We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Convict Lake Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Mammoth Lakes)
$95
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$167
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Creek Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$193
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
$415
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge and Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
$149
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
52
37
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
37
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storevan nuysattending a weddingfood truckdeer roamsmaller bedroomanother cabinrent boatsthought of everythingcozy cabinsown mealseastern sierrabreakfast burritoking bedmammoth areafull kitchenfishing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 104 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This place has some rustic cabins but they also have some very nice cabins. The small rustic ones are, let' say very cozy!! The nice ones are pricey but worth it if you enjoy spending alot of time in your cabin or enjoy the total relaxation that a good steam shower provides. Brian almost always gives us a deal when we stay. Very senic setting in the winter and the summer. We have always had good experiences and will continue to return and would recommend it to my friends n family!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lvtinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have been staying at Convict Lake resort for more than thirty years now, so perhaps it just holds a very special place in my heart. Don't go expecting glamour. Although there are some newer cabins, most of them were built in the 30s and are what I would describe as rustic. However, they are equiped with cable TV, if that's what you want in a mountain retreat. I myself go for the fishing, hiking, exploring and history. The cabins are clean and cozy and they all come equiped with a porch and a BBQ. They also have full kitchens. Convict is an easy 15 mile drive north from Tom's Place, ten minutes south from Mammoth, and a scenic thirty some miles from the historic town of Benton. Other fun things to do and see would include Mono Lake, Hot Creek, and Bodie Ghost Town. (a must) The airport across the highway rents 4X4 trucks by the day, if you are in for some off road exploring. Be sure to stop at the vistor's center if you go to, or past Mono Lake. The kids will love the museum and it's free! The restaurant at Convict Lake although pricy, has a wonderful menu, a fabulous chef, and a warm embience. Relax and dine while watching the deer in the malibu lights outside the windows. The main thing is, RELAX. And enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Statia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Once we made it thru a blinding white out from Toms place on 395 to the turn off to
Convict lake , things started looking up. We arrived about two hours early with three
grandkids & eight feet of snow and our cabin was not ready. ( it just got colder ) I could
see by the look on my wifes' face that two more hours in that truck could make things
colder yet even tho the kids had been great. At this time, Brian ( who we had made our
reservations with) said we could stay in another cabin until ours was ready & then ask
the restruant owner if he would open up, fire up the heater, & serve us hot chocolate or any drink we wanted @ his expense.
One hour later, a lot of hot chocolate & two (very welcome } J.D.'s on the rocks we got
to our cabin. The rest of the group arrived two days later. The total was eleven in all.
During our stay, the staff was great & we will do it again. The Cospers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldmanTujunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We booked our stay at Convict Lake Resort 5 months in advance.
The location sounded nice and we thought it would be a family place that would allow us rest and relaxation after a week on the John Muir Trail.

It does not talke much to please us yet were were hugely disappointed.

The cabin in was in need of a good cleaning as well as repairs. Where shall I start.
The only tub/shower drain was clogged,
We had to use a pair of plyers to adjust the faucet to get the hot water on.
The carpet was torn and tattered in several areas.
The furnishing are old and just not up to par for charging over $400.00 per night
There are many RVs etc who also use this location.....making for a very over crowded lake, and surrounding area to the cabins, resteraunt , parking.
The cabins are very close together so we could hear the neighbors conversations in detail until midnight. The landscape and among the cabins was in a shambles.....not naturally so....someone just weed wacked everything in sight and left the cuttings.

On top of this during the middle of the night 1-2 amimals crawled under the cabin ; fought and ran around until 4 AM.
There are no phones in the cabins, nor is there office staff to attend to these matters after hours.
Needless to say we checked out the next morning exhausted.
We then proceded to ask for a credit for the night, even a partial credit ...
We were not given a credit. Due to no other accomodations avail. that summer weekend we had to drive 8 hours home .
There are many other more wonderful places up the road in the June Lake area.........Mammoth Lakes etc........bad memory of Convict Lake Resort . ARGH !!!

I am sparing you the photos of the floor and clogged drain.....we couldnt wait to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveldreamer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The campground is terrible! The map was deceiving; we thought we were getting one of the closest camp sites to the water, and found out that one of them are close! Our camp spot was on a hill and surrounded by sage brush! The wind sweeps through the valley constantly; we spend two days in the trailer! No trees-there were a few camp sites that had small trees. Nothing is on the lake except the boat launch. The rate for camping is reasonable $20.00 a night. However, the restaurant is certainly out of place for the area; it is good and high-end, but expensive. We got a pizza from a special menu that they do not offer unless you ask for it. Four drinks, a pizza, and an appetizer $90.00. The cabins do look small; we did not get a chance to go in them. We do recommend taking the two mile drive off the main road and going in and checking out the lake, but stay and eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmatheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews