We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again”
Review of Holiday Haus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Haus Motel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here earlier this week and were completely disappointed with our experience there. When we first went to check in, there was only one person in the office who im almost positive was the manager. She was extremely rude and made us feel very uncomfortable. We knew some people who lived around the area and she continuously repeated how she didnt want to see anyone else there besides my boyfriend and I. She was basically accusing us of inviting people over when we hadn't even gotten our room keys yet. She also was very hesitant to give us the hotels wifi password because she assumed we were going to give it to the employees staying in the housing area next door. When she was finally giving us the room keys, she said multiple times that if anything was broken, missing, or not the way it should be, she was going to charge us extra. We were so upset and irritated at this point we didnt even know what to say. So we spent the first night (we were staying there for 2 nights) and left early in the morning to go out. Although we didn't have plans for half the day we decided to stay out anyway because we were so uncomfortable at the hotel. We didnt want to spend anymore time there than we had to. We went back to our room later that night to sleep and were checking out the next morning. When we were packing the next morning there were THREE spiders that happened to appear all at once. One on the bed, one on the ceiling, and one on the wall. We got out of there as soon as we zipped out bags. It was honestly the worst experience we've ever had, mostly thanks to the manager. also, another issue was that my itinerary said there was a mini fridge and when we got to the room with drinks there was nothing to put them in as there was absolutely no mini fridge. I am so, so unhappy that I had to give this hotel my money and really wish I could get it back as they did NOT deserve it. I would have rather slept in the car than be treated the way we were. We were not guests here. And I hope we never have to feel that way at a hotel again. Needless to say, we will never return to this hotel, and will make sure to let anyone we know to never stay there either.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lgaertner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Holiday Haus is such a great location being walking distance to the Village. The rooms are very clean and spacious. They provide free coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, bagels and toast which helps get you ready for the slopes. The staff was very helpful and informative. It snowed 2 feet while we were there and staff was efficiently clearing the snow and offered equipment to help get the snow off our truck. The walls are thin and noise can be something to keep in mind but considering the location and price Holiday Haus can't be beat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank prncess4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is one of the hidden good places to stay in Mammoth. Very close to the Village lift and also Nevado's restaurant, you may never have to leave this place for easy access skiing and great, if expensive, dinning. The motel price, though, is very good for Mammoth, the parking convenient, the Jacuzzi works and the rooms are clean. The TV could be bigger and closer to the bed/chairs, but this is minor. The free breakfast is adequate. We appreciate talking with the same staff over time - we seem to deal with Patty most times and she is very nice and accommodating. Also nice now, is that you can do the whole booking from the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here years ago & they have really cleaned it up well, plus the maid service is good. Pat's still a bit aggressive but she's efficient & gets the work done. As I did call late one night, there was a lot of banging upstairs & she stopped it fast :)
Josh was personable and helpful when I checked in late Saturday.
Like the extra touch, fresh bagles, yogurt & tea/coffee in the morning.
I'm coming back again as mammoth is my ski town.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you don't what to here walking. I like downstairs, personally. I will be trying othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The staff was very friendly, and waited an extra 30 minutes for us to arrive the first night we were in town. We appreciated that effort. The rooms are average size, so it was just enough space for us, two adults and two kids. There is no closet, which means things start to spill out into the room a bit. Large bathroom, but smelled a bit old and musty. The sink was cracked, so you can tell things are a little dated. Overall things were very clean -- sheets and bedding, etc. Housekeeping did a nice job. Small microwave and small refrigerator were nice to have in the room. The gas fireplace is nice to have. Helped dry our ski gear at night. The walls are definitely not soundproof. Thankfully they didn't seem 100% full the three days we were there. But we could definitely hear the people next to us and above us, which I personally find distracting -- especially at night. The hot tub is small. We didn't use it, but it looked relatively clean. No view of anything from the hot tub by the way. Breakfast includes bagels and English muffins with a toaster, yogurt, coffee and hot water for either tea or hot chocolate. Nice to have as an option, but obviously not a huge variety. Very little seating space in the 'lobby' -- only six chairs total I think plus two stools. So on full weekends, you'd have to bring food/drinks back to your room. The wifi worked well at times, not as well at other times. But nice to have internet access. Re: being within walking distance of the village, I'd caution people. While it is close to the corner, you still have to walk up a steep driveway to leave the property, then walk along a very busy four lane road. And in the winter time, there is no access to sidewalks. So you're walking right next to cars who can't see you very well. A little dangerous. So we opted to drive up the street and park closer to the village. All in all, it met our needs for the weekend and didn't cost us a fortune. So we were happy. I just wouldn't want to be there on a really crowded weekend.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet, rooms on the second level and the ends of the building are probably a better op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tahoe_ski_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a great time,hot tub could of been cleaner.Great location ,very friendly and helpful staff.Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends .The fire place in room was very nice added bonus to room ,also the complimentary breakfast was a great start to our da

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MIKEANTHONY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very cozy yet spacious. We were within walking distance of the village and the breakfast in the morning was very convenient. Didnt get to use the hot tub because we went to the hot springs but the tub looked great. Will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jbirdwr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
883 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Haus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Haus Motel

Address: 3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $116 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Haus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Haus is located where the action is in Mammoth Lakes. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Village at Mammoth where you will find restaurants, shopping, mountain biking and of course mountain access via the Village Gondola for skiing and snowboarding. During the summer months, we are in close proximity to the many music venues, including Bluesapalooza and other Village events. If you want easy cross-country skiing, mountain biking with minimal hills or walking trails, a trail for all is accessible via our property. As a recently updated property with a variety of room types and price points, we welcome you to come and stay with us for some fun in the mountains. We will also provide advice on things to do and will book your activities with no commissions or fees (back to us). For instance...have you been on a horse with your family and friends? Don't miss out on an opportunity to ride horseback on an easy, fun and beautiful trail ride from Red's Meadow to Rainbow Falls. We hope to you see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Haus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Haus Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing