We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent food and drink selection, somewhat pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slocums Grill & Bar

Slocums Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Flame-broiled Steaks & Fresh Fish * Hickory Smoked Ribs * Retro Italian * Ultimate Burgers & Sandwiches * Happy Hour * Craft Beers * Full Bar * Private Parking Lot * Est. 1983
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent food and drink selection, somewhat pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The service was great, we made it for happy hour but still ended up paying more than we wanted, the food was "ok" nothing to really jump up and down for, but the staff was friendly and it seemed like a good local place to grab a beer and appetizers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jb2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Much appreciation for your 4 STAR review! Do you happen to remember the name of your server? ("great service). The Staff loves to hear good feedback. Everyone gives it their all here, we're very proud of all of them. I see you're from Reno...my husband and I love visiting all the new places popping up in Midtown and by the River...lots of fun R&D. Thanks for taking the time to write. Hope to see you your next visit to Mammoth. Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    151
    49
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Level Contributor
385 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Appetizers in the bar were perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We didn't want to wait for a table so we ordered in the bar. The spicy shrimp was particularly good. Higher quality and more sophisticated than pub food. Friendly server. We would return but try to hit Happy Hour. A little pricey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
A Great Big THANKS for your 4 STAR Review: "Appetizers were Perfect!" My husband obsesses over our appetizers, actually the entire menu....sometimes he'll wake up at 4am and he's come up with a new twist for the spicy shrimp or the ahi poke etc. From your very favorable comments looks like he and our kitchen and serving Staff are on the right track. We love hearing your input and glad you had such a good experience. Your "a little pricey" comment is the toughest part our job.... balancing 'out of control' food costs with the "high quality" you mentioned and then calculating our menu prices as fairly as possible...is extremely challenging for sure. We do offer lots of great food deals during Happy Hour along with our locally famous $4 Certified Angus Happy Cheeseburger with all the trimming plus fries. On this Summer's regular menu we have 43 items, with 35 priced from $3.75 - $18.95; and 8 items priced from $21.95 - $29.50. Our goal has always been to offer a quality, varied menu with many choices along with a large price range in order to appeal to every pocketbook and taste. Thanks so much for coming in and we look forward to your next visit. Again, much appreciation from all of us at Slocums for your super 4 Star review! Cindy A. owner since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant in a very tourist town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice Menu, very courteous wait staff. Nice atmosphere but a bit pricey for a blue cheese burger. We would have done better to share a burger and an appetizer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Bob F, Many, many thanks for your 4 STAR review..."nice menu, nice atmosphere, courteous staff". Re: "blue cheese burger a bit pricey"...our Smokehuas Blue Cheese Burger and Fries $15.75 listed under our "Deluxe Burgers". In order to make this popular burger, we use only top-notch ingredients: organic farmer-certified hand-crafted Applewood-smoked Blue Cheese from the Wisconsin Amish country, a 1/2 lb of Certified Angus Beef, crispy onions & mushrooms and a sesame seed brioche bun. And we even serve it with french fries. You picked our highest priced burger and we're glad you liked it. Sometime come in for Happy Hour, (known as Mammoth's favorite HH for over 31 years) daily from 4-6:30 for our locally Famous Happy Cheeseburger: 1/4 lb Certified Angus Beef with Real American Cheddar, all the trimmings and served with french fries for only $4.00....you can bet we sell LOTS of those. Hope you visit us your next time here. And thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and ESPECIALLY thanks for giving us 4 STARS!! Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yeah. It's Like That.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Came in and were immediately seated. The host suggested the smoked prime rib and despite the fact we had prime rib the night before (at Mogul's) we decided to do that, in addition to getting the escargot and pretzels.

The escargot was delightful, and different -- I haven't much seen escargot served with melted cheese and while the cheese obscured the escargot flavor a little, it was still quite ... snaily. The pretzels were OMG delicious.

But the prime rib ... I have no idea why I haven't seen smoked prime rib anywhere before. It's amazing. Every single thing accompanying it was also wonderful -- from the crunchy steamed zucchini, to the carrots, to the mashed potatoes.

We had the lava cake to take home; the morning after, it was delightful.

I'd come again, and again, and again ...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a super 5 STAR review!! Thank you so much. Our Sat. nite hickory smoked prime rib has quite a large and loyal following, and now we can add Mr. Roy R of Pacifica to the list.
After you've had it smoked there's no turning back. Thanks again from all of us and hope to see you on your next visit to Mammoth...again, and again and again! Cindy A. (original owner since 1983)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
669 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good happy hour specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good place for happy hour. Had the angus burger and fries happy hour special and it was very good. My friend tried the fish taco's and said they were terrific. Service was good not great. Worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Your awesome 4 STAR Happy Hour review really makes my day! Great Big Thanks! Slocums is known for being Mammoth's favorite happy hour (since we opened 31 years ago!), and it's such a treat when happy customers as you and your friend share your own experiences. We always strive for "great service", but sometimes when things get really jamming during happy hour, great becomes good. But we are still very appreciative of your "good service" rating. Glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you soon. Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slocums Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Slocums Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing