We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slocums Hokum”

Slocums Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Summer: Bar opens at 4, Dining Room at 5. Flame-broiled Steaks & Fresh Fish * Hickory Smoked Ribs * Retro Italian * Ultimate Burgers & Sandwiches * Mammoth's Favorite Happy Hour 4-6 Mon-Fri and 4-5 Sat, with reduced prices on Appetizers/Liquor/Beer/Wine * Full Bar * Craft Beer * Private Parking Lot * Est. 1983
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First night in Mammoth, decided to take the family out for a nice dinner. We went to Slocum's because of the online reviews. The wine selection was great. The kid's meals and the service was very good. The adult entree was cooked to order, but the cut of the steak was unimpressive and had excess gristle and fat. Great place for a salad or burger. I would probably try someplace else if I was looking for a steak after a day on the mountain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Triple7Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Your 4 STAR REVIEW is greatly appreciated! But so sorry about your steak, that was definitely not up to our high standards. Did you tell your server about it? She should have had the manager take the price of the steak off your check. Please, please, please let us know, it's the only way we can fix a problem. We listen to our guests, it's why we've managed to stay in business for 30 years. Thanks again for taking the time to write, looking forward to your next visit. Cindy A. owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 504 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lots to choose from in the menu and large servings. Good prices on some nice wines. Too bad they don't take reservations, but we had little trouble getting in on a Saturday.

Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

A great BIG THANKS for your 4 STAR "Mammoth Tradition" review!! And, especially thanks for pointing out our "good prices on some nice wines". My husband obsesses on bringing a good selection, mixing it up and still keeping it affordable...his motto is:..."wines priced to drink"!
Love your reviewer "pic", if that's the 5M Ranch, looks like an awesome spot. Thanks again, Cindy A. owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place was pretty good, as all restaurants in Mammoth are, in my opinion, hit and miss. They had a great menu selection and the drinks were good too. My only real complaint was the waitress did not bring out our dinners at the same time. There were 7 in our party and she delivered 5 of the meals, explaining that there had been a mix up in the kitchen and the other orders would be out soon. Well, it took more than a few minutes. Not sure what could have been done, but my husband and one of my daughters sat there for quite some time and watched us all eat!! Not good!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CRiiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you, big time, Cynthia for your 4 STAR "Pretty Good!!" review on Slocums!! Anytime our customers give us 4 Stars it really makes our day. But so sorry about the ticket mix-up, making your husband and daughter wait so long for their meals. Our usual policy is to offer a dessert, drink and/or present you with a complimentary appetizer card for your next visit. If this did not occur, please go to our website and email me your address so I can send something along. Hope we get "everything" right the next time you come to Slocums. Thanks again for your kind words and taking the time to share. Cindy A. owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been going to Slocum's for years and, time after time, we have a great experience. The staff are extremely nice and helpful and we never have had a non-delicious thing. Our last visit about 10 days ago was particularly good: we had no trouble getting a table quickly on a busy Saturday night and we had the prime rib special. Huge and simply so yummy! Beer and wine selection is also excellent and prices are reasonable. I particularly love the decor -- cozy and ski-towny. We've been here for birthdays and both family and romantic dinners. Always have a great meal and a great time...thanks, Slocum's, for being our go-to dinner place in Mammoth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank venusinvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hey Venusinvenice: A GREAT BIG 5 STAR THANK YOU BACK AT YOU!! Your words are so kind and very appreciated by all of us at Slocums and are a welcome reward for always trying to be our best! We just celebrated our 30th year anniversary and we couldn't have done it without great and loyal customers like you and your family. Please say "Hi" the next time you visit. Thanks again, Cindy A. owner since 1983

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came in for happy hour which was also SuperBowl Sunday so the place was a little crazy, but once we got settled in the happy hour menu was great. You will be hard pressed to find a better $4.00 Cheeseburger than Slocums. Slocums should definitely be a stop when visiting Mammoth.

Thank mile262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hey mile 262: Loved your 4 STAR Happy Hour Review!! Hopefully we've helped make lots of people happy the past 30 years, and now you're one of them. Glad we're on your "musts" list for your next trip to Mammoth and thanks for sharing your experience. Cindy A. owner...ps...I used to live in La Jolla million of years ago, played lots of volleyball at Marine St. One of the prettiest places on earth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slocums Grill & Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to Slocums Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing