We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£25 ride for non-skiers. .”

Eleven53 Interpretive Center
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“£25 ride for non-skiers. .”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The views weren't great as the weather wasn't so good up there, though it had looked clear from the ground. A few displays, but not much else.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kitanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Views... only views”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

You pay $25 a pop to see a view. This is also through a window. The museum isn't much. There were no staff there when we went up. The cafe was not open either. None of this was really told to us until we went up there.

The value on this isn't there. To me it is really expensive to get up to the top just to look and snap pictures. Not much views like this though which is why I wanted to go really.

There is so much that could be done with this that is boggles my mind on why there is so little. I would love to see an open deck where you can look in a 360 degree view and a good spot to eat along with a better museum and history of the area. Add in somebody to give a history of the area which is rather interesting and unique due to water rights and mining. Everybody who buys a lift ticket has access to this also so it just isn't relegated to scenic gondola riders only but also mountain bikers, skiers and snowboarders.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a must do. The views from the top are breath taking. The museum at the top is just ok, but the Gondola ride up and the views are well worth the money. It was a lot of fun for our kids they had a great time on the ride up and looking down the mountain. Going up was a little scary for me (afraid of heights) but going down I was much more relaxed. A great experience for all ages!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nicely Done!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Take a look at the other peaks and get a great panorama of the whole area! Buy a hot chocolate and enjoy the view!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LHABtrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool place to check out winter or summer!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not a lot of views like up there! Summer or winter it doesn't matter. A must see in Mammoth. Everything from the thigh desert to the Sierra range.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taurus247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven53 Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Eleven53 Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing