We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cosy Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

Stayed here for one night as a stopover on way from LV to SF. Room was very clean, bathroom decent and shower good. Free tea and coffee at all times in lounge. Receptionist very friendly. Hotel very good value for money.
Mammoth Lakes is a beautiful looking place and would really have liked to spend more time there.

  • Liked — surrounding area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    175
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
272
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geordie
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights as a base for exploring Mammoth Lakes and the surrounding area. God a good price through the hotels website and we were upgraded to a bigger room when we arrived. The room was a good size with good views out over the mountains. The room was pleasantly decorated but the furniture was beginning to look a little tired around the edges. The room was well stocked with extra touches such as bathrobes. The staff were very helpful and answered all our queries and requests quickly and efficiently. All in all a good deal, it is a short bus or drive to the lifts but from what I can gahter in the winter there is an efficient and free bus service available.

  • Liked — Views, good sixed room.
  • Disliked — Furniture a bit worn, noise from room upstairs.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and they were really accurate. We had the deluxe room and it was really nice. 1 king bed and 2 sofa beds, 1 in the loft and 1 in the living room which was perfect for our boys. We didn't have any sound problems, we were up on the loft and there wasn't much noise when sleeping. We had a really nice view of the mountains too. The staff were really friendly and nice. The breakfast was okay, we had a kitchen so we really didn't eat much down there. Wish there was a dishwasher though. When we were leaving, our car battery was dead for some reason and a young man who worked there offered to go to his house and get jumper cables and jump our car! Because of him, we were on our way in a few minutes and not hours later. The staff really goes beyong the call of duty!

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — no dishwasher
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

We booked into the Mammoth Creek Inn last minute after the cabin we had booked cancelled on us due to frozen pipes and we got a great price as we were booking only a few hours in advance. The 2 double rooms we had were fairly small, did not really have views to speak of and were quite dated. As other reviewers have said the soundproofing between rooms was not good and the heaters in the rooms were almost antique and needed attention from the front desk to get them working.

Having said that the bed was very comfortable with very nice bedding, the room & bathroom was spotlessly clean, the snack basket was a good idea and the robes were great for going down to the sauna and spa tub.

I guess it depends what you are looking for - as somewhere to crash at the end of a days skiing we thought it was great, but if you came here expecting some kind of spa retreat you would probably be disappointed.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Bus ride away from skiing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank socalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights from 25 June to 29 June 2006. Booked through Orbitz but on arrival no trace of our booking! Staff were very friendly and offered us a better rate than Orbitz! Room although small was fine and bathroom too. We had room on ground floor with view of building right next door! Mountain view would be good if anyone stays there but for price it didn't matter as we were out all day! Hotel info stated Continental breakfast but none available but there was coffee which was excellent. Recommend Stove over the road for great breakfasts! Enjoyed our stay here and it was really handy for free trolley into the Village and seeing lakes. Didn't have air con but fan in room. Staff were very good. Great value for money would recommend it.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank egremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

Our favorite place we've ever stayed in Mammoth, and we go several times a year. Ask for a loft room with a view, because the rooms without a view looked small and overpriced. The service is wonderful, the views are fantastic, and the bed is like heaven. All their prices for things like gift baskets and phone calls are clearly marked. They have great magazines in their library and a nice selection of G-rated movies to check out. The closet is huge. The dog guests are well behaved and all in all it's just a great, quiet getaway spot. They have a fruit basket at the check-in counter for you to have an apple if you get there at a crazy time, and coffee and tea in the upstairs and downstairs lobbies. Very cozy old-fashioned decor, like deer's heads sticking out of the lobby walls and lots of wood. You're taking the stairs if you stay there - to the lobby, to the rooms, in the rooms, and to the sauna, so if you have mobility problems you're pretty much stuck.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

I almost did not book a room here after reading some of the other negative reviews. I went ahead and booked though, because I got an excellent rate (ask about their "Incredible Internet Deals"!). Once there, I thought it was fine. I stayed in a lodge room, which wasn't huge, but had an amazingly comfortable King bed, in-room coffee and hot water/tea available in the lobby. The walls were a bit thin, but fortunately I wasn't disturbed by any of the other residents. The Inn itself is quite quaint, and would rather stay there with not totally sound-proof walls then at a boring, sterile chain hotel. The only other negative I would say is that the hot-tub is indoors; if you visit in the summer that is not ideal but I suppose winter visitors might appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing