We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is horrible.”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is horrible.”
Reviewed January 10, 2006

The website was done well but the place is a dive. (Don't believe the website as the hotel is entirely different than portrayed.) The water in the shower was either scalding hot or cold. Hollow core doors are you only protection from the hallway. Is that even to code? Geeze... Dirty, old, unique staff (in the uncomfortable way) I could go on for days.... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank gfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    175
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
273
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2006

How on earth this hotel recieved a four star rating is beyond me. We stayed at this hotel with a few friends last weekend, 2 other couples to be exact. There are a total of 30 rooms at the inn and we occupied 3 of the rooms (10% of the hotel), so I think we have a good idea of the room types and hotel in general.

The walls are paper thin, the shower constantly runs from hot to cold, the floor and tile are musty, and the breakfast buffet is less than stellar.

This may be the worst place we've stayed for the money we paid. I would recommend to pay an extra $20 a night and stay at the mammoth lodge at the resort. You'll get a much nicer room and will be a few steps from the slopes, instead of a 50 minute, sardine packed bus ride to the slopes from the Creek Inn.

I was asleep when we pulled in to the Creek Inn and when I woke up and my husband woke me up I thought he was joking. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank gisellefinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

The walls are paper-thin and the bathrooms are old. The hot water ran out while I was showering. We woke up to our neighbors alarm among other noises. The bus ride to the Main Lodge took 40 minutes each way. For the same amount of money, we could have stayed closer to the Main Lodge or The Village. The Euro Style breakfast needs improvement.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank kureyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2005

We enjoyed the spacious room, the cleanliness, the kind staff, and location but thought their "hot tub" was horrendous. It smelled bad, was EXTREMELY noisy, and only was open at night. Overall, we would definitely go back!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTPOINT, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

Helpful staff, Clean, pleasent rooms, plenty of parking, Restaurants nearby, Really,really needs an elevator. If you are over 65, stay on the first floor.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridabadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2005

I'm staying at the Mammoth Creek Inn as I write this. My ten year old daughter and her friend are sleeping in the same room with us because when we complained about the defective sofa bed on the main floor we were told that the manager looked at it and "that's just the way it is." Just the way it is is skewed at a forty five degree angle so that the girls were actually sliding off the bed to the floor. The whole thing started off badly, actually. After a seven hour drive we were made to wait by a slacker looking guy who stayed on the phone for ten minutes with a prospective guest who finally decided not to book. (The "manager" he referred us to later also seemed to be in his mid twenties and like he could care less). The reason I'm awake right now is that the plumbing on the other side of the wall is rattling so horrendously that it woke us all up, and I can't get back to sleep. I'm not going to bother to tell the desk, I'm sure "that's just the way it is." Accomodations are fine but nothing special. The view is nice but I'm willing to bet the view is nice from a lot of the places up here. I found this place on Trip Advisor and this is the first time it's let us down.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cybergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

We stayed here for two nights in October 2005. Mammoth Lakes is a fantastic loctation and the Mammoth Inn a good base. The rooms are clean, but the heaters a little vigorous and the plumbing in the bathroom a bit dubious. There is no breakfast included in the room price, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. The staff are friendly and there is plenty of free parking. I'd certainly consider staying here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,322 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing