We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is second to none - great location friendly staff and top quality rooms.
All the usual amenities are available plenty of information about the town and surrounding area.
Rooms have selection of hot drinks and water and soft drinks plus confectionary
We had a wonderfull stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    160
    67
    17
    9
See reviews for
78
252
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good hotel with good facilities however the area around it was a little run down and it was clear that it was the off season. Not very much to do or eat with in walking distance so spent most of our time in the spa and room. Friendly staff and clean rooms with excellent double glazing for a quite nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrewsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to start by saying this is the best place to stay in Mammoth! I drove into Mammoth with my dog on Labor Day, without reservations or an itinerary. I found the Mammoth Creek Inn listed in the Visitors' Guide, and when I called the Manager, Michael, was instantly welcoming. The hotel is amazing! The rooms are clean and well furnished. The common areas of the hotel are wonderful. The front lobby is a great place to sit and relax after a long day, the upstairs sitting room is cozy and the third floor billiards room is a fun bonus. I spent the end of my evenings in the spa downstairs; there is a hot tub, sauna and steam room (something for everyone). I ended up spending 5 days at the Inn and I have to say I didn't want to leave. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about things to do in and around Mammoth. The manager remembered my name from the first time we talked on the phone and would always go out of his way to welcome me back from being out and about. The location of the Inn is fantastic! It's on the edge of a Wilderness Area with a creek and a wonderful walking path. The views from the Inn and the walking path are amazing no matter the time of day, but especially in the morning to watch the sunrise. There are also several restaurants and shops that are within walking distance. I can't wait to return this winter to snowboard with my friends, we're definitely getting one of the suites, which can accommodate a large group with the luxury of a full kitchen in the suite. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mammoth, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Inn faces on one side National Forest land, which offers views and walks while still being but a few blocks from the heart of the town's services and restaurants. The service is friendly and not intrusive. The only downsides I experienced were that the upgraded but still old building is far from protected against noise and the continental breakfast is modest.

Room Tip: The suits look great for a largish family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaisal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the best! Superb everything... The whole place has been furnished and finished to a high standard, I like the spa area - looks really plush and is relaxing.

The lounge area next to reception is amazing and I have imagined how great it would be to return there after a day of skiing and  have a steam and spa then relax by the open fire in the lounge.
But it is ideal for summer too, we are staying another night!  The hotel is just on the edge of town, its a bit of a walk to the main street but there are plenty of shops and restaurants around. The staff have been fantastic and looked after us during our stay.

Highly recommend a stay here, I can't stop commenting how lovely it is

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We paid a little extra for a deluxe loft and it was worth every penny: large lounge and balcony with beautiful views of the mountain. It was great to have our own kitchen (after 2 weeks eating in restaurants on the rest of our vacation - there's a good Vons nearby). Large bedroom on the mezzanine level, with lovely big comfy bed. The kids really enjoyed the billiards room, and the spa (with jacuzzi, sauna & steam room, plus double rocking chairs) was very nice. The only complaint was that the kids said their sofa bed wasn't very comfortable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went to Mammoth for the day en route to Vegas and ending up falling in love with the area and booked a room last minute through the accomadating General Manager who provided us a great room and rate. Beautiful setting and amenities and outstanding service. Greeted and felt genuinely welcomed. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RISEABOVETRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing