We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We all loved this hotel. A family of four shared one room with a pull out sofa, and it was very comfortable. Our room was immaculate with a small, full kitchen stocked with pans, dishes, utensils, cutting board, everthing you could possibly need and think of. The countertops were granite, and all finishes were impressive..beautiful room all around.
We spent the mornings either fishing or hiking then spent the afternoon at the pool. There are 2 jacuzzis and a great pool service. Their peach mojito was really, really good.
The staff was so attentive and provided an excellent service, truly! The hotel has happy hour from 4-6p.m., but not much food specials (better for drinks). The location was superb as the village was literally just steps away, and there was free internet use in their business center. We couldn't have asked for a better stay!
The only small complaint was the loudness of the refrigerator. Even it was turned down to minimum, it would kick in and woke me up sometimes during the night.

Room Tip: Become a rewards member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were here last year at the same time for the Bluesaplooza and our stay was once again fantastic! Last year I gave it only 4 stars b/c of billing issues but this year, everything went perfectly from check in to check out.

Besides the comfortable rooms with the heavenly beds, the whole feel of the hotel is so understated, unpretentious and welcoming. As all hotels should be, right? With out requesting, we got room 726 again, coincidental luck. As I expressed our pleasure of getting the same room last year, we were informed of the larger size. Rooms ending in 26's apparently are larger and roomier than regular studio rooms. We saw our friends studio, it is smaller but they had cute bay window with cushioned bench which we didn't have. Anyway, both studios are really nice with roomy bathrooms and fully stocked little kitchenette. It's home away from home atmosphere.

More important than the comfort of the rooms are the people who work there. Buck @ the concierge's desk is wealth of information and offers great recommendations. Utilize him. Be patient though b/c he's always got someone at his desk and he doesn't rush you or brush you off to get to others until you're ready to move on. We just kept coming back to see when he was free. The servers in the White Bark restaurant were all terrific too. I forget their names but everyone of them were wonderful, even for our large group. We were a party of 12 and we would all trickle in at different times for happy hour and they'd bend backwards to accommodate us. BTW, the happy hour is the best there! We didn't miss one happy hour in the 4 days we were there. The price, quality and service can't be beat!

I have nothing but praise for this hotel but if one were to complain...be prepared to pay resort fee of $25.00 a day. Honestly though, not a big deal b/c it pays for parking, wifi and shuttle service. Once you park your car in the covered garage, you really don't need it again until you check out. Oh yea, you also have access to the gym, small but efficient. Nice pool area and 2 big hot tubs. We also did yoga Saturday morning out by the pool, great way to start out the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Traded Starwood points for a studio suite on the 7th floor, which has a great scenic view of the mountains and pool area. Despite the points, there still is a $25/day resort fee for parking & wifi.

Overall, this is a great property in a prime location as it is just steps from the Village with shops, restaurants & gondola ride. My friends and I brought our small dogs (both <15 lbs.). Other guests brought large dogs of >40 lbs, which is the usual weight limit at most hotels. So, not sure if this hotel has any pet restriction or if they just welcome all pets. The hotel provided a huge "heavenly" dog bed and bowls with a placemat.

There is a fireplace in the room, which was not used given that it's summer time. There is a sofabed, which we didn't use. Instead, the 3rd guest slept on the huge sitting area by the floor-to-ceiling panoramic window. If you're 5" or shorter, that area will comfortably suit you.

The rooms are long & narrow. While it is rather compact, it does not look small due to the tall ceiling, which is ~50% higher than normal.

There is an in-room massage service, but we never used it.

Here are some raves & rants:

Raves
1) Great location - next to the Village. In the summer, there are free movies and concerts over the weekends.
2) Great jacuzzis - I can imagine that the 2 side-by-side jacuzzis can easily get crowded in the winter season as guests unwind after a long day of skiing. In the summer, 1 of them is sort of used as a kiddie pool.
3) Great restaurant - in fact, one of the best, if not the best in Mammoth. Whitebark Restaurant is a high-end sushi restaurant with a gourmet twist (so it's not the typical sushi rolls soaked in tons of sauces). There is a Happy Hour special, offering certain menu items at 50% off.
4) The soaps are shaped like a leaf, which is cute & fun.
5) Decent workout room with quality equipment, TV, and free water bottles.
6) Lunch is served at the pool in the summer.
7) The studio suite has a fully-equipped kitchenette with granite countertop, dishwasher, mini fridge with freezer & built-in ice maker, cookware, flatware & silverware, 2-burner cooktop. The hotel provides a little bottle of dishwashing liquid, but no sponge or dishwasher detergent.
8) Pool has kickboards and noodles for kids.

Rants
1) $25/day resort fee is steep.
2) The pool is not well designed in that the larger side is 5" deep. Most guests (kids & adults) were playing in the 3-4" area, which is the smaller end. So, during certain hours, there's a crowd in the shallower area.
3) Inconsistent water pressure & A/C. As more guests checked in over the weekend, the water pressure & A/C takes a toll and do not perform adequately.
4) No "heavenly" bed: The bed is definitely not a "heavenly" bed. Quality mirrors Sheraton Four Points' lower standard. Pillows are too soft.
5) Inadequate counter space in the bathroom.
6) Cutting corners: The hotel definitely cut corners on certain items like (a) watered-down shampoo packaged in cute little bottles; (b) bathtub/shower with curtain replaced the usual Westin separate soaking tub & shower with glass doors; (c) toilet paper is thinner than those found at a gas station; (d) only 2 soft towels with the Westin logo while all others are rough and smaller.
7) Insufficient lounge chairs & umbrellas at the pool given the size of the property.
8) Garage is a circular maze in tight quarters.

Despite the rants, I would still return to this hotel for its location and amenities.

Room Tip: Request higher floor rooms to get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWithRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was our first stay at a Westin and our first trip to Mammoth Lakes and neither disappointed! The Westin is a beautiful hotel located right in Mammoth Village. The proximity to restaurants and shopping is great and the hotel was decorated very nicely, trendy and also classey at the same time. Pool is simple, but nice. Our studio room was big enough for our family of 4 (2 toddlers). Kitchenette is a great feature--granite counters, fridge, microwave, stove, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker...all we could ask for! We will definitely be staying there again next summer and look forward to checking out more Westin properties.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneTravelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Lovely room with alll amenties. Helpful staff and great location for the village square which is just across the way. Pool was very pretty if a little chilly - but then we had come from death valley!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Westin for two nights. The package we purchased was a promotion for 40% off for the second night. We have been staying in Mammoth for over 30 years. This was our first time at the Westin. Overall, we found it to be a nice well run resort. The rooms have a nice contemporary decor and extras like a kitchenette for those who do a little cooking. Aside from shreeking children at the pool, the place was quiet and seemed well insulated between rooms and floors. There is a restaurant and bar there. The drinks are a bit on the pricey side. Example: a mixed margarita with Patron goes for $13.50.

For us, the location was a hugue bonus. The resort is on a hill about 100 yards from The Village center, which has shops and restaurants. We went to Gomez' Mexican Restaurant (standard Mexican fare - a bit chaotic with service), Old New York Bagel Company (good food - fast service), Ben & Jerry Ice Cream and Starbucks. You can also rent bikes or take bus/shuttles to most local destinations from there.

The resort staff there was friendly and service was good. Of all of the places to stay in Mammoth Lakes, this is probably the nicest. Finally, as you might expect, the Westin will add on resort fees and occupancy tax of about $50 per day of your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was very comfortable and nothing fancy, but very nice. Our unit had a small kitchen and living room. The location is right across from the village. We did have an issue at check in where our room wasn't ready until 4pm when their checkin is 3pm. The service has been wonderful. The hotel does offer a guest laundry on the lower level as well as a ski concierge during ski season. There are probably more luxurious accommodations with either a condo rental at 80/50 right in the village or a rental home outside the village area. If you're looking for a hotel situation right in the village, the Westin seems to be the best in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
867 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $202 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing