We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must do place for dinner in a Mammoth Lakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mogul Restaurant

Mogul Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must do place for dinner in a Mammoth Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The Mogul is always a place we go to when we come to Mammoth Lakes, which is 5 - 6 times a year. The staff are friendly, courteous and knowledgable. The menu is varied and there always specials that aren't in the menu. A very nice salad bar and a great wine list, too. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    95
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 2 times during our recent visit to mammoth. The first night I got the pasta and the boyfriend got the pasta with chicken. Both were delicious. The pasta came to the table steaming hot which was great! Portions were very ample. The bread they serve is amazingly delicious. The second night we came I got the salmon which was incredible. The boyfriend got the prime rib, which they only serve on Friday and Saturday. He said it was incredible. Our waiter actually cooked the food himself, which I thought was kinda odd but turned out to be delicious so I'm over the odd factor completely. Dessert was also delicious. Definitely will eat here again next time we are in town. Definitely worth the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daintygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best meal in Mammoth Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We ate here our last nite in Mammoth after a long day of hiking. Man it was good. One of my sons got the king crab legs and said it was good and the other, the ribs.....he did say they are not as good as mine though! had a coupon from our hotel for a free dessert and three of us shared the Sunday, youngest son was full. interesting thing here is the waiters and waitresses are the ones that actually cook the meal, and our table was beside the grill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bills83au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was fantastic and the owner and staff were more than accommodating. We were directed to this restaurant by the innkeepers at the Cinnamon Bear Inn. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can probably do better, you can definitely do worse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife's steamed artichoke was a little underdone, causing it to be unnecessarily tough; sending it back got us an artichoke that was a little more done, though probably could have spent another few minutes in the steamer. Oh well.

We shared an order of the prime rib, which was delicious. The spagetti squash that came with it was a little aldente for my tastes, but ... they differ. I wish they had done a better job refilling my iced tea.

The bread was warm, the butter soft. They're really dangerous -- It's easy to fill up on them.

We took a slice of blueberry pie home, together with a scoop of ice cream. It was delicious the day after. BE WARNED: When Mogul says "scoop of ice cream," what they mean is "scoop of ice cream the size of a large child's head." It was the biggest "some ice cream to put on your pie" I've ever seen.

One thing we really didn't like: We came in without reservations, and more than half the restaurant was totally empty. The host made a big show of looking to see if he could accommodate us. Oh, come on, give us a break -- we can see how empty you are right now :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mogul Restaurant also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Mogul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing