We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All depends on your point of reference!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Convict Lake

The Restaurant at Convict Lake
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Convict Lake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dine at The Restaurant at Convict LakeJust 10 Minutes from Mammoth Lakes!The Restaurant at Convict Lake is widely recognized as the finest restaurant in the Eastern Sierra and a "locals" choice for special occasions. Dine in a romantic and casually elegant location just 10 minutes from Mammoth Lakes across from the Mammoth/Yosemite Airport.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All depends on your point of reference!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Probably the most tender filet mignon I've ever had, and the rest of the diners in my party enjoyed what they ordered. Some menu choices (such as the roasted garlic appetizer) are a bit pedestrian for the price. That said, as is typical of the Mammoth Lakes area, it's trying to be a very high-end restaurant with bottom-of-the barrel help. Our waiter seems to have been trained at a Denny's and wasn't able to keep pace with the kitchen or the expectations set by the prices. Insult to injury was a mandatory 18% gratuity for parties of 6 or more--which rubbed in the fact our waiter was less than fully competent. Yes, the food may be worth the trip and won't overwhelm a non-foodie; but don't expect it to stand up to similarly priced venues in LA, SF or NYC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LAChuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Owner at The Restaurant at Convict Lake, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear LAChuck7,

Thank you for patronizing our restaurant and taking the time to provide your comments. We have been in business for over 50 years and the present management has been at the restaurant for over 20 years. We want to continue this tradition so It goes without saying we want all of our guests to enjoy a satisfying fine dining experience.

We also appreciate the fining dining experience available in NYC, LA and SF venues. There are some difference in Mammoth and Convict Lake and resort areas in general. The opportunity to get away from major metropolitan areas and enjoy a casual experience in natures best is part of the experience. The resources available to us are not the same as large cities and the expectations of our guests do vary from in city dining. We do however expect our staff to be knowledgeable, helpful, courteous and friendly.

I am not sure if we are training any new staff but that certainly is no excuse. If you can provide us with a little more information about your experience so we can look into this we would appreciate it.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you may give us another chance in the future.


Brian
Brian A. Balarsky
President and Managing Member
Convict Lake Resort, Inc.
Angels Restaurants
2000 Convict Lake Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760.934.3800 ext.29
760.934.7351 fax
brianbalarsky@convictlake.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    35
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“full moon nights dinner at Convict Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

In short I was looking for a nice restaurant to take my 3 sons for a nice dinner after skiing. Checked on tripadvisor and they recommended a mexican restaurant as #1. I chose Convict Lake #5 and am so glad I did. Everything was Excellent! We tried the duck, the steak, the shrimp with pasta, the pork. Everything was just delicious, Not inexpensive, yet not over the top on price. Quality cuisine in an elegant, yet cozy and memorable setting. Definitely worth the 15 minute drive from Mammoth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was great, service not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were told this was an amazing place to eat for special occasions, so we decided to give it a try. It's true - the beef wellington was amazing - probably the best I've ever eaten! The asparagus soup tasted excellent but was not as hot as it should have been. However, the waiter was not at all friendly - at times, he was almost downright condescending. He really detracted from the overall experience. We had to ask for bread, which was never re-filled. Our empty soup bowls sat there for a very long while - our waiter walked by several times, looked at them and kept going. Though we had reservations, the table we were seated at was odd. It was sort of in a hallway and long, with uncomfortable booth seats on one side and chairs on the other. It made conversation difficult for 4 people. It was an expensive meal and I expect far better service for those prices. All in all, a disappointment, as the service did the chef an injustice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at The Restaurant at Convict Lake, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and providing us with your feedback.

We are disappointed that your entire experience was not satisfactory. We pride ourselves on providing a unique dining experience and anything less than exemplary fine food and service on our part is not satisfactory.

We would appreciate it if you could provide us with a little more information about your visit i.e. the date and time of your visit.

Please feel free to contact us at 80.992.2260 ext. 47. We would be pleased to discuss this further with you.

Best regards, Convict Lake Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In a beautiful setting as the evening light dims over Mount Morrison and Laurel Ridge...you have a good selection of wine to choose from and a warm fireplace to sit by (if you wish). Besides the main courses and the attention to service...we came back last week for the Pizza and were not disappointed. One of the best I have had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“--never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

A recent visit was delightful. The waiter kept our large group busy with each new course. And the food was terrific. The ice cream dessert is always special. Even arranged the entertainment! Deer browsing just outside the windows.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Convict Lake also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Convict Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing