We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big let-down”
Review of Campo

Campo
Reserve with OpenTable
Campo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big let-down”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had visited Campo the year before and had a really nice lunch, so came back for dinner this year expecting good things.
I ordered duck confit which sounded delicious. As I understand it, a confit is marinated and cooked slowly for several hours until it is meltingly tender. What I got were 2 tough, fried duck legs that were raw in the middle. Not a confit.
My partner ordered one of their speciality pizzas. The wrong pizza arrived. They did immediately take it away and within 10 minutes the right pizza arrived. However this one had not been cooked properly and the dough was almost raw.
The restaurant was very busy & our waiter pretty surly.
Not a good experience and will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank S1den1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    114
    56
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had an $8 salad, that was all of 7 bites big, very, very, very small BUT, I wasn't that hungry so it was delish and perfect, I just thought $8 was a bit much for what it was.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Wanted a quick meal & we all like pasta so thought we'd give it a try.

Big mistake staff were friendly enough but the food was very poor pasta was stodgy & sticky with a tasteless sauce, pizza was ok but I've had a lot better.

Helpful?
3 Thank Burtonvapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food good, but service a little lacking”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food was excellent. i had tacos and a salad. You can catch Happy Hour and get Bar food items under $10. But the service is slow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariachurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fail”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our 3rd attempt to get a table there, the place seems to run on 'do you have a reservation'. That leads one to believe that it's amazing when it really isn't anything above AVERAGE.
The attitude starts at the front when you walk in to ask if there is availability and we got it when we walked in with a reservation. We arrived on time and was seated right away at a tall table right up front. Everytime someone walks in you get a blast of cool/cold air. The little kid sitting next to us didn't take off his coat. I got up and asked to be moved away from the door as I didn't want to sit there at dinner with a ski jacket on. They looked at me like I had taken all their crayons. 2 other hosts were now at the desk and basically told me I was complaining, "We seat people there during the winter and they don't say anything." Yeah, that's good customer service at the front door.

We eventually were taken to a booth in the back of the restaurant that was set up for 5 people who canceled. When the waitress came up the look and her slow shuffle gave the impression that she wasn't too happy to now see only 2 people. Guess her tip just shrank?

The wild boar pasta noodles were too aldente and the gnochi was a bit bland. The best part of the meal was the $12 glass of super tuscan.

Eventually the waitress warmed up to us, she did ask if we wanted 2nds on the bread.

There are so many great places to eat in Mammoth. This place could spend some time working on just basic customer service. I don't care where the wood burning oven comes from, it's not going to make a better meal with the way you're treated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campo also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing