We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit #512”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
“Unit #512”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed at 1849 Condos for many years (decades actually!). We have stayed in many units and this gorgeous condo is our top choice. We highly recommend this unit to others. It has a beautifully updated kitchen and bathrooms, the furniture is comfortable, homey and cozy. The unit is spacious, very clean, has a very well supplied kitchen, awesome, comfortable beds and has a warm mountain feeling. We always would come up during the winter. This past 4th of July was our first time going during the summer…and it will now be a family tradition.

The 1849 Condos are perfectly located for either winter or summer. It is right across the way from Canyon Lodge where you can walk to the chair lifts. During the summer it is very close to many beautiful hiking areas and Devil’s Postpile. Thank you to the owners for sharing this beautiful condo with others!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The property is slightly away from the main action of the small town. The property itself is okay, but the road to the various units is awkwardly shaped.

The unit that we stayed in was comfortable for six people. The unit was okay in itself, seemed like they owners had swapped out the stove, microwave and the refrigerator. However, for some reason, the sofas in the living room smelled of smoke and it could be the result of being in proximity of the fire place.

The most uncomfortable part was the beds. The beds were completely uncomfortable, even the sofa beds were totally uncomfortable. With two teenagers and two seniors in the group, we had no happy campers.

The three stars are for the size of the unit.

With other accomodation options aplenty, will not likely repeat the stay.

Room Tip: Try a unit at a higher floor. Will be able to open windows as a result of being on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, Manager at 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your recent stay. As all of our units are privately owned and differ greatly, we would love to hear what unit you stayed in so we can relay this issue to the proper owner. Also, if we were notified of the issue during your stay, we could have tried to remedy the problem with mattress pads that we keep for this very reason.

If you would like to email me the unit number it would be greatly appreciated. We also would like to offer you a discount on any future stays. Hopefully we can make it up to you.

marketing@1849condos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are planning an August visit, once again, to Mammoth Lakes. This is our 4th vacation to this unit in the 1849 condos. This particular unit is warm, cozy, yet has a little of a rustic feel, in the way of making you feel you are in a mountain cabin. The large windows look out into huge pine trees which give a feeling of being nestled in the pines. Everything one needs is available in this condo, including a pool and two jacuzzi's. The personnel is friendly and helpful. It is especially nice because it is located at the far side of the complex. In the summer, it is quiet, and off the beaten path, but near enough to be close to anything one may wish to do.

Room Tip: The parking is right outside the front door and the back part of the complex is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manhattan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed last year at two cabins with our group and had a blast. The accomodations were excellent and the staff was very helpful. They also have a nice pool facility with multiple hot tubs (which the kids loved) and had a picnic area which we used to BBQ. It is very close to the slopes and was not crowded.

Will definately be coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great centralized place to stay. Mammoth has a lot of outdoor activities and the 1849 condos are right in the middle of town. I went in spring and it is really slow, so if you don't want to be bothered by a lot of people it's a great time to go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just completed our fifth Spring Vacation trip to Mammoth, second staying at the 1849 Condo complex. Due to the age of the grandkids, two of whom were not around for trip number one, we wanted proximity to the lifts, the ability to hit the slopes and have nap time as well. The 1849 Condos met those requirements. Our space, while somewhat dated, was large and gave us lots of room to rattle around while not on the slopes. The hot tubs were a hit, as was the foosball table. The snow banks in the shade of the building were perfect for the little guys to sled and throw snowballs. The office staff was very helpful, making sure we had all the towels and equipment we needed. The also had lots of ideas for future visits and were a great resource for mountain information. The mountain casual style of dress fit the place to a tee. The proximity to Canyon Lodge was the initial draw. The feel of the facility will probably bring us back. Since the units are individually owned, the level of upgradedness, if you allow this term, varied greatly. I would guess we were dealing with original equipment, from the massive microwave to the flowered wallpaper. More than three coffee cups would have been nice, but not a deal breaker. We were there to ski, not play Love It or List It. One of the best parts of staying in this location was the quiet. I wasn't sure if we had any neighbors because we heard no one. The staff said they had a good crowd, but it never felt or sounded that way. I'm guessing we'll be back, unless my son and family decide to flee California and return to civilization.

Room Tip: Study the map. There are several buildings, each with a different feel. Phase I is closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great place, great location! Clean and great floor plan. Had 2 kids with us and they were happy too. We heard about this location from a friend. It was only a 5 minute easy walk for us and the kids to the canyon lodge. We went home for lunch!. Parking was also very easy. Hot tub is easy to get too, but bring some flip flops.

Room Tip: Choose 511
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanab139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mammoth Lakes
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge

Property: 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge
Address: 826 Lakeview blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1849 Condos offers privately owned 2-3 & 4 bedroom units that are conveniently located just steps from the slopes in the winter, and just a short drive to the lakes in the summer. After a long day on the mountian take advantage of our pool and 3 hot tubs ready and waiting for you, or simply relax by the fire in your fully furnished condo.We pride ourselves with making your stay the most memorable ever, with customer service that strives to be the best year after year. Dont take our word for it, see our top ranking here on Trip advisor.We hope to see you soon! Stay close, play close! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1849 Condos At Canyon Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing