We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic atmosphere and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin

The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin
Ranked #15 of 88 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we walked in we knew we were into a winner. A selection of their desert pies are in the entrance way and make you think twice about having a main course and just jumping straight to dessert!

Within seconds of being seated we had glasses of water and biscuits and muffins on the table - the latter included in your meal price. Excellent value.

Both of our meals were delicious - I had the fried chicken and my friend the pot pie. You get a side of your choosing with your meal - the mushrooms are to die for!

Finally we had to have a slice of homemade apple pie, which we had as take out. Wow. Simply wow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sb8905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    82
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, Ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We recently had breakfast at the Stove. The service was fast and everyone was friendly. My daughter and I ordered pancakes and my husband order the Sierra skillet. The food was passable. I'm not sure if I would make a special trip to eat there, however if I were already in the vicinity I would pop in.

Helpful?
Thank modernclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. He said it was under new ownership, locals go there, you can get breakfast for dinner, and it's home cooking/comfort food. We did go for dinner. With every meal, you get muffins and biscuits. You also get a choice of about 12 different side dishes. The waiter did a great job giving us recommendations of what to order including how to get it prepared and what sides are the best in his opinion since it was our first time here. Overall, we liked everything and would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been going to the Stove for a number of years and have never been disappointed. Visited over Memorial Day weekend and had the fried chicken, which was excellent. A half-chicken fried perfectly and very juicy, along with the pan-fried potatoes. Two others had the prime rib which was also tasty. Prices are fairly high, but that's everywhere in Mammoth. Breakfast is also very good. Big portions of all the favorites. Consistently one of the best restaurants in Mammoth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers and rips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The Stove might look rather unspectacular from the outside, and even after you enter you might wonder if you made the right decision, but then you order the burgers and / or rips and you don't want to leave anymore!
We travel quiet a bit every year and that a food outlet is memorable is rare, but The Stove will stay in our memory, so both thumbs up!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccwestcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing