We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A wonderful location, spacious and lovely rooms, comfortable beds, a kitchen, a balcony with a view, friendly and helpful staff, a heated outdoor pool and a good complimentary continental breakfast: I would love to stay here again! One drawback, however, for people who are allergic to dogs; the hotel is (very) dog-friendly and even if the rooms are spotlessly clean, you will notice that there have been dogs there before. Maybe the hotel could offer some 'dog-free' rooms so that even people with allergies could enjoy this remarkable place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Reception staff was very welcoming - offering champagne and hot cocoa at check-in. Pool was super warm, so kids could splash around in February while adults relaxed in even warmer spas and all enjoyed views of the nearby snowy mountains and trees. The location is ideal - across the street from the village with great restaurants, shops and the gondola that takes you to Canyon Lodge. All rooms are suites with mini kitchen, easy-start gas fireplace, and giant window seat large enough for a child to sleep on.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mammoth is a great mountain but unfortunaely accomodations worth staying in are slim. the westin is in a good location, a short walk down the stairs to the village where the gondola is to the canyon lodge. heres the unfortunate part, for a good hotel to stay in the westin is it and they know it. prices are high, service is average and the reaturant white bark lacks any type of service. the pool of employees for most areas are ski kids who want to work and ski. this limits quality employees to offer service and care. the other option is the village which is nice but no hotel services.

if you want a hotel stay in stay here but expect to spend more than avarage and get less than expected.

not to the westin standard

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love69totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from the Westin. The property is very nice, cozy, clean, with helpful staff. HOWEVER, I was shocked to find tons of dogs of all sizes being welcomed here. A Saint Bernard? Really? Seemed crazy to be sharing an elevator with large dogs. When there are pets there is poo. My little ones went outside to sled and I was appalled by the poo all over. Everywhere you looked there was either yellow snow or poo. Shame on the owners that don't clean up after their pets. Shame on the Westin for allowing it to go on!!!!

Also, do be aware if you are using SPG points. They have a 7 day cancellation / change policy that totally blew all our points we have saved for years, due to an unexpected need to leave early. Felt this was extreme especially when I know they rented our room on a sold out holiday and refused to refund any points. Won't stay again!

Room Tip: The rooms are equipped with a cooktop, mini fridge, sink, dishwasher and all the pots, pans, and tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Westin Monache Resort for your recent visit to Mammoth. We appreciate your feedback regarding our refreshing and relaxing hotel. We allow dogs up to 45lbs and we do our best to monitor the size of the dogs, however not all guests check-in their pet before heading straight to their guestroom. Thank you for your insights regarding our pet policy and we will look into ways to enforce the weight limit and remind guests to clean up after their pets. Should you have any additional questions in regards to our cancellation policy please contact us directly at brent.truax@westinmammoth.com. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you have a renewing weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Monache using Starwood points, so I don't have an accurate valuation as if I paid with cash - but the value ends up being about the same to me. We stayed in a 'deluxe studio' with a kitchenette and a fireplace with a view over the pool. It was a nice room, comfortable bed, etc. The room itself was about what I expected from a Westin - with the addition of a fireplace :)

As far as the location was concerned, it was a short walk down the stairs to the gondola, which was a quick ride up to Canyon lodge. Perfect! The staff was very accommodating; they had champagne out in the afternoon, and the bar was a great spot to sit and have a drink at night.

The location has 2 hot tubs, both of which are on the 2nd floor and quite large. PERFECT for after a long day of snowboarding. Would DEFINITELY go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to connect with us and offer feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us at the Westin Monache Resort- Mammoth. Thank you for your comments regarding the amenities in the guestrooms, comfortable Westin Heavenly Beds, and the additional benefits such as the hot tubs and afternoon festivities. We are very pleased to hear that you found our location to be a big perk and that you had no trouble getting to and from the slopes. Your comments regarding the helpful staff are much appreciated and if you would like to recognize any individual staff please let us know so we can inform them on how they were able to enhance your stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and located in a gorgeous setting among groves of trees, with views of the mountain. The rooms are very tastefully furnished.

We had problems with our room, and unfortunately few of the problems were solved during our three night stay there. The temperature in the room remained in the high 70's, low 80's F in Winter. Repeated calls for service brought helpful advice such as "turn on the air conditioning" or "open the window." Of course, in the middle of Winter in the Sierras, one's best solutions include turning on the AC and opening the window to cool down a room with malfunctioning climate control. I discussed this with the manager during check-out, and he said that he could only waive the $25-/day resort fee. I asked if he could adjust the room rate, and he said that he couldn't do so and apologized for the problems with the room.

There were other smaller issues with housekeeping not keeping the hallways or the public areas such as the pool and spa clean.

Service was very uneven among the staff. The bellboys were always helpful and courteous. The valets ranged from helpful to misleading. One valet told me that I couldn't self-park in the garage because it was really full. Several minutes afterwards, another valet told me to go ahead and self-park. I drove into the garage to find it nearly empty.

Unfortunately the restaurant staff for the breakfast shift made multiple errors on our orders on consecutive days. One morning I had to send back the overcooked, inedible eggs, only to receive replacement undercooked, inedible eggs. If a cook cannot manage to make proper eggs to order, he needs to return to cooking school or to the prep line before being allowed anywhere near the stove.

Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Westin, even though we were looking forward to escaping from the Mammoth Mountain Inn. We will not return to the Westin and will seek lodging elsewhere our next time in Mammoth. Westin corporation has lost another customer and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 626ALP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are very grateful for your comments regarding the beauty of the hotel and the gorgeous setting that is Mammoth. Our team of associates strive to provide our guests with a tranquil environment in which to relax and rejuvenate. We are very appreciative that you brought the issue with your HVAC in your guestroom to our attention while still on property and gave us the opportunity to have our Engineering Department take an assessment on the issue at hand. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you encountered these issues and did not have the perfect environment in your guestroom during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the culinary team here at the Westin and we will look into the preparation of our eggs for future guests. Overall we are very sorry to hear that you did not have the relaxing escape you deserved and would love the opportunity to show you what a stay at the Westin Mammoth should feel like should you choose to stay with us again. Thank you again for sharing your review, it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin Monache several times over the past few years and have to say that it "hits the spot" every time. They have to have the absolute best valet staff in the Eastern Sierras. As always, I arrived with an SUV full of gear and food and duffel bags and everything was up in room before we got there. This year they are now providing overnight ski valet and storage down at the Village so that you don't have to lug your skis back every day. The rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes. They even had a blender for our apres ski libations!!! Heavenly beds and gas log fireplaces in every room. Two huge outdoor jacuzzis big enough for 15 people each and an Olympic size swimming pool. They even have outdoor grills and barbecue equipment to sign out. For those who want to do more, they have a lovely little fitness room with televisions and towels. My favorite feature is the Whitebark Restaurant Bar and Lounge. That is where breakfast is served, they have a great happy hour later on and a fine dining restaurant at night. Everything about it just feels special. The breakfast service, however, does not seem to indulge those skiers who want to grab and go to get out onto the slopes, so, give yourself plenty of time if you intend to have breakfast onsite. Or, get room service. But, the food is great in any case. We are Starwood Platinum Preferred Guests and therefore got a free late check-out on the Sunday, which was a huge perk! Can't wait to get back there. Ski you soon!

Room Tip: The gondola view is great when they have music in the village on Saturday nights. You can comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretchenOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $205 - $871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing