We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Haus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Haus Motel to your Saves list
Holiday Haus Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly and a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel did not appear on travel sites so we had to search around and came across their website. Can't book online and we ended up phoning which was a little annoying but in the end worth it.

Chad and Patty were friendly and helpful, and the room was a good size. It backed onto the forest and we enjoyed looking out trying to spot bears! (we didn't see any).

Mammoth Lakes is a nice place to stay in stunning scenery.

The only letdown was the small breakfast but we didn't pay very much for the room anyway.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and letting everyone know about your experience at Holiday Haus. We're glad to hear that you treasure the stunning scenery of Mammoth Lakes as much as we do! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was a little worried about booking here when I had a very hard time getting someone on the phone, but I'm glad I waited a few hours and made the reservation. We were planning a backpack trip nearby and I REQUIRE a good night's sleep in a comfy bed the night before. I was very happy to arrive and find the king bed had a memory foam topper that made it a dream to sleep on. Also, the room was very large and included a fridge and microwave. The location across from the village and several restaurants was super convenient. They did a great job on their renovation, selecting materials and colors similar to the Hyatt we recently stayed in! The only things that could still be improved: we sleep better when it's cool, and the ceiling fan in our room was by the fireplace, so it didn't really help us cool off, even with the window open; the free breakfast wasn't really worth bothering, unless you only eat bagels or store-bought mini muffins, which looked okay. We didn't expect to find much of a free breakfast since our room rate was so low, so this wasn't a big deal. But I wouldn't want a family to expect they'll be able to skip breakfast out. With the fridge and microwave in your room, however, you could bring your own! All in all, the motel was definitely a great value at the price paid. Unless you are looking for the extra amenities of the Westin, save your vacation money for a trip on the gondola and stay at Holiday Haus instead.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms have a king bed. The rooms that face the street back up to a quiet wooded area, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks again for staying with us at Holiday Haus this summer. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate knowing what your thoughts are on how we can improve the hotel. Please come visit us again soon in Mammoth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've stayed here for many years on annual fishing trips to the Mammoth Lakes area and have always enjoyed the good value and central location. It's been "well-worn" for a number of years but always served our purposes just fine. Now last summer they completely renovated the place and it has really improved with room prices still one of the best deals in the entire Bishop to Lee Vining area. Having only 15 rooms, it's a small motel but the rooms are very large and two are big enough "cabins" (still just large motel rooms to me - not free standing cabins) that they have complete kitchens with full frig, stove, etc. They now also have a free, very adequate continental breakfast and free wifi in the rooms which are nice additions. Located on Main St. it's still in a quiet section but within easy walking distance of restaurants, shopping, etc. Set among the trees and down off the street, it's a little tricky to see from Main St. if you're not familiar with the area. Just look for the distinctive large sign hidden somewhat in the trees but close to the street and then a sharp driveway down into the place. Parking is limited for the number of rooms but adequate. New flat screen TVs with a large cable selection is also new and welcomed. All in all, a good place to stay whether fishing, skiing, biking or whatever in this beautiful region of California.

Room Tip: If interested in rooms with complete kitchen/dining area ask for either Room 14 or 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Haus earlier this month. Thank you for your insightful comments. We hope you'll return to Mammoth again soon and come stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a great 2 nights and plan to return. Beds were great, clean, large bath, and since we were on ground floor we had a gas fireplace.The place was full but all was quiet. We have spent as much as we spent in 2 days for one night and it was not half as nice or as clean.

Room Tip: Only 10 - 15 units make reservations ground floor is our choice for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest at the Holiday Haus and letting everyone know how much you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel that is very comfortable and close to everything in Mammoth. It is not huge and has nice views. Rooms are nicely decorated and have small a small fridge; micro and flat screen t.v. as well as internet. The rates here are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halemano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Haus! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed here a few times...and the front desk person has always been testy and a touch eccentric, but this time her eccentricity has exceeded to the point that rudeness is a mild word for her. Check out time is 11 a.m.....do not by any means make a mistake that it is noon...it started by my guy going off to go skiing and I stayed back to wait for him...at 10:15, the maid tried to gain entry to the room, without knocking...just using her key...I had it double bolted..so then she started pounding...I went to the door, and was asked if I was going to check out...I explained that yes, I was going to check out, but a little later. At 11:05 , she again pounded on the door...and I again explained that I would be checking out in a little while.. ( remember, I had thought checkout was noon)...I shut the door and not 5 minutes went by when another pounding...I opened the door and it's the front desk person...she pushes past me into the room...looks in the bath and all around and then turns on me and gets in may face and yells that checkout is 11...I apologize, and very taken aback I explained that I made a mistake and thought that checkout was at noon. She grabs the door and points at a little brown tag that has a number 11 in and says," It says it right here", and then again turns on me and says..."it's also on your paperwork if you had bothered to read it"...I offer to go down and wait for my guy in the lobby with our bags, but she doesn't want that either...so she glares at me and states..."I'll give you until noon...not one minute more...so you better call your better half and tell him...understand?" WOW....don't worry lady...we won't be back...ever and you can have that room all you want......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tGypsyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to report on your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience with us was so dismal. It is much better for us to know when we have acted inappropriately and to be given a chance to improve ourselves. This specific interaction has been dealt with and we have put a big effort into turning around our guest service skills. After overworking our staff we have recently added two new assistant managers and hope to be given another chance to prove our worth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have to agree with the last review, overall, the Holiday Haus is a nice economy hotel. The rooms are each themed after a historic resort from the past (lots of old-time photos). Basic but clean. Be forewarned the place doesn't have much sound proofing, so ear plugs are a good idea if you are a light sleeper; upstairs rooms are larger and you won't hear footsteps on your head. Downstairs rooms have gas fireplaces. Upstairs rooms do not have heat thermostats on wall, just a knob at the base of the wall unit itself. The staff is a mixed bag... at times guardedly jovial, but they need to brush up on thier customer service skills - several guests complained of being asked to move their cars in an abrupt manner. Also, the guy behind the front desk needs to learn that the customer is more important than the solitare game on his computer. They don't have an ice machine in the public area, so you have to ask the front desk to fill the miniture ice bucket that is provided. Not a huge deal, but you usually have to ring the bell to summon someone... who may come off as preturbed by your request. The continental breakfast is limited, but ok; no fresh fruit. The small common room has a pool table which is pretty cool. A much better choice than Motel 6 for about the same price. Oh yeah, if you are skiing/snowboarding, don't be fooled that the Village is an "easy walk"; it's not fun in ski boots! Bring a boot bag and shlep in your street shoes if you are going to attempt the hike... and know that there are no proper sidewalks in this area.

Room Tip: Upstairs end unit, or free-standing cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNakedTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks for sharing about your stay with us and we hope you'll come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Haus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Haus Motel

Address: 3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Haus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Haus is located where the action is in Mammoth Lakes. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Village at Mammoth where you will find restaurants, shopping, mountain biking and of course mountain access via the Village Gondola for skiing and snowboarding. During the summer months, we are in close proximity to the many music venues, including Bluesapalooza and other Village events. If you want easy cross-country skiing, mountain biking with minimal hills or walking trails, a trail for all is accessible via our property. As a recently updated property with a variety of room types and price points, we welcome you to come and stay with us for some fun in the mountains. We will also provide advice on things to do and will book your activities with no commissions or fees (back to us). For instance...have you been on a horse with your family and friends? Don't miss out on an opportunity to ride horseback on an easy, fun and beautiful trail ride from Red's Meadow to Rainbow Falls. We hope to you see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Haus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Haus Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing