We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Hospitable”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY Hospitable”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff there are really kind and generous. The food was great for an included breakfast. Location excellent. They even have little night time cookies and tea if you have the munchies. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    175
    79
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
277
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is amongst the friendliest hotels I have visited, the girl behind check in was really helpful and a pleasure to talk to when we arrived in the evening. The next morning, a different girl was really helpful in helping us find a route over the Sierra Nevada's after a heavy snowfall.

The hotel rooms are maybe a little small, but they are very clean, and comfortable, and I had a good nights sleep. Beware of waking up with a headache though, this place is above 7000ft, I think I suffered with altitude sickness! Only downside is that I think the ice machine or refrigerator sent some vibrations up the wall which disturbed me at first.

The public areas are comfortable, there is free coffee and cookies available, and a billiards room available upstairs. Finally, the spa, although I didn't use it (shame) did look very good.

I would be happy to come back to this hotel if visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I am a big fan of "going the extra mile/making a difference" when it comes to how to make a stay memorable and the Mammoth Creek Inn certainly got it right:
Besides a quiet location on the border of the town (with quick and easy access to the mountain and numerous hiking locations), the rooms were very modern and spacious (perfectly clean anyway), but the Inn also offered free coffee, a wide range of teas and different cookies throughout the day! The breakfast was also generous with a wide range of choices that catered for all tastes.
Overall a memorable stay and fully recommended!
Tip: The Stove on the other side of the road had amazing burgers, would highly recommend going there!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccwestcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is my new favorite spot. The place is clean and comfortable. The staff are all great. |Breakfast included many choices and I especially liked the cinnamon rolls. Very good location with great views!! Loved everything!!!!!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very comfortable bed and clean and well equipped room in cool location
Good breakfast
Tea and coffee and biscuits available
Sauna and jacuzzi
Lovely setting beside the Mountains and in easy reach of cafés shops and supermarkets

Room Tip: We asked for king size with a nice outlook and got a room overlooking the mountains All rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The lodge is not the most modern but it is clean and comfortable. One important note there are no elevators so if climbing is a problem stay somewhere else. The spa was clean with sauna steam room and whirlpool. Breakfast was generous and offered a good variety. Hotel is in the older less posh section of this ski resort but convenient to free shuttle. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I say expensive - we stayed mostly in Motels so this place was luxury. Seriously, they have a pool room, a huge breakfast room a gym and the location is spot on - not far away from a supermarket so we could get some food and fast food restaurants are located near enough. The bed was SO COMFY like a marshmallow and they give you his and hers bath robes just for your stay. The bathroom is modern and very clean. Very good facilities and room generally. The guy that checked us in was really friendly and made us feel straight at home and the guy that checked us out was super smiley which is awesome! We like happy people!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesscoombs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
832 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing