We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, comfy, lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern california
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Easy, comfy, lovely”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at a variety of locations in Mammoth and the Westin Monache is our favorite overall for location, comfort and amenities. We usually try to get a one bedroom plus a den and that gives us two beds and a pull out couch for a lower price than the two bedroom and it's very comfortable for our family. There is a good restaurant downstairs with a fun bar scene as well. It's very easy to hop on the gondola up to the mountain or walk over to the village area for more restaurant and shopping options. We have not stayed in any of the other village locations though we usually have friends staying there and have heard many complaints about noise, broken elevators, etc. Never had problems like that at the Westin! When staying closer to Eagle, Canyon or the Main Lodge there are very few restaurant options and it is more difficult to get into the Village for dinner but it is usually more economical and if you like to cook at home can be a great option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igetaroundconb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    319
    94
    49
    29
See reviews for
480
411
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just spent this past weekend at the lovely Westin in Mammoth. It was great for a family with kids since they had a well stocked kitchenette which meant we could eat healthier and for a lot less than on the ski slopes. You're right outside the Village Gondola which gets you over to the mountain with ease.

It's also up to date and they thought of so many great things like have two big hot tubs along with a well heated pool so both the parents and the kids could enjoy some fun after a day of skiing. The staff is friendly and overall, just a nice vibe. Can't wait to go back in the summer!

Room Tip: If you have kids, definitely ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay here with a friend on a mountain bike trip. We were on the top floor and living it up. The kitchen was perfect for our needs.

The jacuzzi and bbq outside were clutch. Underground parking was perfect to keep our bikes with the truck. Had a great time and a memorable experience.

Didnt have much interaction with the staff and the hotel was pretty dead while we were there but didnt stop us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Westin Monache is a very convenient and nice place for ski travel in Mammoth. With the gondola conveniently located, you don't need to use a car at all once you check in. Just walk to the village and take the gondola right to the slopes. The service is good and the rooms are nice. Downside is that it is expensive (as is the on site restaurant) and the rooms are a little small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryPieSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm an SPG member and regular Mammoth visitor, and think this should be a Category 3, 4 at most SPG hotel. There is really NOTHING to do for kids, teens in the hotel other than the pool/jacuzzi. They need to add pool tables, ping pong tables, etc. The restaurant is extremely over-priced. There is a lot extra conference area rooms where all this stuff can be added. Nice hotel, but the steps down to the gondola are a PAIN and parking is also a PAIN. I can't believe all the people complaining about dogs! $25 resort fee is a rip-off

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic trip to Mammoth using our SPG points at the Westin. The hotel is very nice. We were pleasantly surprised upon check-in to find that our room was a generous size and included a kitchenette. It was the busiest time of year at the hotel yet the staff maintained their cool and handled the volume of guests very well. The hotel is located right near the village and gondola to the mountain. You couldn't beat the location. We enjoyed snow boarding, the tubing/snow play place, and sledding a number of times with our own sleds. We enjoyed a tasty dinner at Skadi, which I would highly recommend. Honestly, there are only positive things to say about the resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're used to a fantastic SPG experience, don't expect it here. The lobby has two podiums and a total of 9 seats. It is also the smallest lobby I have ever seen at an SPG hotel. We went after Christmas and the place was packed. Our check-in was supposed to be at 3:00 p.m.; we got our room at 4:00. We were comped drinks in the Whitebark Restaurant twice since we arrived at 2:30 and are Platinum members.

The lobby was packed with people wearing large coats and attempting to check in as well as all of their dogs. We were glad there was room in the bar to sit, but everything was crowded.

There are also only two elevators in the building. There were only a few times when the elevator wasn't completely full either of people or luggage carts the whole time we were there.

If you're going there to ski and have everything already booked in advance, then it is a great place to sleep. There is a small kitchenette on the top floors for those who wish to prepare their own meals. Be sure to bring your own spices. There are no salt and pepper packets.

Room service left something to be desired. Every day we had to call about something; no coffee service refilled, no tissues refilled, no ice bucket liner, no cream, etc.

The concierge desk was empty most of the day and the person staffing it was basically useless. For the real information about activities go to www.mammothmountain.com. That is all the concierge did.

The Whitebark Restaurant was decent, although, like everything else in town, the service was slow. There had been blizzard conditions a few days before we arrived and that had stopped the food service trucks from delivering to the town. Since we had time to kill before our room was ready, we tried to eat lunch there. We both had a little bit of altitude sickness and were looking for something bland to settle our stomachs. We ordered the fish and chips. We were told they were out of regular fries, but did have sweet potato fries. We approved the change and made our order. When the fish came out it turned out to be fried salmon (who every heard of such?). We promptly told the manager, who comped the meal and offered us an alfredo dish instead. Apparently, the cook didn't bother to tell our waitress that they were frying up salmon because they were out of cod.

The hotel has valet parking, a very small workout room (20 x 20), and a heated pool and large hot tub. There were no heaters or covered area between the hotel and the pool area. If you swam or hot tubbed, getting in an out were a challenge.

The hotel has a shuttle service to get you around town, but not up the mountain, at least not while we were there. They would take you and pick you up from the airport and the one local grocery store.

The grocery store, though not affiliated with SPG was always crowded and had many items that were sold out, especially bananas and other fresh fruit. The store does have a deli with fresh cooked items.

The local establishments in The Village are small and quickly became very crowded places, especially with all the people coming off the mountain to enjoy happy hour. Some of the restaurants had 2 or more hour waits for tables. The small restaurants felt even more crowded with everyone wearing their winter attire. There were no coat check stations. Skiers and boarders left their equipment outside wherever they found a place to stack them.

Mammoth was an awesome place to visit-- just don't expect what you normally get from a SPG resort. The resort fee does include the valet parking and the shuttle, but there really are not any other resort amenities on site. You can set up an in-room massage, but there are no spa facilities on site.

So, if you're going there for the snow fun in the winter, just be aware you and everyone else and their dogs will be there too. The rooms are great! Service is slow. If you can be patient and have planned out everything in advance, just add more time than you think it will take.

Room Tip: Suites on the curve of the building have more space and are laid out better than the other rooms. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHABtrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing