We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
Ranked #47 of 91 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Food is very good and fresh but some of the waitress have terrible manner. We got a lovely waitress who served us and when we paid, and left a good tip for her, it was her colleague who took it!!! She just came and asked me in a very rude manner: "Any change??" i just said No, and she just took the money without even cleaning first the plates and No Thank You whatsoever...
I just hope the girl who served us, got the tip because she was nice and polite...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pouty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ESCONDIDO, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Went there for lunch on the recommendation of the front desk clerk at our hotel. The cafe has both inside and outside eating areas. The outside tables are pet friendly and were full of patrons and their companions. The inside is small, but comfortable. We found a good table in the corner where we were able to see everything that was going on in the restaurant. ALL of the customers seemed happy and ALL of the service staff seemed to enjoy their job. Our waitress, Kelli, was very helpful in her recommendations for lunch. We settled on a bowl of Italian Wedding Soup, California Chicken Sandwich and Hot Jalapeno Fries. Everything was freshly prepared and was delicious. The Jalapeno Fries were amazing...they were served piping hot and crispy and were accompanied by ranch dressing for dipping...YUM!!!!! The Italian wedding soup had a delicious broth and very tasty mini meatballs, and the chicken sandwich was excellent as well! With excellent service, great food and good prices, you can't go wrong!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LINDBY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent and full to brim”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had an excellent meal here, all enjoyed free nachos and delicious salsa. None of us managed to finish our meal, the burger was especially good as were the sweet potato fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Good food at a good price. Nothing special but good friendly service and a fair price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmandoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This restaurant is good”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We are up for presidents weekend and looking for place for family to eat. The top rated ones had waits of 1-2 hours but called base camp and they had small wait. Got seated immediately. They have a great kids menu and crayons and the usual menu on the placemat. Kids loved it and kept them occupied. Food was good i had the pasta chili (cininnati style) wife had the fajitas., great she said. Food was outstanding. The kids meals had a real fruit cup with banannas strawberries grapes. Nuggets were real white meat. All was great. Salads came quickly... Refills for drinks quick as well. Great attentive service. Check and bill came quick. The kids said "this is a great place" overall a super place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumpman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing