We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Week, Comfortable, Affordable, Very Friendly, Lovely Boutique Hotel!”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great Christmas Week, Comfortable, Affordable, Very Friendly, Lovely Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Mammoth Creek Inn for Christmas holidays. Tons of new snow and abundant Christmas decorations made the house look like real Swiss chalet. Location is out of the downtown center, but the good thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance to a grocery store, movie theater and several restaurants (try Shogun, an excellent Japanese). The bus stop that serves the free red line to take people to and from the Village, is also within walking distance. In addition, the hotel has its own private shuttle, which we used daily to get to the Village center - from there you have a fast, uncrowded gondola to the Canyon Lodge (base ski lodge).
We booked the hotel directly by phone and experienced very friendly people. Once we arrived, Michael (Gen. Mgr.) and Sylvia, as well as the rest of the staff, were all very attentive and accommodating throughout our stay. Case in point: a built in wall electrical heater broke down and when servicemen couldn't repair it, they immediately bought a brand new radiator heater for us. And then surprised us with candies and a bottle of wine to sweeten the trouble.
Our room was comfortable and had all that we as skiers needed. In the living room there is a nice fireplace and hot drinks and small treats available at all times. A coffee maker in the room helps brew coffee or tea to your own taste. For breakfast you will find at least a couple kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, fruit, toast, bagels, juice, and usually more. There's a microwave and toasters.
The hotel has a spa - hot tub, steam room, sauna. In a small hotel like this, those amenities were never crowded, so we could enjoy them very much after long days of skiing. On some occasions there was a problem with temperature consistency, but again the very helpful staff was fast to bring it in check.
All in all, we think that it was a good value for our money, having in mind that Mammoth is the most expensive ski area in California.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view for better feeling or a suite with a loft for more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoPe_Ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    175
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
272
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose to stay at Mammoth Creek Inn for the week of Christmas based on the reviews I read. Its a good option for couples or for those who do not have enough people to make a cabin rental reasonable. They are a pet friendly hotel and it was one of the convincing points as to why we chose to stay with them. We got a junior suite with a full kitchen and was given a room that was right by the stairs and the reception area.

Their walls and flooring are very thin and made it a little unpleasant for us since we can hear everyone coming in and out or walking upstairs. They also do not have covered parking and we ended up having to shovel snow several times, to be able to get to our vehicle. When the snow plows come in, it just plows a portion of the parking lot and ends up dumping some of the snow on the cars.

The good thing about the hotel is they have friendly staff members and they are within walking distance to a grocery store, movie theater, and a few restaurants. The bus stop that serves the free red line to take people to and from the village is also within walking distance.

For accessibility and If you just want a place to rest your head after a day on the slopes, then it is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAli2Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this hotel from Australia without really knowing the area. We took a flight to Mammoth from LA and Michael the General Manager was waiting to pick us up from the airport with a friendly face and lots of tips and recommendations on how we could make the most of our 6 day stay. Added to that he was exceptionally accommodating allowing us to stay a few more nights in the same room at a lower rate than we had booked thruogh expedia. Point 1; book direct. Plus's - room, rate, location, (free transport to the slopes right outside the door, next to the supermarket, shops and restaurants) staff very friendly, pick up fom airport. Areas where could potentially be a little improved - continental breakfast was ok but not fantastic, spa wasn't as hot as we'd have liked, but has recenltly been rennovated and works if people have been using it before you. I'd probably have booked a larger room if we weren't on so much of a budget as for 6 days would have been nice to haev some cooking facilitites. Definitely worth a visit. Thank you Michael! we'll be back.

Room Tip: If staying longer than a couple of nights probably try to get a larger room with cooking facilitites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_c2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We chose Mammoth Creek Inn through reviews, and we were not disappointed.
Michael and Brandon looked after us personally. Everything was very convenient, and very warm and friendly atmosphere. The spa downstairs was a delight, sauna wet and dry newly remodelled, very cool. Great breakfast, for a perfect start. Upstairs in the lobby, nice fireplace with hot drinks available at all times. first floor has an outside deck and a mini lounge with a pool table on the loft. If you are looking for a place that has character, this is it. Great comfortable beds, I loved the linens and the robes are handy for the trip down to the spa. I would definitely recommend this lodge. Michael runs a great lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter away from pool table area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 805Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mammoth Creek Inn based on positive reviews. Motel was decent, but I didn't feel it was as wonderful as the reviews would suggest. Our room was clean, but nothing special. Parking is outside, and the motel is a bit farther away from the lifts than others we like. Decent place to stay in Mammoth, but there are others we prefer and that are better located and a bit better value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've been coming to Mammoth since I was about 5 years old and have typically stayed in condos or cabins with big groups of people. This time, however, we were looking for something smaller and less expensive as it was just I and the girlfriend. We found Mammoth Creek Inn on one of the many travel sites (can't remember which one) and it was close to the cheapest and by far had the best location of the various inns around town.

The Mammoth Creek Inn is located directly across the street from The Stove (my favorite breakfast place in town) and about a block from the Vons, which is very convenient. The shuttle stop is also very close, so getting around town was super easy.

This was also the first time we had ever flown to Mammoth. It sure beat the drive from San Diego. Michael picked us up from the airport, which was very nice. Didn't have to fight it out for a cab or wait for a shuttle. The hotel Suburban took us and our gear right to the hotel. Now we landed in Mammoth at about 9:30am, so I did not expect our room to be ready. We walked across the street to The Stove, grabbed some breakfast, headed back over to the Inn and our room was ready. Very nice of them to have a room ready so early for us (before noon), especially the day after Christmas.

The room itself was very nice. We had a basic room, but that still came with a fridge (for the beer I bought at Mammoth Brewing Company, obviously) and a plethora of hooks to hang gear on. The free breakfast was also a huge plus. Nothing fancy, but bagels, oatmeal, cereal, juice, etc. was very nice before a day of riding. I've seen reviews that the breakfast is awful. Not true. If you're not expecting a grandiose buffet (and why would you!?), then you will not be disappointed. This is a complimentary continental breakfast, not the Ritz. They also have a storage closet on the deck that they lock at night. So we didn't have to lug our boards up to the room each night. Another plus. They also have complimentary coffee, tea, and hot apple cider in the living room downstairs. The living room has a new iMac (free to use) and a TV with a roaring fire. This was awesome. Each afternoon when we got back from the slopes we grabbed some cider before we headed upstairs to change and shower.

Michael also offered to drive us to the lifts and pick us up each day. The shuttle is close, but it sure is nice to have personal service up to the lifts. We had him take us to Eagle Lodge one morning, then usually took the shuttle home.

The power did go out one afternoon in a couple of the rooms upstairs (including ours). When I was walking down the hall, I could hear about 3 different people blow drying hair at the same time, so I wasn't surprised. The hotel staff was extremely quick in coming upstairs and turning it back on. All in all took about 3 minutes.

Overall, this hotel is outstanding. It blows the other hotels in Mammoth out of the water. The location is great, the service is second to none, and the value is also very good. Free ride to and from the airport, breakfast, free rides to the lifts, hot apple cider whenever we wanted it, and across the street from The Stove. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace23NY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first visiting were very pleased. The part that makes this hotel stand out is that the staff does everything they can to accommodate the guests. For example, were able to get a ride every morning to the village gondola or Canyon lodge and usually a ride home from the Village, we were even provided a ride on New Year's Eve when no cabs were available. Another example, a guest had a dead battery and didn't have AAA. The manager personally worked with this guest to get his car started with jumper cables. The room was simple with all of the basics and the breakfast served is simple, but adequate and the Jacuzzi/steam room/sauna were not fancy, but again adequate for anyone to use to relax at the end of the day. We really enjoyed our experience and the efforts the staff made to accommodate us and we will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing