small to be useful - you cannot balance anything on it, it is that small.

Generally however I didn't see anywhere else in Mammoth I would rather be. Very impressed and would love to go back in winter. Internet speed is poor but they discount the resort fee to take account of that.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front door don't really get the sun. 2nd floor has a lot of foot traffic t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

LOVED our stay at this pet friendly hotel. Many dog friendly hotels only allow smaller dogs like our Cocker Spaniel. However they could not have been more accomodating to our big blood hound as well. Upon checkin they provided dog beds (2 out of 2 dogs surveyed found them quite comfy). and dog bowls. There are plenty of grassy areas just off the property for potty trips (bring your poop bag). The room was fantastic! So clean. The Westin bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! I loved the kitchen. It had a stove, a microwave, fridge, dishwasher, and all the utensils/pans/dishes/etc you would need to cook a nice meal. Downside: No grocery store nearby. Service was 100% consistently perfect. From the front desk to the restaurant, bar & room service: I was very impressed. They even accomodated a special room service request off menu for my dogs. I was there during the summer, but if I still skied I would book this room in ski season because it is right near the gondola that takes you to the slopes. One downside: the 25$ resort fee was reduced because WiFi was spotty. However, the pool/spa were down for maintenance. So what exactly did my partial "resort fee" cover? I should have complained because this is a hotel - not a resort - one without a functioning pool, spa, shops, etc. On a positive: secure parking is free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $225 - $1,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing