We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Appetizers!”

Slocums Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Summer: Bar opens at 4, Dining Room at 5. Flame-broiled Steaks & Fresh Fish * Hickory Smoked Ribs * Retro Italian * Ultimate Burgers & Sandwiches * Mammoth's Favorite Happy Hour 4-6 Mon-Fri and 4-5 Sat, with reduced prices on Appetizers/Liquor/Beer/Wine * Full Bar * Craft Beer * Private Parking Lot * Est. 1983
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We sat at a comfortable table in the bar area and ordered a delicious ahi appetizer that was served on crisp wontons with a wasabi sauce. The bar area had a big fireplace and the decor was warm and cozy. Service was good.

Thank MaryLee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear MaryLee 64, We really appreciate your "Yummy Appetizers" 4 Star review! Our ahi won tons are acquiring quite a loyal following, glad that now includes you too! Notice you're from Huntington Beach in So Cal....so we hope Slocums will become one of your "go to" places when you visit Mammoth again next time. Thanks again, Cindy A. owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 503 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an overnight stay here in Mammoth and I researched this area and decided upon this restaurant for dinner. Mammoth is a lovely town our hotel Mammoth Creek Inn was great but thats were it ended. On arriving at Slocums at about 8pm and it was not busy we stood for a considerable time before we were seated. The waitress must have been new as she did not seem to know what she was doing but did try her best.Service wasnt the best. The meal was expensive for what we ordered and was at best average. The main problem we encountered was when at approximately 10 pm we were moved to the bar area. I had a beer and my Fiancee had approx 3/4 of an expensive bottle of wine left. The bar maid for our benefit announced she would be leaving early and would not be about for to much longer. The lady that then served us began to turn lights off around us. We were made as welcome as a bad smell. We walked past several establishnents to be treated like this I wish we had stopped at one of them as they were more lively and I suspect better service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harvnheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

My husband and I just read your review and were horrified at the unprofessional "non" service you received from our staff. It was totally unacceptable and we apologize profusely for your unsatisfactory experience. If you could please tell us the date and day of your visit, we can check our schedules for the names of those staffers you encountered and make certain this never happens to anyone else again. Although tough to read, we appreciate your taking the time to alert us to this problem, it's how we improve. Sincerely, Cindy & Tom Avena, owners since 1983

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Four of us ate here, prime rib and seafood pasta, both plates were absolutely fabulous and prices very reasonable. Service and atmosphere are great !!!!

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hello Michael M of Arizona...Your "absolutely fabulous" 5 STAR Review just made our day!!! Can't tell you how much all of us at Slocums appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other diners. Hope to see you your next visit to Mammoth. Thanks so very much, Cindy A., owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice atmosphere and lay-out. Good food. Very good service. They close normally at 9:00pm but that Friday night they extended their hours for a last seating at 9:30.

Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear SueL of LA, really appreciate your "Enjoyed the dinner" 4 Star review on your recent visit to Slocums. Now in our 30th year (as of this coming January 21st!), we know to never take anything for granted. We're always learning and striving to improve out product and service and atmosphere, and are so pleased you noticed our efforts and took the time to write about it. Lots of thanks from our entire staff & we look forward to your next visit. Cindy A. owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A welcome break from a hard days bear hunting in Yosemite :-) Good beer and food. Good atmosphere and decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slocums, Owner at Slocums Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Loved your "Welcome Break 4 STAR review" after a hard day's hunting. Your ratings of: "good food, good beer, good atmosphere and decor", thrilled everyone here....can't get any better than that! Thank you so much. A happy customer is a Slocums' friend forever. Our son lives in Leiscester and is always saying: "Mom, when are you going to open up a Slocums over here?", and we don't even pay him to say that! Thanks again for taking the time to write down your thoughts. Cindy A. owner since 1983

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slocums Grill & Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to Slocums Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing