We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Mexican food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Loco Frijole

The Loco Frijole
Ranked #35 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valley Center, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We tried it based on the reviews. The food was excellent, service great. This is a small family run restaurant that offers truly good food at reasonable prices. Better than Gomez's or Roberto's, which are very over priced for what they serve. Loco Frijole will be getting their liquor license soon, so cold beers are coming. My wife had shrimp tacos and I had the taco and tamale plate. Chips and salsa are served complimentary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyagerbombero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican hide-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was a great authentic family-owned Mexican restaurant. We talked at length with the owners and were pleased to find out that all the food, salsa, etc. are homemade. The food was awesome and the service was just as good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just what I was looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Started with a fish ceviche to stadia that was bright, fresh, and flavorful. Added an al pastor and birria taco. Both tacos were amazing! The pastor was sweet and melted in my mouth. The birria had a nice spice kick from the sauce.

Awesome meal...and with a drink was just over $15.

Amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasty Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I drove by this place last night and noticed quite a few cars in front so I decided to stop there and try it for lunch today. I just had a couple tacos (Al Pastor and Shrimp) ala carte and was very pleased at the quantity of meat, the overall taste and presentation. The people at the next table had burritos and they were HUGE. I'd definitely go back to this place and highly recommend it for a tasty meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UltimateSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some of the best Mexican Food I've eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The restaurant used to be located in Bishop, CA. The owners decided to relocate to Mammoth Lakes as that is where they reside. The restaurant has only been opened for a couple of weeks. The steak and chicken fajitas are excellent, as is the lobster burrito. So much food! And, you must order their Mexican guacamole which is excellent. ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizbethgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loco Frijole also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Loco Frijole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing