We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, GREAT food, and a nice place to eat.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slocums Grill & Bar

Slocums Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winter: Open Fri-Sat Closed Sunday. Bar opens at 4, Dining Room at 5. Flame-broiled Steaks & Fresh Fish * Hickory Smoked Ribs * Retro Italian * Ultimate Burgers & Sandwiches * Mammoth's Favorite Happy Hour 4-6 Mon-Fri and 4-5 Sat With reduced prices on Appetizers/Liquor)* Full Bar * Craft Beer * Private Parking Lot * Est. 1983
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, GREAT food, and a nice place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The waiter recommended the: "flat iron steak". I went for it and boy was it good! Cooked to perfection, (medium rare) it was tender and juicy. So dang good! mmmmm
Not the cheapest place to eat, but you DO get your monies worth. Happy hour is well worth it! We showed up a little early for dinner, had some cocktails and craft beers. WOW!
I wish the skiing was half as good as the food at Slocum's Grill & Bar!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Charles K. Loved your awesome 4 STAR review!! Your enthusiasm and passion for "what we do" at Slocums was a real "upper" for my husband and me and I'll definitely share your post with our Crew who always tries 110% to "get it right!" Thanks again, big time! Cindy A. owner ...ps..we got 3 feet of snow the end of April...go figure...we're still skiing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    169
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Steady bar fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Three of us ate here and whilst everything was OK it didn't live up to expectations. On a quiet night service was a bit slow and the food a bit cold. Burger was good, fish and chips and crab cakes a bit flavourless. Drinks all good as was the service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Glad you liked the drinks and service, but so sorry your food came out "a bit cold". Sounds like we didn't have our "A" Game on the evening you visited, but we do appreciate the 3 Stars and the time you took to comment. Love to hear what you thought was missing in the food items you mentioned, we're always trying to "tweak" the ingredients to make the flavors as delectable as possible. Thanks, Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for happy hour and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Slocums was recommended to us for happy hour drinks but when we saw inside we decided to return later for dinner. Great choice! We even came back a second time in our 4 night stay so that says it all. Food, ambience and service was some of the best we came across in our 3 week tour of California and Nevada.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLatestarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Wow 4 STARS!...and two visits during your 4 nite stay! Lovely! Your last sentence: "Food, ambience and service was some of the best .....in our 3 week tour...." absoutley made our day. Our son and his family live in Leicester, so we have a special place in our heart for all our English guests. Thanks again from all of us here at Slocums. Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

They don't take reservations so we came early and were seated right away. Our waiter, Garrett, was very friendly and knowledge about the menu. Gouda mac and cheese (added bacon) was so rich and so good. The day's special, fillet mignon was very good too. Entree portions are generous (also had salad and some appetizers) so unfortunately didn't get to try dessert. They also have a reasonable selection of Belgium beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zolivso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Loved and greatly appreciated your 5 STAR review!! And especially "enjoyed" your generous comments about Garrett and our food. Looks like our Gouda Mac Fan Club just gained another member....yay!...glad you liked it. Thanks again for the 5 STARS and hope to see you soon. Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our hotel recommended Slocum's and we were pleased with the result. The food was good. The service was excellent. Our server, Garrett, was helpful, pleasant, and friendly. He spent time talking to us about the area, giving us recommendations. We had an appetizer-the artichoke dip-which was excellent. Fish and chips and the chicken cheese crisp were also good. And, of course, the beer....all good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sherlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
4 STARS!! Yay!! We love to get the comment: "Excellent Service", and send you a great big thanks back! So happy you really liked our food too. Appreciate your sharing your good experience at Slocums and hope to see you again your next visit to Mammoth. Thanks again, Cindy A. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slocums Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Slocums Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing