We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant in a very tourist town”

Slocums Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winter: Open Fri-Sat Closed Sunday. Bar opens at 4, Dining Room at 5. Flame-broiled Steaks & Fresh Fish * Hickory Smoked Ribs * Retro Italian * Ultimate Burgers & Sandwiches * Mammoth's Favorite Happy Hour 4-6 Mon-Fri and 4-5 Sat With reduced prices on Appetizers/Liquor)* Full Bar * Craft Beer * Private Parking Lot * Est. 1983
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant in a very tourist town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice Menu, very courteous wait staff. Nice atmosphere but a bit pricey for a blue cheese burger. We would have done better to share a burger and an appetizer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Bob F, Many, many thanks for your 4 STAR review..."nice menu, nice atmosphere, courteous staff". Re: "blue cheese burger a bit pricey"...our Smokehuas Blue Cheese Burger and Fries $15.75 listed under our "Deluxe Burgers". In order to make this popular burger, we use only top-notch ingredients: organic farmer-certified hand-crafted Applewood-smoked Blue Cheese from the Wisconsin Amish country, a 1/2 lb of Certified Angus Beef, crispy onions & mushrooms and a sesame seed brioche bun. And we even serve it with french fries. You picked our highest priced burger and we're glad you liked it. Sometime come in for Happy Hour, (known as Mammoth's favorite HH for over 31 years) daily from 4-6:30 for our locally Famous Happy Cheeseburger: 1/4 lb Certified Angus Beef with Real American Cheddar, all the trimmings and served with french fries for only $4.00....you can bet we sell LOTS of those. Hope you visit us your next time here. And thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and ESPECIALLY thanks for giving us 4 STARS!! Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    173
    58
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yeah. It's Like That.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Came in and were immediately seated. The host suggested the smoked prime rib and despite the fact we had prime rib the night before (at Mogul's) we decided to do that, in addition to getting the escargot and pretzels.

The escargot was delightful, and different -- I haven't much seen escargot served with melted cheese and while the cheese obscured the escargot flavor a little, it was still quite ... snaily. The pretzels were OMG delicious.

But the prime rib ... I have no idea why I haven't seen smoked prime rib anywhere before. It's amazing. Every single thing accompanying it was also wonderful -- from the crunchy steamed zucchini, to the carrots, to the mashed potatoes.

We had the lava cake to take home; the morning after, it was delightful.

I'd come again, and again, and again ...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a super 5 STAR review!! Thank you so much. Our Sat. nite hickory smoked prime rib has quite a large and loyal following, and now we can add Mr. Roy R of Pacifica to the list.
After you've had it smoked there's no turning back. Thanks again from all of us and hope to see you on your next visit to Mammoth...again, and again and again! Cindy A. (original owner since 1983)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
896 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good happy hour specials”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good place for happy hour. Had the angus burger and fries happy hour special and it was very good. My friend tried the fish taco's and said they were terrific. Service was good not great. Worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Your awesome 4 STAR Happy Hour review really makes my day! Great Big Thanks! Slocums is known for being Mammoth's favorite happy hour (since we opened 31 years ago!), and it's such a treat when happy customers as you and your friend share your own experiences. We always strive for "great service", but sometimes when things get really jamming during happy hour, great becomes good. But we are still very appreciative of your "good service" rating. Glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you soon. Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good steaks & brews too”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had initially planned on eating at another restaurant, which was unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately for us) closed for the off-season. (I'm afraid this review is delayed, but I'm going off notes made that evening, and the experience is still quite fresh in mind). We were at a bit of a loss, not being that familiar with the local eateries (and getting quite hungry by this time), when we drove by & decided to stop. Despite it being a low period, the bar was packed, and it looked like a lot of fun, so I'm not surprised. We were seated in the dining room which has a nice casual/mountain classy ambience. The beer & wine selection was very good, and went quite well with the entrees. Both the Cowboy Steak & Shiitake Mushroom Steak were delicious! Cooked perfectly to order (medium well & medium rare), flavorful & tender. The meal was great. The five stars, though, are for the exceptional service. Despite most of the business being in the bar, we were never neglected, quite the opposite actually. Our server (possibly also a manager?) Mary was attentive, friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Her suggestions for food and beverages (and local hiking spots & activities) were all spot-on! She was constantly moving, without giving the impression of being rushed (which can make a meal feel hurried in my opinion). Whenever we are back in the area, this will be our go to dining spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Huge THANKS Dublin Family for your 5 STAR " 'go to' dining spot" review!! You definitely ought to write for the Chronicle's food section. So glad you liked the Cowboy Steak and the Steak Shitake, two of our most popular dishes. And what a pleasure to read your descriptive words: "delicious", "flavorful & tender", "cooked perfectly", "casual classy ambience", "exceptional service", by Meri (one of Slocums' all-time rock stars). So cool you took the time to write and share your "very good" experience at OUR restaurant!! Makes all the blood, sweat and hard work over the past three decades worth it! Thanks so much again from all of us at Slocums. Sincerely, Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Second chance”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ate here over a year ago and was a little disappointed. I decided to give it a second chance and glad I did. My husband had the smoked Gouda Mac-n-cheese and it was crazy good! I was shocked. I had the bistro chicken dijon which was also excellent. There happy hour deals and menu looks great so will probably give that a try next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Many thanks for your great 4 STAR review. Can't tell you how much we appreciate your giving us a "second chance" on your recent visit to Mammoth. Although we try and try to always get it right the first time, there are some nights that we're just not on our "A" game, and it's really cool that you gave us another try. So glad this time you had a super time and will definitely be coming back again, and, to also partake in our "very Happy" Happy Hour. Cheers to you and for sharing. Thanks again, Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slocums Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Slocums Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing