We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spot for dinner, drinks or dessert”
Review of Nevados

Nevados
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Super spot for dinner, drinks or dessert”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group headed into this great local watering hole, Nevados, for late night drinks and dessert this week. We'd been for dinner, which is delicious and akin to any big city top notch restaurant. That night we wanted mexican food, but weren't ready to call it a night after dinner, so we stopped in to Nevados. It was a great end to a really fun evening. We were served drinks at the packed bar while we waited for a table. The bartender couldn't have been more eager to please, and went the extra mile checking stock when one person in our group wanted a more exotic brand of alcohol. While he didn't find it, he made an excellent and creative substitute drink, which was much appreciated. Dessert in the dining room was so good. From carmelized banana splits to apple tarts to ice cream sundaes and more, Nevados proved why it's considered the best restaurant in town by the locals. Great for an upscale, special dinner.. great for a celebration.. great for romance.. great for a group. Hit up Nevados when you're next in Mammoth Lakes looking for an excellent meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    41
    10
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant would rate highly in a major metropolitan area even though it is in a fairly remote resort town. I would describe the cuisine as California German, perfect after an exhausting day of skiing. I particularly liked the very generous duck entry and the quail/wild mushroom strudel appetizer. The service was first class.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mealking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“worth a stop”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had dinner here with guests from our B&B. Overall the food, service and atmosphere were very good. The four mains varied in quality. My wife's elk medallions sounded better than it tasted. Had the usual problem with wine by the glass - they arrived filled almost to the brim. Looks good if you are only interested in quantity. Wish more restaurants would bring the wine in a small carafe so you can pour less in the glass to swirl.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creative and beautifully presented”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The "starters" on the menu are unique, creative, delicious and beautifully presented. I ordered two rather than a main course and enjoyed them both. I look forward to my next visit so that I may try others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great service - Disappointing food in Mammoth CA”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I assured my friends that Navados was highly rated on TA :(

We were greeted by a smiling very friendly host, Curtis. He promptly seated us and immediately brought us water and fresh bread. (so far great) Our server, Carrie, was bubbly, attentive and joined into our frivolity. Thanks to these two we enjoyed the evening.

Drinks were served and Janet, the bartender makes a good Cosmo.

But then came the food: the pea & bacon soup sounded good, but had a weird chemical taste and was runny. The tuna/hamachi tower tasted okay, but the presentation was just a huge blob of ingredients. The duck confit was over sauced so that the plate swam in gravy.
The Kung pao chicken lettuce cups were a little over salted.

Desert saved the evening and an otherwise lackluster dinner. Navados has potential, but not there yet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellauno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevados also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Nevados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing