We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love the Westin at Mammoth Mountain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We love the Westin at Mammoth Mountain.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We used our Westin points and stayed 5 free nights (when you book 4 nights, you get the 5th night free!). We then spent $100 a night and upgraded to a one bedroom suite. We love this hotel. It is centrally located across the street from the Village where there are cute shops and restaurants. Most importantly, there is a free gondola right across the street from the hotel where you have a quick 5 min ride right into Canyon Lodge. The rooms in the Westin have a kitchen that is pretty well equipped with pots, kettle, blender, toaster, dishes, etc. We cooked a full breakfast in our room daily before hitting the slopes. They brought us humidifiers in both rooms, brought us up a DVD player so we could watch movies in front of the fireplace. There is a pool and hot tub (as well as gym) on the 2nd floor so we hot tubbed after skiing. They offer a shuttle service to the gondola also for those who don't want to do the stairs in their ski boots! We love this hotel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    313
    94
    49
    28
See reviews for
476
402
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great category 5 hotel that allows you to bring your pet for free! They offered a food and water bowl as well as a dog bed as well. All rooms are "suites" so they all come with a kitchen - dishes and pots were clean. Additionally, it is located right next to the gondolas so slope access was very easy. They offer complimentary continental breakfast to SPG members in the Whitebark restaurant. Valet parking is included but there is a pesky $25/night resort fee!

Room Tip: If you're planning on bringing your pet, ask for a room with a balcony. My dog enjoyed breathing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

located right across from the village, very friendly staff, nice kitchenette, probably the best hotel in Mammoth !
Will be back again for our fishing trip this summer.
Make sure you book directly with Westin, otherwise if you book from other sources, you might not get the Westin treatment. One of our friend booked one from another source and did not get the Westin amenities.

Room Tip: Make sure you book directly with Westin, otherwise if you book from other sources, you might not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in Mammoth over the summer and this resort was great. The suite we were in had a beautiful, and the staff was super accommodating.

Two things of note:

1) There are no ice machines... No really none! While they are more than willing to send ice up, or fill up water bottles at the restaurant, it is a pain.

2) They only have 2 washing machines and dryers for the entire complex, which I found odd since it caters to outdoors types and skiers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Probably the nicest place to stay in Mammoth. Very good friendly staff who will go out of there way to accommodate you. The hotel and the rooms are very nice. They'll let you have your dog there and there are dog sitting services in Mammoth. There is an adequate gym and a very nice pool and hot tub. The restaurant's food is poor quality and the service in the restaurant is lacking at best especially when compared to the service in the hotel. The location is 5 stars all the way and you can't beat the skiing there you're just going to pay a lot for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had had a couple of big days driving and after an amazing but long and windy drive through Yosemite and the Tioga Pass we arrived into Mammoth at dusk on a HOT summers day. The valet was immediately friendly and we walked into reception tired but were greeted with a smile and an upgraded view to our room.
The room was perfect for 2 adults, 2 kids and had basic cooking facilities. We didn't cook that night but were desperate for a healthy home cooked meal so we enjoyed going to the supermarket the following day and doing just that.
We ate in one of the restaurants in the village. That first night.
As the previous poster said there are steps but I guess you get that in a ski resort on a mountain? It wasn't anything too taxing but yes going up did take it out of you.
The village itself is so quirky they have lots of free games in the street ie: table tennis, skittles and all sorts of things like that. There was virtually no-one around so after dinner we settled down around 'the campfire' with a cocktail and just enjoyed the peace & quiet.
The Weston's pool and gym complex was great. While the kids and husband swam I was able to do a quick workout while watching them.
The rate was very reasonable but this is because it's out of season. It would be very expensive over the winter I'd imagine. But it was a great spot and a very relaxing place to take 2 days out if our 3 week drive holiday.
All the staff we met were so obliging. I can't rate this place high enough. It wa great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJANDLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property makes it's amenities available to local folks for the cost of a meal; the pool was overrun with ill-behaved, ill-supervised children who essentially screamed, yelled, threw things and splashed everyone in sight. Ruined our afternoon at the pool and no one at the hotel seemed to care. Won't stay there again . . . Oh, and under the headings of "truth in advertising," the website says just "steps to shopping." Yup, that's right! Steps, all 76 of them, steep stairs leading down to the shopping area. Coming up is the hard part @ 7,800 feet above sea level!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellasGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing