We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Meal”

Roberto's Mexican Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Family Meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family visited Roberto's on July 3rd after reading reviews here on Tripadvisor and we were treated to a fabulous meal and great service. It was quite busy when we arrived but we were seated quickly, had our order taken promptly, and had food brought out in a timely fashion. I had the carne asada burrito and it was excellent. My wife and kids had various combos and we all agreed that it was a fantastic meal. And this is quite an accomplishment with my kids being as finicky and aprehensive as they are with trying new places. But Roberto's hit a home run and we will surely return the next time we are in Mammoth. I only wish this place was in my home town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the review. so glad the whole family was happy. that's what we strive for!
Joanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    156
    54
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Long time away, still good.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hadn't been here since before they added the upstairs. It was always way crowded with people outside. This time, even though we were told 25 minutes for a table, we went upstairs and got seats at the bar within a minute. I had the duck burrito. Not greasy, and a good size. The margarita pours were great and the service at the bar was fast and friendly. Glad we came back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks you for the review. Hope to see you back soon
Joanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Roberto's was our first stop after a long drive to Mammoth Lakes. We read they have a dog-friendly patio. Not only was it dog-friendly, it was people-friendly too! There were plenty of customers with dogs snoozing under their chairs and everyone was enjoying the beautiful day. Umbrellas provided shade for those of us who need it and the margaritas provided refreshment. Our food was quite good and the portions are huge. My husband and I could have shared a meal and been very satisfied. I certainly recommend Roberto's, especially if you're traveling with your dog.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leebeelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_cafe, Manager at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the review.
We hope to see you guys and your dog back soon
Joanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food poisoning”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I eat here on June 20, 2013 on our honeymoon. The food was tasty. However within 6 hours my husband was vomiting and experiencing diarrhea. The next day I ate our takeout leftovers and experienced vomiting and diarrhea. When I called the restaurant to share our experience, the gentleman I spoke with did not seem the least bit interested when I was trying to share with him. I felt compelled to contact the Dept of Health in Mammoth.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First place for dinner when we hit Mammoth”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great Mexican food with good service. It offers a little different take on some standard fare. Like Lobster and Shrimp but outstanding. My family always says they wish it wasn't a 5 hour drive to go the Roberto's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drpauleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
thanks for making the drive. Thanks for the review!
joanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Roberto's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing