We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked lodging for our Xmas weekend in Mammoth on Priceline. We had never been to Mammoth before and were expecting outrageous rates. We got a great deal and I was skeptical since you have no idea what you are booking, but when we arrived and I saw that there was a jacuzzi, sauna AND steam room along with our huge, comfy bed, I was sold. Oh yea, not to mention the pre-ski, very filling continental b-fast. Even though this inn is a little far to walk to the mountain, there are free busses and trolleys that run until almost 2am, making it great for skiing and getting out for some nightlife. This place is solid and can't wait to go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalemma2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 524 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Overall we had a pleasant stay at Mammoth Creek but by comparison to our other accomodation (similar price bracket) it wasn't quite as good although I understand that the location will demand a premium.

Free wifi is a plus and great for finding somewhere to eat. This was the only hotel on our three week stay that did not have airconditioning, there was a fan but this did not make for the best nights sleep. Additionally the room was a bit noisy with a poor view (not all rooms can have aview though). There was a fridge in the room which was useful.

The hotel is on the edge of the town and is an easy and pleasant walk with lots of places to eat. The complimentary breakfast was nice but with not very much variety.

Overall a pleasant stay but if I was staying in the area again I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewjfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I even hesitate to expose the gem that is the Mammoth Creek Inn... but because I like them so much I will. My boyfriend and I work in the backcountry of Yosemite during the summer and love coming here when we're looking to treat ourselves. The staff is great, the beds are like clouds, there is a complimentary breakfast , and they have a hot tub, steam room, and sauna downstairs! Some of the rooms are on the smaller side but, you're in Mammoth, chances are you are out hiking, skiing, or doing a million other things besides huddling in your room (I hope)! Once they upgraded us to the loft room for my birthday. It is significantly bigger and I don't think there is a substantial price difference. I would recommend asking if that room is available, but regardless, you are truly getting your monies worth here. There is a Hawaiian woman who works there... here name is escaping me... she is really sweet and helpful. The manager is also great, he always goes above and beyond to make sure we are comfortable. I've been celebrating my birthday there for the past couple years and they always remember.

Room Tip: Ask for the loft room. It might be a tad more but it is significantly bigger in size, has a full kit...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay on our trip from Vegas to San Francisco through Yosemite. We could not have been happier with our choice. When we arrived, Tim booked us in. He made us feel very welcome and knowing it was my Birthday even left a Birthday Cake in our Fridge. For dinner we opted for another recommendation, the Starlight Cafe just a short walk from the Inn. The owner/Chef was great, very enthusiastic and the food was lovely. Only downside, not licensed so no wine with dinner. ( a small price to pay really). We had a room with its own kitchen/diner and bedroom on a mezzanine. Overall clean, tidy and very friendly. Didn't get a chance to use the Spa area but that looked very nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We only booked this hotel because we needed a place to stay on out trip from Las Vegas through Death Valley and Yosemite to San Francisco. But Mammoth Lakes was so extremely beautiful that we ended up staying for two more days. The guy at the reception desk even used the rate we got through Booking.com, which is lower than what they usually charge. We didn't even have to ask, he just offered this lower price.
The room was nicely furnished with free Wifi, a TV and a desk. Everything was clean and the little soap and shampoo wasn't the cheap stuff either.
Next to the reception desk, there's a ling-room like area with a couch, some chairs, a desk with an iMac for everyone to use as well as a coffe station with baked goods - for free! Even though we didn't use this, it was still pretty cool that it was offered.
We only ate breakfast once, even though it was complimentary. The buffet was quite large, especially considered we stayed there during off season and there weren't many other guests there at the time. They offered home-made oatmeal, coffe, hot chocolate, toast, bagels and various baked goods such as muffins as well as fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. There also were two toasters on the counter for everyone to use.
But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were so friendly and helpful. They recommended various sights and hikes and show us the way there on a map. Sadly the gondolas were closed or we could've done even more.
We would definitely stay here again, should we ever return to Mammoth Lakes - and we really hope we will.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schneefloeckli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We only stopped for one night on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite but it offered everything we needed.
The rooms were nice and clean, comfy beds and quite a decent size.
We had been delayed driving up and advised the Inn that we were going to be quite late but they were very accommodating and waiting until we showed up later than evening to check us in.
The area itself is just stunning and we wished we'd had more time to spend in the area.
Wonderful spot to visit and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a night here & were upgraded to a suite, which was gorgeous! I had booked a standard room way back in December but due to the Yosemite closure they had loads of people rearranging plans so to accomodate them, they upgraded us. So we had a place big enough to live in! Full kitchen, lounge area, downstairs full bathroom & a bedroom & double shower room upstairs with TV in the bedroom & lounge. There was a wrap around balcony with seats, overlooking the mountains but it was a bit cold for sitting out. In fact we awoke to snow!
The walls were very thin but there was little road noise as we were at the side of the building.
Mammoth is quite spread out but we were within easy walking distance of Von's & a selection of nice looking restaurants. We went Mexican at Roberto's.
I didn't think breakfast was included but was pleased to find it was & it was a lovely spread.
No complaints really. Quite the opposite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,439 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $146 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing