We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back and we'll be back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The first time we've had a stay at the Westin Monache was back in august 2008. We were on our way to El portal - San Francisco. It's been a great experience even tho' it's been too short (one night stay).
So we knew that we'd give it a try again. That's what we did back in august 2011. Tghis time weve had a 6 night stay on our way to Las Vegas.
And it was worth it!
Let's make it simple :
-High quality service (lobby, valet)
- Great location
- Decent fitness room
- Swimming pool
- Fast elevators
- Nice view
- Large suite with all the equipement you may expect (TV, micro wave oven, plates, glasses, coffe machine,ice maker, dishwasher....).
But there again, and we mean it, a VERY good service. We hardly move on to some less than 4 stars hotels. Compared to alla the other 4* or 5* hotels we've tried in the US, this one comes first.

A special thank to Karen who's tried to be so accomodating regarding the loss of our baggage (thanks American airlines ugly customers support).

Regarding it is locations, the Hotel is next to a small "village" wich features some animations, restaurants and small shops. Nothing huge but a cute place that's worth a walk & an ice cream @ Ben & Jerry's or else.

Town is not located too far away and the Hotel is even organizing some transportations solutions (free Westin shuttle) for you. Just ask the concierge! However, it makes it easy to shop at the nearest supermarket down there (restaurants ain't really good besides the Hotel's one).

If you feel like hiking (shuttles right next to the Hotel) or visiting Yosemite (1h away, car), June lake (20 mn, car) Monobasin (35 - 40 mins, car), or Bodie (1h away, car), this is also a perfect location.

The free high speed Internet was good enough to allow some (slow) remote desktop connections (better so far than what we had in various locations such as NYC or LA...).
By the wya, there is room for some improvements into room cleaning (it is good, but not perfect).

We've had a very pleasant stay at the Westin Monache and this is a place we keep on recommanding to our friend visting this area at summer time.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a good deal : swimming pool and fitness rooms are located there so you get a direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Fabulous hotel. Lovely comfortable suite with great views. Weather was grim so we snuggled up in front of the fire and watched a movie drinking the complimentary tea and coffee. Super comfy bed and great bathroom. Valet parking, helpful friendly staff, everything was perfect.

We went into the village to find dinner but everywhere was deserted (out of season I guess). Turned out to be a blessing as we ate in the hotel restaurant and had a fantastic meal. The restaurant is modern and contemporary with a nice buzzy atmosphere.

All in all an excellent, highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked this hotel because we planned a fly-fishing trip on the nearby Walker River. This property was awesome. We were upgraded upon our arrival without even requesting an upgrade. Service from the valet, front desk and restaurant staff was superb. We felt like we were staying at a Four Seasons. The room was so clean, very nicely appointed and modern. The pool and hot tubs were also super clean. Even the pool towels were soft and fluffy.

Room Tip: Book early. I'm sure this place gets booked when ski season arrives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Westin Monache Resort in Mammoth Lakes in a two-bedroom suite, booked online directly with the hotel, rates at $259 per night, excluded $63 a night in various resort fees and taxes. We felt our suite was well-furnished, spacious and quite decent value at $322 total price per night.

The bedrooms were nice and beds comfortable. The bedroom safe was too small and awkwardly shaped, tall but thin. This made it a bit difficult to put the laptop inside. There was enough room for paperwork but not enough room for a decent sized camera. The two bathrooms were spacious and well serviced. Water pressure in the shower as also fine.

The common room came with a table and 6 chairs, which were comfortable for sitting but strangely difficult to slide back from the table. You had to lift them up to get them to move back, this was a bit annoying but not a huge problem. The living room was furnished with a sitting chair, a very comfortable sofa bed and coffee table that would have been easy to move had we used it to convert the sofa into a bed. This area could have slept another two people without difficulty. The TV in the living room had no free channels, everything seemed to require extra payment so we didn’t watch television during our stay.

The suite included an outdoor patio with two iron chairs with no cushions, not comfortable for sitting and would have been freezing cold during the winter time. However, our view of the mountain was very nice, making the little balcony a nice place to spend time in the morning as the sun began to light up the area. The kitchen was very well-serviced and well-equipped to handle food preparation and cooking during a stay at the Westin. The fridge was deep and there was adequate cupboard space for handling food storage.

The suite came with free wifi, 6 bags of Starbucks coffee packs were stocked everyday and the central heating was quick and effective once the temperatures began to drop in the late evening. This Westin had a couple of decent pools, which we didn’t manage to try on this trip. Staff and the doormen were always friendly when needed.

Overall, we felt this Westin hotel was a less elegant/more functional resort that was adequately priced for the size and purpose of the two-bedroom suite. It is ideal for larger group sizes, four adults and two children but might have been cramped for space with six adults. The Westin Monache made a nice place to return to after full days of sightseeing in the Mammoth and Mono Lakes area and was a good enough to warrant recommendation.

Room Tip: The suites are well designed for 4+ people, ideal for families or small groups of friends seeking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Westin property and it was very comfortable. It had a small kitchenette and large bathtub. Bell guy was friendly and attentive. Prices are a little high at the restaurants so we went to some local favorites. Got a great deal, but when I called back to book the prices went up. Called back a couple hours later and explained the first quote and they gave it to us. Great for couples, families, or those traveling with pets.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JMHarris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

i was excited to stay at the Westin in Mammoth Mtn but was embarrassed that i was going to trapse in with my fish stringer, cooler, hiking boots and fishing attire until i actually DID it! we received the typical Westin hospitality with and outdoorsey flare. everyone was so helpful with the large amount of gear we had and at the end of the day, very interested about how many fish we caught etc! what a nice visit we had fishing in Westin style!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pnishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamthgrl, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Glad to hear you enjoyed what so many of our guests have shared with us… they love pairing the luxurious accommodations here at the Westin with Mammoth Lakes outdoor adventures. We really enjoy providing services like assisting with gear so that you can unwind and are ready to delight in another day in the beautiful Eastern Sierras. Hope to see you next time you are back in Mammoth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very well located for a visit to the wonderful Mammoth Lakes region, with all the charms of a first class mountain Hotel. From the architecture to the comfort of the rooms and all the services you may need during your stay, everything is very pleasant. I strongly advise to stay in the hotel a few days while visiting this breath taking Region.

Room Tip: In all locations inside the Hotel where I have been there is always a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmfalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
857 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $203 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing